Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Clean Room

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, relative quiet.
Cons: Price was a bit high for something pretty basic.
Location: On University Ave & very close to UC Berkeley campus. Saw concert at Greek Theater, toured Botanical Gardens, & saw play at Berkeley Rep. Theater.
The room was clean and the bathroom & shower were excellent! TV worked great. I was able to get a twin bed along with the Queen so two single people could sleep comfortably. It's close to the street but wasn't that noisy, as some previous customers had complained about.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the high price

Posted Jul 24, 2016
First thing we noticed was the long strands of hair in the bathroom and the bed. Didn't know if it was from the previous guests or the cleaning ladies. Either way it was gross. Wouldn't have stayed if we had another option in a short notice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Sorry for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and thanks for the wonderful feedback. We will be working hard to fix our shortcomings in future soon. With much respects. Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene Oregon

Good location, however ice machine not available

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good location. Has parking. Electrical outlet available for re-charging. Has desk and chair. Well lit bathroom, good size shower.
Cons: Ice machine and better working fridge with freezer
Location: Bay Area so lots to see and do. Very close to UC. Easy freeway access in all directions.
No ice machine. Fridge barely kept things cool and NO freezer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We would like to regret for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and commit for the improvements in near future to see you again. With much respects Mangament
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I arrived and asked if there was a room with two beds, and was quickly provided the same. The room had a queen and the additional bed was a single was in a sweet little alcove, with a window. I had just spent 7 days in a Sheraton in LA, and this place was much nicer. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berkley.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Comfortable stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: We made this hotel our base to visit San Francisco. Very convenient especially with a BART station so close.
Cons: Check-out person (not Roy) was not the best at customer service. He was rushing to get us gone without any smile and not concerned about our stay.
Location: BART station within walking distance. Eating place close by. UC Berkeley a short drive away.
On University Ave and about three blocks (walking distance) from the North Berkeley BART station, this motel was surprisingly pleasant and we had a great stay. The check-in process was quick with Roy at the front desk. The cramped lobby doesn't offer much and could be better in giving directions and/or recommendations. The ice machine was broken during our stay, but there is a 7 Eleven a couple of blocks West of the motel to buy ice and other snacks. The room was very clean, the bathroom had a shower instead of a tub, a vanity area outside the bathroom, iron and ironing board, safe, microwave, refrigerator, and comfortable beds with clean linen. There are plenty of eating places within walking distance and many more if you are driving. The parking lot was small with just enough spaces for the amount of rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and we are glad for your wonderful review. We would like to regret for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay and commit for the improvements in near future to see you again. With much respects Mangament
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

This hotel is good for a short stay.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Comfortable for weary travelers
Location: There are several restaurants nearby but hard to fine good old American food.
There was no shampoo or toilet paper in the room. We were given the tissue with no problem but didn't notice the shampoo was missing until too late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and your review. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay. We will be working hard to overcoming our weaknesses soon in near future. With much respects management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno,NV

Perfect hotel for Berkeley, San Francisco visit

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness,location and friendly management
Cons: All perfect !!!
Location: Location is superb.There are lot of places to visit nearby. Twin peaks, Berkeley Hills, Golden gate bridge, Downtown, Pier 39 are good places to see
I came to Super 8 around 9 pm after visiting Yosemite Valley and got warm wel come. There was no any issue or trouble. Good parking lot, location and breakfast. No any complain, Very nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and your wonderful review. We hope to see you again. With much respects Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

close to city

Posted Jun 16, 2016
I have stayed here before several times. The staff very friendly always allows me to check in 20-30 min early if I'm early. The rooms are clean. San Franciso is only 15-20 minute drive, very easy access. I would rather stay here, the rates are reasonable, safe and clean with a short drive. That's hard to find in the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects. management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camas, WA

The Super 8 was in downtown

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Being in downtown Berkeley I was concerned about parking as I had a small trailer attached to my car. I parked on the street which had free overnight parking. The clerk was very pleasant as I arrived about 8:30 pm to check in. My room was clean, the bathroom small but clean and not difficult to use. The TV was connected to local and dish channels although I didn't really use it except for background noise. The WIFI was easy to connect to and reasonably quick. The bed was comfortable and made for a good night's sleep given that my trip the next day was going to be 700 plus miles of driving. All in all it was a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super 8 Berkeley and your wonderful review. We hope to see you again with upgraded amenities. With much respects Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Basic motel, not terrible

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It had a room.
Cons: Breakfast could be updated, mattresses changed.
Location: Close to university, near lots of stores.
Reasonably clean, mattress needed changing, shower OK, on the street with noises, breakfast packaged. For the price, I would look around for something better, but maybe I would end up here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Tony, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam Sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. We will be working hard to fix all our shortcomings soon. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. With much respects. Management