Ratings based on 1,202 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No place to park

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Nice room
Cons: Larger exercise facilities
Was told by hotel that parking garage across the street was $15 for overnight and it was $42. Street parking is very tight and does not seem safe for a nice car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very good for a business trip. One shortcoming was the showers are just too small. Staff was very professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

They make sure you're happy.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great-spirited staff at the front desk and in the restaurant. Our room was smaller than we expected after being told we were being upgraded, because they don't have large rooms with two beds - only king, but they made sure we were happy. There is no concierge, and some staff at front desk know local restaurants while others do not, so hit or miss on recommendations. Always some people hanging out on Shattuck Ave being noisy, but that's downtown Berkeley. Very convenient to the university as well as downtown restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel in downtown berkeley

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very noisy rooms - not value for money. Staff very friendly and restaurant downstairs was decent..........................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent hotel in downtown Berkeley near campus.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Spent two nights in this very comfortable and convenient hotel. Was especially impressed by the quality of our supper in the Five Restaurant in the hotel. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukiah, CA

Great Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Good location
Location: Right downtown, food, movies, university, and art shows nearby
Styling lobby, jazzy carpets and wallpaper in hallway, clean room, Keurig coffee maker!, extra blankets and close to great food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shattuck is great.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Cal. I like the urban environment. The hotel is comfortable. The restaurant/bar is great.
Cons: Nothing needs to be improved. Its a Berkeley landmark
Location: Visit Cal, the top public university in the country. Bart is around the corner so you can go all over. Everything is easy to get to.
I travel for business and pleasure to Berkeley and the Shattuck is my first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Welcoming hotel.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfort and room amenities. Excellent, professional staff.
Cons: Don't seat a single woman at the worst table in the restaurant.
Location: Close to multiple restaurants, shops and Berkeley campus.
Lovely hotel close to Berkeley campus and other attractions. Excellent restaurant, clean and comfortable room. Helpful front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Conveniently licated

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I liked the hotel but it was beyond noisy all night - cars, people and emergency vehicles. Wish they would dim the hallway lights - very bright under the door. The inner hallways were very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel in the center of Berkeley.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Parking, restaurant should be available to guests first.
Location: Very convenient to UC Berkeley and restaurants and shops on Shattuck and Telegraph.
The hotel is older but updated and well maintained with character. Because it is in the center of town and is very convenient, parking is difficult and it is very busy. We couldn't get in to the restaurant for breakfast one morning without a reservation! The staff are pleasant.