Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Excellent Hotel close to the Train Station (BART)

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Great location close to the BART station
Very pleasant experience, the hotel was clean and is ver close to the train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It was close to our appointment for the following morning
Cons: See review above
Location: Only fast food within walking distance. I have no idea what anyone would do nearby except perhaps go to the hospital further down the road.
The hotel is about what you would expect for the money in Oakland BUT, we needed to be up early the following morning and the alarm clock in our room didn't work. After fiddling with it for 20 mins or so we took it to the front desk who fiddled with it and said, "It doesn't work" We asked for a replacement and they said they'd see if they could find one and bring it to our room. Two hours later having searched unsuccessfully for a guest book that might have given us a hint as to where we might eat, or even a phone book, we returned to the front desk to ask again about our clock. No they hadn't got one said the two teenagers looking after the place. Could they then arrange for a wake up call for us? Sure they could they said. Needless to say I'm still waiting for that wake up call. Verdict facilities -just ok, Service TERRIBLE I wouldn't go back, it was only good luck that we didn't miss an important appointment. PS the hair dryer didn't work either and no one at the desk in the am to complain to!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Decent hotel close to U C Berkeley

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Decent price for the area.
Cons: front desk could be more attentive.
Location: Telegraph is the major street with many attractions. A few miles away from UC Berkeley campus.
Good location. Good size room and comfort bed. Have all basic needs. Parking lot very bright at night for good security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

The place I stay when in the bay area

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Room rates, convenience, cleanliness, quiet and the fountain and flowers in the courtyard always look nice.
Cons: The rooms could use a refreshing soon.
Location: 2 blocks to the BART station to go almost anywhere you would want to go. And free parking if your driving a vehicle.
My wife and I have been traveling to the bay area a couple times a year for the last 4 years. We make it a point to stay here each time. We stayed at another budget type hotel near Lake Merritt once and regretted it. So we came back to staying at this place. It is convenient to the Oakland, Berkley and Emeryville areas and is a couple of blocks from the BART station that takes you to San Francisco. It is clean, quiet and in a relatively safe location for Oakland (you need to be aware of your surroundings anywhere in Oakland, Emeryville and San Francisco). It was a nice surprise on our last stay in early June 2017, to discover the bathroom area in our room had been remodeled. Oh and I forgot to mention the rates are very reasonable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff is not friendly.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
staff is not friendly. staff is not friendly staff is not friendly.
4 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by marja

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
I ask for a NON SOMKING ROOM. It was bad oddors
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jean

No Free Dish TV Channels Like Mentioned

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean. I came from MA to visit my son, his wife and my granddaughter . I booked my reservation by the reviews and price. The listing said it came with daily house cleaning , free wifi and dish for the tv. I stayed 5 nights. I put a do not disturb sign on my door. The 1st day no problem. Second day the house cleaning came in took my towels, my face clothes, hand towels and the bathroom towel mat and did not replace them. I had free dish cable tv channels for two nights then it was turned off. Not sure why. The tv had to be set manually to input every time I turned it on. Thank goodness I was not in my room most of the day. I would have liked it at night time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels