Ratings based on 846 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Dirty. Elevator does not work. Air Condition does not work. Dirty Carpets. 90's TV. Room Phone does not work ..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Stay away

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Close to jack London square
Cons: Fix everything that was broken. Just make them work.
Everything broken.....aircon, lift , shower, parking (blocked in), lights. Staff can't fix anything. Big loud trains wake you up every night and early mornings
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was nothing positive about this hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Even for the price it should have been cheaper. No elevator no Air Conditioning. 140db Train that goes by every 20 minutes. Dirty carpet old TV's soft mushy beds. just an all around negative experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Was noisy and smelly a bit but good value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Close to the Ferry Station

Posted Sep 20, 2016
It was the best economically! A short walk to Jack London Square ferry state station. Went for a Padres vs Giants series and was way cheaper than driving to San Francisco and paying for parking and putting up with traffic. The Ferry only takes 10-15 minutes. The only bad part about this hotel was that their elevator wasn't working and their staircase looked sketchy. Also, the parking is limited and not guaranteed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice. There are great restaraunts near by. Convenient location.
I enjoyed the location & the staff was nice. The room was simple yet I had a comfortable bed. The gym was not available and the elevators were out of service but despite a few little discrepancies with some things,I actually think it's a nice hotel if you aren't to picky,like myself. The price rate was great and there are great restaraunt's right next door or around the corner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sm , ca

Run away fast

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Extremely noisy, trains go by all times of day blowing horn, our room had no hot water, bathroom was dirty with mold smelled odd. Bed sacked, had a coffee pot yet no place to plug in, people yelling running up down hallway, elevator did not work, no parking. This place should be closed.... DO NOT STAY HERE.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Park, CA

Decent hotel with some exceptions....

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Next to an awesome Chicken and Waffle restaurant opened late nights so you won't have to worry going to bed hungry.
Cons: AC would be on the top of the list as well as having a functioning Television. The Train... well that would be a huge issue if you can't deal with it.
Location: Jack London Square, beautiful site and boat docks just to stare into the ocean so relaxing. ChinaTown is only a few blocks away for great Chinese food
Actually the Jack London Inn wasn't that bad however.... If you don't mind Amtrak blaring horns, non-existent AC, and a TV that doesn't have cable/dish or even a decent local reception then this hotel is right for you. Honestly though, for the price, it really wasn't that bad. I mean, you are in a great location smack middle of Jack London Square and an awesome Chicken and Waffle restaurant right next door. Luckily I was sick as hell so I just let the Nyquil do the work to knock me out so that the Train horn wouldn't bother me much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kennebunk, Maine

Good hotel close to train station

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I needed a hotel that was close to the train station. This hotel was a two minute walk. Check-in was easy, with free parking for the friend who dropped me off. My room was clean, the lights, TV and remote, and A/C worked. The vending machines and ice machines were all in working order. Breakfast was much better than I had expected: buffet of cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads/muffins, and cheese omelettes. The only downside was the proximity of the trains. They pass frequently and are loud. I slept fine, but a light sleeper might have trouble.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, Ca

Way overpriced for what you get. Location is good

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: ....I survived
Cons: Read experience...Slow check in, only one elevator works for 4 floors, outdated rooms, hallways smell weird, breakfast is minimal even by hotel standa
Location: Jack London Square, downtown Oakland convenient.
Slow check in, only one elevator works for 4 floors, outdated rooms, hallways smell weird, breakfast is minimal even by hotel standards, no hot water in shower the first day, water dripping on us walking down stairs when we couldn't get elevator, did not get maid service for 2 night stay, parking lot filthy, ....even for a lower price than most area hotels, I expect more even in the city. Hear the neighboring Amtrak Train all night long, as station is next door. You hear each train twice. Will not stay here again.