Ratings based on 1,508 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice motel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: location, staff
Location: close to BART, perfect to visit San Francisco
clean, comfortable, friendly staff and close to BART station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects managment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to UC

Posted Sep 13, 2016
It was easy to Uber to the UC for my meeting, and a safe, easy walk to diner with a choice of several good eats. The room was clean, the parking was good, the service was kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't have it both ways!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel was fine, better than average, better than I expected. Receptionist was firm that we could not check in early, nor could we leave luggage until room was ready. However, he litteraly hassled us verbally to check out early! You can not have it both ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We are sorry for the inconvenience you have to experience during your stay and we will be working hard to over come our shortcomings soon. With much respects Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Nice stay, easy access to San Fco after rush hour

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Loaction, room was ok. with reformed bathroom.
Cons: Bigger breakfast room, more parking space
Location: Restaurants, shopping, university very close.
The only inconvenient is that the number of parking is less than the number of rooms, so you have to be careful to get parking space on time or you have to park the car on the street and must be aware for next morning of parking meter time. Also the breakfast room is too small. For the rest the motel is good for 2 or 3 days max.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for the wonderful review. Sorry for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and we will like to assure that we will be working hard to fix all our shortcomings in near future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HUMILIATED

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: I couldn't even find myself to like this hotel by the way I was treated.
Cons: New Owner.
I was Humiliated at this place by the guy you says he is the owner. I have never been treated like this ever in my life. I was treated like I was a suspect in a felony or even as far as being a terrorist. This guy give super 8 a bad name and I cannot believe that someone could treat someone else like this. It also puts Expedia in a bad light as they promote this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and we are glad for the wonderful review you gave. We regret for the inconvenience you had to experience at hotel and we will be working hard to fix our shortcomings soon. Sorry for the owner. With much respects Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Rude receptionist on arrival. I asked about breakfast and the reply was merely 'doughnuts at 8!' no direction to where! The room has been decorated the bathroom was modern the rest is dark and still appears old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had to experience and we would work hard to improve it in near future. We hope to see you again soon With much respects management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Locked in the bathroom!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We got in late, so when I noticed the bathroom was missing its door knob, I figured I would let the front desk know in the morning. Before I could, my daughter closed the door and became locked in the bathroom. When I went to let the front desk know, they actually accused ME of stealing the door knob! Only once the maid told him that the door knob was in fact missing did he believe me and help me get my daughter out of the bathroom. He actually had to break the door to get her out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we regret for the in convenience you had to experience during your stay for you were blamed for what other customers did. We will work hard to overcome our short comings in future soon. With much respects Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Clean Room

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, relative quiet.
Cons: Price was a bit high for something pretty basic.
Location: On University Ave & very close to UC Berkeley campus. Saw concert at Greek Theater, toured Botanical Gardens, & saw play at Berkeley Rep. Theater.
The room was clean and the bathroom & shower were excellent! TV worked great. I was able to get a twin bed along with the Queen so two single people could sleep comfortably. It's close to the street but wasn't that noisy, as some previous customers had complained about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and taking time for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again with improved facilities. With much respects Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the high price

Posted Jul 24, 2016
First thing we noticed was the long strands of hair in the bathroom and the bed. Didn't know if it was from the previous guests or the cleaning ladies. Either way it was gross. Wouldn't have stayed if we had another option in a short notice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Sorry for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and thanks for the wonderful feedback. We will be working hard to fix our shortcomings in future soon. With much respects. Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene Oregon

Good location, however ice machine not available

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good location. Has parking. Electrical outlet available for re-charging. Has desk and chair. Well lit bathroom, good size shower.
Cons: Ice machine and better working fridge with freezer
Location: Bay Area so lots to see and do. Very close to UC. Easy freeway access in all directions.
No ice machine. Fridge barely kept things cool and NO freezer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We would like to regret for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and commit for the improvements in near future to see you again. With much respects Mangament