Ratings based on 1,017 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The usual good ole Shattuck

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The location, the decor, the rooms (they are excellent), the bathroom.
Cons: Staff were variable. When a package arrives for a guest, the guest should be notified immediately.
Location: Great Berkeley location.
I've stayed at the Shattuck many times before, and this last time was the usual good experience. Some staff were exceptionally helpful and competent, and others were not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect solution to expensive San Francisco hotels

Posted Jan 19, 2016
This is a lovey European style hotel in downtown Berkeley. One block to BART. Saved hundreds of dollars per day over SF hotels. $7 BART and cable car ride and you are at Fisherman's Wharf and Embarcadero. Friendly staff, comfy lobby lounge and restaurant. Rooms small but totally modern and spotless. University a block away. Steps from cafés, great ethnic food, and colorful Berkeley culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location if you want downtown berkeley

Posted Jan 13, 2016
It is all about location. 50 ft from bart station. Theater around the corner. Very close to downtown stores and restaurants Nice decor with updated amenities. Fast check in/out Definitely a four star out of five
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Jan 4, 2016
My husband and I stayed one night (Jan 2nd/3rd) for a wedding we were attending down the street, we were able to walk to the venue from our hotel. The biggest downside was that the hotel didn't have its own parking, although there is a parking garage just across the street with a 6'3" clearance. If you are traveling in a larger vehicle like we were, I would recommend parking around the corner in the Kittredge garage which had an 8'2" clearance. We were unable to park in the garage across from the hotel overnight because we simply couldn't fit our truck. The room was nicely decorated, although it was cold. Our heater seemed to be only blowing cold air. Bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet, no disturbances from other guests. I, personally, feel that it was overpriced, but not being from the Bay Area, I could be wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

small boutique hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Location: It's in the vicinity of "gourmet gulch" with plenty of great restaurants, Chez Panisse is nearby.
Though the rooms are small, they are imaginatively put together, clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and willing to comply with your wishes and the food is pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Excellent location in downtown Berkeley, near BART

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Excellent and friendly check-in experience. Tasty breakfast and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and comfortable.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pleasant stay. Nicely decorated. Comfortable. Wish there was a mini fridge and microwave but room size didn't allow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Character and close to Cal/Downtown Berkeley

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Great location and ambience. Friendly and gracious staff. No closet in room or place to unpack. Inadequate light for reading. Great walkable location for Cal and downtown Berkeley. Seems a bit spendy for what was actually received.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amanda from Santa Barbara, CA

Small, but nice

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
The small room was fine as I knew it was an old hotel. They did it up as best as they could, with very nice fixtures, etc. But I would have liked a refrigerator, and there was no place to pull up to unload the car or to ask for directions to good parking. Be careful stepping out of the tub as the bathroom floor is several inches lower than you might expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Annette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels