Ratings based on 1,109 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Old and dated

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Stayed over night after concert building had big holes in the wall old and dated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Hard beds and uncomfortable flat pillows. They did the very loud hotel laundry 2 doors down until 6 pm and started back at 5 am! And, oh yeah, the hotel is 10 yards away from very active, horns screaming, double train track! And the all night club music close by. Remotes didn't work. Batteries on smoke alarms went out = chirp, chirp, chirp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Can't expect much more for the rate. Good price and good location in front of Jack London Square, but the hotel is old (60's) and while it is clean, there's not much you can do. Fair deal!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid it at amy cost

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Not clean, very noisy. The breakfast is not bad. When I checked in, i was informed that the AC had been broked foe days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel did not have air conditioning. The room smelled. There was a train that goes by the front of the hotel blasting it’s horn at all hours. Not a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good hotel for the price

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The staff
Good hotel for the rate. Parking is a bit challenging.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rocklin Ca

The hotel is extremely run down!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The staff was courteous
Cons: so much its ridiculous...including single pane windows that should be triple pane when near a train track
Location: Although we stayed in Jack London Square, the area was dead during the Tuesday and Wednesday stay.
I was also taken back when the staff made copies of my drivers license for their paper trail...with identify theft on the rise this was the first concern when I checked in. We had to select a second room because of the unkept state of the first room. The second room was next door to a bunch of men who talked from 2AM onword...and were evacuated the following day. I was there due to two meetings for the company I work for and was so tired because of the problems with this hotel. Amtrak runs passed the hotel and makes extreme noise several times until 11PM then again around 5:30AM.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Abort Abort Abort

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Location: Train next to hotel all day and night.
I was scared for my health while in this place. The place is so run down and you feel so unclean the whole way through; from lobby to bedroom. Our bathroom was horrendous with nearly everything broken or chipped. You have a train that passes, right next to, the hotel multiple times an hour all day/night long. Just wouldn't stay here, so many other options for the same price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience EVER!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The mexican front desk girl. I forgot her name but she is day shift!
Cons: EVERYTHING!
First of all do not believe the photos. This is a dump. There are huge holes in the hall way ceiling. It is filthy dirty gross. They give you a parking slip to put on your dash that is suppose to reserve you a place. LIE! They share a parking garage with a restaurant and we were blocked in for 30 min waiting to figure out who the car belonged to. Another night we came in late and there was no parking and we were told to park in handicap. This hotel is really a motel that looks like it charges by the hour. The last day 2 hours before check out we were getting ready in our room and we heard a knock at the door and immediately the door unlocked and someone opened the door. The lack was secure so the door was stopped from opening all the way. I was scared and my boyfriend rushed to see who it was and it turned out to be the maintenance man. My boyfriend asked him "Why are you opening our door 2 hours before check out?" He had no answer. When we went to check out the manager had us waiting for an hour before coming out to talk to us. Then when he came he was not sympathetic and stated we are not a 5 star hotel as to suggest that our complaints were no big deal to him. He asked why we did not leave after the first incident and I let him know that all the hotels were booked for all of the weekend events. WE WERE STUCK! DO NOT BOOK HERE!!!!! There is one girl (mexican-girl) who was the only professional in the building. She need to work at a 5 star resort because she was 5 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Great location.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Great location right across from Jack London Square & walking distance to other downtown Oakland areas & ferry to SF. Hotel is desperately in need of remodel & train noise is constant.