Ratings based on 1,261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel signature de Berkley. A maintenant besoin d'une bonne rénovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so much

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness could be improved payment policy
Location: I was there for a conference.
Carpet dirty; cab service slow and driver tried to put me off at wrong address; cockroach crawled across my table at breakfast! I was charged full stay, non-refundable charge in advance! Hotel reception clerks very courteous and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy but quaint

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Rooms small and quaint- designed like a scene out of the Big Bang theory. Lobby staff great and bar in hotel nice (but closed too early). Walls in the hotel are incredibly thin. I could hear everything in the rooms next door and above. Also lots of construction outside my room that started at 7am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

College hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Not what I expected. More like a college dorm room than a hotel. That was intentional but I found it less cute and more off-putting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Location, But Overpriced

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Location: The hotel is two short blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and is therefore convenient for those who have reason to be on campus.
For a 4 star hotel, the room was very small and the bathroom was so small that the toilet was in front of the sink! The bed, for two people, was smaller than a Queen size bed. The water pressure in the shower made it unusable. There were only 2 tiny "bath" towels in the bathroom for the two guests. When we arrived we saw two bottles of water that appeared to be left on the table as a curtesy for our use. There was no sign regarding its use. Upon checking out, we were charged six dollars per bottle to our surprise! When I phoned room service to get some extra pillows, we were told they would be delivered immediately. The weren't delivered until three more phone calls were made and more than an hour passed. The so called "business" room was a table in the lobby. This is simply NOT a 4-star hotel. It is clear that the high room rate is entirely attributable to the location near campus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock

2016 Summer Vacation

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel was wonderful. Stayed twice during our stay in Cali. Only problem was on second stay Sun &Mon, price almost double on Monday. Quite a surprise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albany, ny

Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Comfortable rooms, very clean. Decor was vintage Berkeley. It had a historic yet hip vibe. Nice bar and decent restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Berkeley hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Was a great area but very old and was awoken by squeaky floors above us, screaming college kids, and construction throughout the night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Poor value for the price

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We were in town for a conference. Room 1heard so much noise it was impossible to sleep. (Installing a headboard at 8:30 pm; a loud party at 3:00 am). Room 2 had not been vacuumed or trash taken out. After returning in evening, room 2 had never been serviced. Spoke with desk attendant; they said "you had the do not disturb sign out." Told them, no I did not. All that was said by staff was "what do you want me to do about it?"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aptos, California

Great location, but needs some improvements

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: The parking situation!!
Location: The Greek Theater is close.
My overall experience was good, but the parking policy is horrible. I arrived around 5:30 pm on a week night and was told upon check in, there were no more parking spaces available on the premises. I was given a map and shown off site places to park or I could wait until 6pm and park free at a meter for the evening. After driving around for 20 minutes and not able to find a meter, I went to one of the suggested parking garages. It cost me a lot dollars to overnight park my car in the garage. Also, while sitting at the bar around 10pm, a sewage pipe broke in the kitchen. We had to evacuate quickly. They could have given us our drink for free for the inconvenience.