Ratings based on 1,209 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location, excellent VIP+ benefit

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, restaurant. It's quiet and the beds are comfortable.
Location: UC Berkeley, BART, restaurants, shops, Target.
I've stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza several times now, and it's my favorite hotel near UC Berkeley. The location is ideal for getting to/from the airports via BART (within a block from the station), and it's within easy walking distance to campus and to nearby restaurants and coffee shops, a city Target store, etc. On my latest stay, they upgraded me (as an Expedia rewards member) to an amazing suite for free, which of course was excellent. I've always found their staff to be very helpful and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Very comfortable stay in the center of Berkeley. Nothing bad to say about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach

Nice cheap hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Had to find a place to stay as the city was too expensive. Didn't know what to expect but the hotel was nice and comfortable and was what you expected from a luxury hotel in SF. Only problem was no water bottles or fridge in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles area

Great Place to Stay

Posted Mar 2, 2017
The location is great, convenient to BART and many restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel maintains a good balance between classic old work]ld charm and modern conveniences. Parking is available in a public lot across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No place to park

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Nice room
Cons: Larger exercise facilities
Was told by hotel that parking garage across the street was $15 for overnight and it was $42. Street parking is very tight and does not seem safe for a nice car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very good for a business trip. One shortcoming was the showers are just too small. Staff was very professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

They make sure you're happy.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great-spirited staff at the front desk and in the restaurant. Our room was smaller than we expected after being told we were being upgraded, because they don't have large rooms with two beds - only king, but they made sure we were happy. There is no concierge, and some staff at front desk know local restaurants while others do not, so hit or miss on recommendations. Always some people hanging out on Shattuck Ave being noisy, but that's downtown Berkeley. Very convenient to the university as well as downtown restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel in downtown berkeley

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very noisy rooms - not value for money. Staff very friendly and restaurant downstairs was decent..........................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent hotel in downtown Berkeley near campus.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Spent two nights in this very comfortable and convenient hotel. Was especially impressed by the quality of our supper in the Five Restaurant in the hotel. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukiah, CA

Great Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Good location
Location: Right downtown, food, movies, university, and art shows nearby
Styling lobby, jazzy carpets and wallpaper in hallway, clean room, Keurig coffee maker!, extra blankets and close to great food!