Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Berkeley hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Was a great area but very old and was awoken by squeaky floors above us, screaming college kids, and construction throughout the night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Poor value for the price

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We were in town for a conference. Room 1heard so much noise it was impossible to sleep. (Installing a headboard at 8:30 pm; a loud party at 3:00 am). Room 2 had not been vacuumed or trash taken out. After returning in evening, room 2 had never been serviced. Spoke with desk attendant; they said "you had the do not disturb sign out." Told them, no I did not. All that was said by staff was "what do you want me to do about it?"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aptos, California

Great location, but needs some improvements

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: The parking situation!!
Location: The Greek Theater is close.
My overall experience was good, but the parking policy is horrible. I arrived around 5:30 pm on a week night and was told upon check in, there were no more parking spaces available on the premises. I was given a map and shown off site places to park or I could wait until 6pm and park free at a meter for the evening. After driving around for 20 minutes and not able to find a meter, I went to one of the suggested parking garages. It cost me a lot dollars to overnight park my car in the garage. Also, while sitting at the bar around 10pm, a sewage pipe broke in the kitchen. We had to evacuate quickly. They could have given us our drink for free for the inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Nice stay! Wish it didn't cost so much for how it looked and the area it was in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Clean and decent-sized room. Lots of pillows on a good, comfortable bed.
Cons: Stronger coffee in the coffee maker ! (I think it was a Krueg machine...)
Location: Very close to UCB, which is all that mattered to us.
Only stayed two nights. Did not eat in the restaurant (though I never do in hotels, so it's not a reflection on this place!). Not much to experience in two nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

Quaint hotel by UC Berkeley

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The parking space here is terribly small. When my family arrived at the parking space, we had some trouble finding a space to park overnight. Good thing the hotel staff were quick to check us in. We smelled strange odors when we entered the hotel room. There are no other complaints besides that, really. The room is Berkeley-themed, and is pretty cute if you are visiting the school.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016
great location for UC Berkeley and nice staff. I'd like to recommend the artichoke pizza right behind hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Berkeley

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Will definitely stay here again. Close to campus, close to shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reno nevada

Comfortable next to UC campus

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Busy area off campus
Cons: Took Uber to Bart
Location: Lots of restaurants and Berkeley campus
Was looking for better pricing for visit to SF so decided to stay in Berkeley and take Bart in to SF
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to music venue

Posted May 2, 2016
Very satisfied, great service and facilities. Free parking would have made it even better, maybe perfect.