Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Duego, CA

Weekend get away

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel . Close to convenience stores and fun food spots as well as the Bart. Only Thing is parking is expensive during the week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best at Berkeley

Posted May 13, 2017
This is probably the best hotel I have seen around UC Berkeley campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Air conditioning lowest setting was 67 degrees. A tiny too warm for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

It was ok but not what we'd expect

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedding could be higher quality, get mattress toppers and new pillows.
Location: It's in the heart of downtown. Everything is right out the door.
Everything about the hotel online looked perfect and even when you walk in, the place looks good. But overall there were a lot of small things that added up to a less than perfect stay. There was no warning on the reservation that there is not parking (or even valet parking). I'm used to paying extra for parking in urban locations, so that's not a problem. But I had to call and ask because the "no parking, load only" zone immediately in front of the hotel had 4 cars PARKED with no drivers for over ten minutes. We opted for the less expensive parking two blocks away and walked in. Front desk staff was pleasant. Got to our room (#200) only to discover it is right next to elevator. I mean step off the elevator and look right. OK, we travel with ear plugs, no big deal. The room was dusty and I don't think it had been vacuumed in a while...again, we could overlook it. One towel in the bathroom, called housekeeping and waited nearly an hour for them to arrive. The location is GREAT...right in the middle of downtown. We walked around, got dinner and gelato. Returned to our room ready to retire and were greeted by scratching linens, a very hard mattress and pillows with almost no fluff. Room service in the morning was right on time and well, it's room service. You pay for the convenience of not leaving your room, not great food. I'd stay here again if I needed to be in downtown Berkeley but just because of location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 1, 2017
Easy check-in. Room was blazing hot and AC didn't work. Asked to change rooms and was told no. Audio was out of date.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with no parking

Posted May 1, 2017
Two double beds in a generous size room but everything else in the room is miniature sized furnishings. Tiny desk, tiny lamp stand, tiny shower, tiny coffee table and a tiny TV. Just over all, a cheap choice of interior decoration.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

short stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
very small rooms, no parking available besides the street parking. Bed is not very comfirtable. But located centrally in Berkeley, nice helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We stayed one night to visit Berkeley University for student orientation tour, and the hotel was perfectly located within walking distance to the campus. The hotel was very clean, updated, and overall very stylish décor. It was surprisingly affordable for the service and location. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South San Francisco

Great central location in downtown Berkeley

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location and hotel staff
Cons: Oh, the carpeting and wall paper in the hallway is a bit too colorful?
Location: Fine restaurants, shops, gelato, coffee, live music, and live theater.
Loved this renovated historic hotel, built in 1910 it has been a Berkeley landmark since 1987. Rooms are on the small side, but well appointed, updated, and comfortable. Simply loved the shiny white marble bath, and big screen HD TV!!! Location is key for this hotel. Right in the middle of downtown, close to the BART station and Shattuck bus lines. Within walking distance of numerous fine restaurants, shops, and avenues for live theater or music. Great place to stay if you're visiting UC Berkeley. The entire hotel staff is so friendly and courteous, it's amazing! They really make you feel at home, and look out for your every need! Would love to come back, just to explore more of Berkeley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Excellent find

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, accessible to everywhere I needed to go.
Cons: Add a few more menu items in the restaurant. The food was excellent, just not a lot of selection.
Location: Plenty of restaurants within a block or two. Starbucks around the corner. A movie theater one block away. The university campus within easy walking
This hotel is more of an old-school hotel, not a chain, and not a motel. It is quite a find right on the outskirts of the university. It is also quite easy to get to anyplace in the city from there. The local environments have restaurants etc, but the hotel restaurant and bar are also excellent. Parking is not available with the hotel, but there are two very easily accessed public parking lots. All in all, this was a great experience.