Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel in the center of Berkeley.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Parking, restaurant should be available to guests first.
Location: Very convenient to UC Berkeley and restaurants and shops on Shattuck and Telegraph.
The hotel is older but updated and well maintained with character. Because it is in the center of town and is very convenient, parking is difficult and it is very busy. We couldn't get in to the restaurant for breakfast one morning without a reservation! The staff are pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
It was a pleasant experience to stay at the hotel. Comfortable, clean and accessible to every place in Berkeley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Piedmont,CA

Very helpful, courteous staff

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Great area on Shattuck, restaurants, shops theater, bus line, yoga Bart , no parking, fun hotel, needed more bedding & fridge, No phone p/u after 3 tries after booking. Guess they were busy! Glad we went! Try it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel. Iffy neighborhood. No parking.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Hotel staff very nice. Old updated hotel. No amenities. No parking. Iffy neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Berkley Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Beds too hard, feel cheap
Location: Near college campus.
Artfully decorated but only moderate quality. Small room and bath. Bed hard as a rock. Wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bologna Italy

Great hotel downtown Berkeley, steps to BART.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: No downsides at all but the light smell of food coming from the restaurant at dinner time, upon entering the hall.
Cons: Needs a private parking lot or at least some kind of agreement with the public parking lots that are all around its premises.
Location: Very close to anything a person might need to do in Berkeley, CAL included.
It is an excellent hotel very close to everything you may need to do in Berkeley: CAL, shops, restaurants, stores and drugstores, movies and theatres. If you arrive by BART it is steps from Downtown Berkeley Station and if you arrive by car it is steps to many public parking facilities. The staff is excellent: they could memorize us and greet us by our last name and even the young gentleman who helps you with the baggage upon arrival is a treasure of informations. The hotel offers breakfast and it has a restaurant on site but we did not have the chance to test them. It honors with eagerness the VIP + members: our room upgrade was granted without asking even before our arrival. We'll come back for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Early check in, friendly staff, comfortable room......love staying here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Smell

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Nice place however there is a bad oder that comes from the main restraunt and bar area. Also the main streets are dirty to the point you shoes stick to the streets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good location to UC campus and good parking

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The heat didn't work in room 548. I complained but it wasn't fixed. Room wasn't warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great little hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly, environmentally friendly, great food, wonderful convenient Berkley location.
Cons: Smaller rooms, but this is to be expected in the city. No hotel parking. Public parking was $38 overnight; free on the street.