Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Nice hotel next to the UC Berkeley campus.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
We stay here every year at Thanksgiving. Many great memories .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Older hotel next to universitu

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Clean - rooms way to small for adults bathrooms from 1960's- needs total remodeling all venues of hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great old place

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I had a conference near the UC campus and this was so convenient and close to everything that it was fantastic.
Cons: I realize that there are many water issues in California, but I would have liked about 5 more degrees of hot in the shower.
Location: Other than the hotel, you will need to go to the downtown Berkeley area to find really good dining. So expect to do some walking.
Great character with nice updating. Great web access. The renovated/restored bar/restaurant was fun and the food was good. The staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

古い感じが居心地の良さを強めてくれます

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: 全体的に古い雰囲気で時代を感じさせるホテル。設備自身が古い訳ではないので居心地はとても良い。 スタッフの方の対応も迅速、丁寧で交感がもてます。
Cons: 階上を歩く音がかなり響く。床の防音がそれほどない、と思います。 誤解から一日短い予約をしていて、チェックアウトが遅れてしまった結果、レイトチェックアウトで宿泊料金とほぼ同じ額が請求された。こちらのミスだから仕方がないのかもしれないが、宿泊料金並のレイトチェックアウト料金にはちょっと閉口してしまった。
Location: UCBerkeleyにほど近いロケーション。学生街であり、また街並みを楽しむのにも最適で静かな場所
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, clean, yet a bit Bohemian

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Close to the Berkeley campus. Lots of restaurants.
Hotel near UC Berkeley has the theme of the dorm from the sixties. Even the lamp was in the shape of a bong. However, despite the building being older and obviously a converted apartment building, it had charm and was clean. The staff was accommodating and even gave me extra ice when I brought frozen fish from Alaska prior to me giving to my daughter whom I was visiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Very close to Berkeley campus, which was a big plus for my graduate son's elderly grandparents.
Cons: Hotel is very old. Restaurant service was abysmally slow - we ate in Henry's for 3 meals, almost all of which we were the only filled table but it took forever for our server to come by to check on us and bring our food at all 3 meals. Carpet in our room was pulling up in the middle causing us to trip each time we walked across the room. My parents' room was very small and the bed was very low to the ground. Bathrooms are super tiny. Do not like the photos of naked streakers in the bathrooms in every room.
Location: Excellent walking location -- 1 block from Berkeley campus. In center of shopping and sights!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to UC Berkeley

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Less than 5' from UC Berkeley
Rooms are small and the decor is old, hotel needs some remodeling. Rooms and bathrooms were neat and clean but not modern.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, United States of America

Comfortable but a little outdated.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Convenience was great, right in middle of south campus. Room was comfortable and clean. Price was decent.
Cons: The college theme--from the tanker desk to the composition style guest guide--was a bit gimmicky. Furnishings were and modeling were a little outdated.
Location: Plenty of eateries/nightlife.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
hotel com localizacao proxima a universidade. quartos pequenos e staff bom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Was in Berkeley for a football game. The hotel provided a close and extremely fun environment on gameday.