Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I was disappointed in the overall cleanliness and upkeep of the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have a great housekeeping team here, who usually do a great job in preparing our rooms for each guest, and we are very sorry that you were so disappointed. We do hope that you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in us, so that we can offer you the excellent hospitality that we are known for. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice place. A great little treasure. Located in a great neighborhood. It was what it said it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests! We do hope that you'll be back in this area soon, and that you'll be back to stay with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable well priced hotel to Berkeley campus

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This is the third time I've stayed at the Rose Garden visiting my Daughter at Cal Berkeley. The hotel is not fancy but well placed to the campus with a good a staff and a very good free breakfast buffet. I will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you visit your daughter! We are delighted to have you stay, and delighted that we meet your needs so well. It's great that you intend to stay with us again, we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was adequate and quaint.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The hotel doesn't have the newest facilities but it certainly provides what matters. Room was clean, satellite television, comfortable bed, excellent water pressure, even a fireplace in the room. Very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for pointing out so many positive aspects of your recent stay with us; our clean room and comfortable bed, and other little things in our rooms that make a stay more enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Comfort bed nice hot food very attractive garden

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very friendly staff with clean and very comfortable bed Good in food and free parking and wifi Good and safe location in Berkeley I would like to stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Quaint old buildings

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Old but cute. Good central location, close to Oakland.
Cons: Small parking lot.
Location: Nothing much to do.
Cute room. Mine had a gas fireplace and ceiling fan. Real plaster walls and handicap access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old with deferred maintenance obvious

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Clean but crumbling, with funky decor at best. Breakfast half hour late. Carpet crunchy. Staff pleasant but tall order to fill with limited resources.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Very Inviting. The Decor was beautiful. Very cozy for Couples. The Garden was pleasing to the eye. Would stay again. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Quaint Place

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Convenient to my daughter's apartment.
Cons: We stayed when it was cold and it was difficult getting the room temperature comfortable; too cold to start or too hot when we turned on the heat.
Location: Downtown Berkeley and Rockbridge have plenty to do or talk the BART downtown for anything and everything.
This place would be great when you can spend time outside. It has a very picturesque courtyard and balcony with tables. We stayed when it was cold and it was difficult getting the room temperature comfortable; too cold to start or too hot when we turned on the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Very quaint hotel. The breakfast that was included, was an added bonus!