Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

a nice surprise - great bang for the buck

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Seemingly newly renovated, and relatively quiet at nite. The rooms are clean and reasonably well appointed, and the front office people are courteous.
Location: Some reviews warned about the area. Hey, it's Berkeley! I wasn't phased by walking on the street. TheThai food place on the corner is GREAT
When traveling to the Berkeley-Oakland area, we are faced with paying up for hotel chains that frankly are half the price in other regions of the country for exactly the same thing, or, we can "slum-it" with lower priced properties. I've been to several lower-priced hotels in Berkeley, and for instance Super 8, up the road from Rodeway, is dreadful. The Rodeway Inn is a very good value. I was leery of trying them out, but they exceeded my expectations in all categories.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not worth it

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Free parking
Cons: New furniture, cleaner walls
Room was shabby. Hotel is run down. Hotel staff not that friendly. The room was not comfortable. Walls need to be scrubbed down. Needs new furniture. There was a spider in my room too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hot Pocket Ohio

E.g. Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It was clean and available. I had spent the previous night in my car because I booked with Expedia after midnight so ...yeah.
Cons: Refunds maybe. But, man I don't know how hoty's work
Location: Sleeping and leaving
You don't tell me how many characters...I tell you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, United States of America

All good except loud AC/heating unit

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The room is small so the constant on and off of the heater through the night was a bit disturbing but overall a good value for sure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Overnight stay. Room wasn't clean and had a slight oder.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Two Day Stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Clean comfortable and reasonable price. Have stayed before would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma county

Good accommodation for a short stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, room as expected and nice courtyard.
Cons: At checkout, the clerk referred to me as sir, when clearly I was expressing my identity as female. I did feel a little embarrassed.
Location: Great downtown location in Berkeley, close to the university, main drag and the Bart. I stayed here as a preferable, option to Oakland.
This hotel is located in the heart of Berkeley, which was perfect for my one night stay, for a concert in Oakland. The courtyard parking lot is attractive, circular with a fountain and seating, pleasant if you want to sit out for a while. My room was pretty standard, clean and tidy if a little small - but that's not unusual for this location and price.The room also had a microwave, which was useful for making tea or coffee, assuming you brought some! The location was quiet on the night I stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: cleanliness
Location: Its on the main avenue to Cal, with very busy traffic, rather dirty and seedy area with funky eateries. Walking around felt creepy. A lot of homeless
The room was small but immaculate. Bed was adequate but pillows below average. The so called continental breakfast was not worth the bother. Parking was limited. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, Ca

EXCELLENT HOTEL TO STAY

Posted Aug 28, 2016
My Fiancé and I really enjoyed our stay at the RODEWAY Hotel. The area was quite, we both had a great nights sleep and woke up refreshed, my next stay would be definitely there at the RODEWAY HOTEL. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep up the good work RODEWAY HOTEL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value for the area

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We were stopping over in Berkeley for 1 night and didn't want to spend too much. This hotel was a bargain close enough to UCB and downtown Berkeley, clean, charming outdoors with nice landscape and fountain, set in from the street so noise was not a problem. A little outdated, but well worth it for the price.