Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park

It was good for a short visit.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: the room was clean. they gave us bottles of water which was good because we were in a heat wave. The breakfast was good.
Cons: the chair was stuck in a corner near the air conditioner. You couldn't move it around the room.
Location: The university of California. Bart is near by so you can go into Oakland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and free parking!
Cons: None!
Location: Berkeley is a walkable distance away! Also Trader Joe's!
It had all the things we needed! Breakfast, free parking, walking distance from Berkeley, reasonable pricing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality Inn Consistency

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Proximity to our destination.
Cons: Rooms that can't accommodate a king size bed should be changed to a different size to allow the guest to move more freely in the room.
Location: Located on a busy commercial street with good access to restaurants and services. Accommodations were quiet.
I was somewhat disappointed with our room because it was just too small to move around the room. Only one person could pass by at the end of the bed due to limited space. We managed for one night, but we won't be returning. We've stayed at Quality Inn's in Vancouver and were quite pleased with the room, service and price, but the brand didn't compare with this location unfortunately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed for the rating given to this hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The water pressure.
Cons: With the exception of the water pressure everything .
Location: I did not like the location at all,dirty and not well kept.
We booked late at night but with a 3.7/5 we thought it would be better than what we experienced.When we arrived there was several people (not guests ) in the office they weren't exactly friendly,no parking available -they said leave your key and when a spot becomes available we will park it-could not do that with a rental car-a guy offered us his spot to park and we did.on our way up to our room 3 of the people that were in the office were smoking-they advertise a smoke free facility,our room key did not work,the security door lock did not work,the carpet had stains as well as the bed sheets had cigarette holes etc....the water pressure was good and so was the hot water,but for the 130$ we payed this place was a waste of all that money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Move in weekend

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good hotel for move in weekend for UCBerkeley students. Staff was nice but room was cramped. Two double beds where there should only have been a single I guess they want to give parents the dorm room experience. Kind of expensive for the value. Close to campus. Furniture in poor condition
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley CA

Very small a acomodations

Posted Aug 9, 2016
No chair in room. No luggage holder, and room quite small for price paid! Not at all like Quality Hotels I have stayed in before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent for the area

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: It's a somewhat older hotel and the furnishings could use an update.
Location: Berkeley Marina
The area is not known for upper class hotels, but the Quality Inn was nice enough, considering. But, the standouts were the staff. I had some very specific needs and made special requests. Although there were no promises made, I was pleasantly surprised when we checked in and without fanfare, everything I asked for was made available to us. I was traveling with an elderly person and children and needed the rooms to be as close as possible. The hotel was booked but they were able to get all of our rooms right next to each other. Bravo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from claremont, Ca

Rooms are more Rooms are a bit cramped R

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Cons: Room too cramped
The rooms are smaller than at most quality inns. Ironing board and iron took up most of closet space. Quality inn still better than other motels I've stayed at on University in Berkelry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing
We had our room right next door to the employee work room. They were very noisy at 7am and we definitely could not sleep in. Our room was cleaned in the morning and then at 4pm when my husband was taking a shower and had just walked into the main room, our door opened up without a knock or anything. It was one of the room cleaners and I have no clue why she came in. The room was already cleaned in the morning and it was 4pm in the afternoon. Was she coming to take something?? Since we were naked, we couldn't run out there and it was embarrassing. Also, parking was a nightmare. The hotel front desk person was constantly moving cars around and couldn't attend to the front desk in a timely manner. We had two room keys and neither one of them worked the morning after we checked in. The rekeyed them and only one worked after that. The whole experience was terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from allentown, Pa

You get what you pay for

Posted May 8, 2016
The price was cheap relative to other Berkeley hotels and the quality reflected that. The bed was fine but the room was shabby in parts. The caulking around the tub and bathroom tiling was kind of yucky. The outer facing of the microwave was ripped off. When I opened the mini fridge, I found somebody's leftover food inside it. When I told the clerk about that, he didn't even apologize. Also, when I checked out, I said to him that my Expedia reservation indicated that there was a full breakfast but that was apparently incorrect. He then informed me that there was breakfast. However he had not said anything about that at check-in, and I hadn't seen anywhere that looks like a breakfast room, so I had bought breakfast out. I did then go take a peek at where he showed the room was hidden, but the breakfast didn't look very nice anyway. Just as glad I had gotten breakfast elsewhere.