Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Set your expectations low

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Bed was ok. Close to BART.
Cons: Lots
Location: Close to a Bart stop.
On the day we arrived we requested a late checkout for the day we were leaving. On that day, there were constant interruptions inquiring if we were leaving yet. When we talked with the office, the manager said that he told us that we needed to request the late checkout the day of, because there was no way for him to make a note of it. This was a lie, he told us no such thing, and making a note on something to common in the hotel industry is just lazy. The first night, there was a fire alarm chirping in the room by ours. Told the manager, and he said there was nothing he could do to fix it until the next day....so we had a fire alarm chirping every minute the entire night. Also, in the morning the rooms are not very quite. The remote control promptly died when turning on the TV. I took it to the office where they tried to get it to work by replacing only half the batteries, which didn't work, so they replaced all of them. That right there gives you a good sense of how off this place is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceeded expectations

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Great value and comfort
Location: fun restaurants a mile up Telegraph Avenue away from the center of town.
The room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the location very convenient. I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. I was delighted to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and you were satisfied with the services provided. We are already looking forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Imperial Inn, Customer Care Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Pretty run down

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We got a room in the 3rd floor, but there's no elevator. If you're afraid of heights don't try this. The railings are very open and the walkway is on a slant. The first room smelled like cigarette smoke and there was mold on the ceiling. The second room 2 doors down was better, but everything looks like it hasn't been very well cared for. The sheets and pillows seemed nice and clean, though. And it was pretty quiet. I might recommend this motel to someone who needs a cheap place to stay and doesn't mind the condition of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that the location of your room may not have been best suited to you, but if you are staying with us again, we would be happy to place you in a lower room. We are sorry to hear that your stay was somewhat marred by an unpleasant smell, and we will ask our housekeeping manager to ensure that all of our rooms are aired better after every guest checks out. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Best Regards, Imperial Inn, Customer Care Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Facilities lacking

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Location: unsafe neighborhood, especially if you do not have a car
No laundry. No breakfast. No phone (BROKEN). no shopping nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It does not sound as if our hotel was ideal for your needs, and we are sorry that we didn't have all of the facilities that you required. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel if you have future accommodation needs in this area. Best Regards, Imperial Inn, Customer Care Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Better than expected

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We just wanted a place to sleep. It was much nicer than some of the pricier hotels. Very clean and spacious room. The bathroom was tiny though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean room, and that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Regards, Imperial Inn, Customer Care Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Excellent Hotel close to the Train Station (BART)

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Great location close to the BART station
Very pleasant experience, the hotel was clean and is ver close to the train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It was close to our appointment for the following morning
Cons: See review above
Location: Only fast food within walking distance. I have no idea what anyone would do nearby except perhaps go to the hospital further down the road.
The hotel is about what you would expect for the money in Oakland BUT, we needed to be up early the following morning and the alarm clock in our room didn't work. After fiddling with it for 20 mins or so we took it to the front desk who fiddled with it and said, "It doesn't work" We asked for a replacement and they said they'd see if they could find one and bring it to our room. Two hours later having searched unsuccessfully for a guest book that might have given us a hint as to where we might eat, or even a phone book, we returned to the front desk to ask again about our clock. No they hadn't got one said the two teenagers looking after the place. Could they then arrange for a wake up call for us? Sure they could they said. Needless to say I'm still waiting for that wake up call. Verdict facilities -just ok, Service TERRIBLE I wouldn't go back, it was only good luck that we didn't miss an important appointment. PS the hair dryer didn't work either and no one at the desk in the am to complain to!!
4 out of 5
by Jose

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
location not that good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The motel was reasonably priced, which was important for us. The location was great, near many good restaurants, bakeries, etc, but transitional, perhaps not safe for walking at night. The bed was good. The number of towels good. Wifi that is free was unrestricted, so we did not use it. Decor needs updating. Bathroom was OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Decent hotel close to U C Berkeley

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Decent price for the area.
Cons: front desk could be more attentive.
Location: Telegraph is the major street with many attractions. A few miles away from UC Berkeley campus.
Good location. Good size room and comfort bed. Have all basic needs. Parking lot very bright at night for good security.