Ratings based on 1,589 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet, upgraded room.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, Trader Joes nearby and a few restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Breakfast lacked luster, not much to choose from, presentation poor. We ate a great breakfast at Nations down the street. Overall pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Highly recommended.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent central location with direct route on University Ave east to U.C. Campus and west to freeway.
Cons: Nothing. Looks like they've recently renovated the rooms,
Location: Great restaurants north Berkeley on Shattuck Ave "Gourmet Ghetto", 4th street restaurants and shops west off University.
Quiet restful place to stay with a friendly helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable bed with a good shower and plenty of towels. Got a call on my cell about an hour after checking out that I left my overnight bag so was able to pick it up late on my way back to Fresno. That has never happened to me before having lost items over the years--I'm 78.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We loved reading your review, thank you very much for your kind words! It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that everything in and around the hotel was to your liking. We are delighted that you found our staff so friendly and attentive and we are pleased to hear that your bag was returned to you safely. Thank you very much for your feedback and your fantastic recommendation, we hope that you will have a reason to stay with us again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Lake Tahoe, CA

Nice Motor Lodge only a few blocks from University

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, upgrades, staff, nice bed and décor on wall, updated bathroom.
Pleasant surprise! Staff was wonderful, property very clean, room better than expected for a motor lodge. Nice décor, updated bathroom, nice attempt by owner to take a simple chain hotel and make it a notch above the competition. Bed linen was lovely, bed was comfy, very clean. Continental breakfast was simple with just a few choices, but perfect to meet my needs. Internet is fast, parking convenient, location wonderful. Walking distance to myriad coffee and food shops. I will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to hear that you intend to stay with us again, and I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grenaa/Denmark

Nice location, updated rooms fast wifi

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location was good, rooms comfortable, not the biggest in size but incl. refrig/microw/coffemaker
Cons: A bit overprized i my opinion
Location: SFO nearby but recall the transporation, and fee for the bridge.
Sympatic and friendly staff. 45 min from SanFrancisco (North beach/Pier)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable room, and its great facilities, along with our super location and our friendly staff. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are next in the area, we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

A cheap Motel close to Berkeley

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: No, but it is cheap.
Cons: The hotel staff should be more friendly.
Location: Very close to UC Berkeley. Downtown Berkeley has several excellent restaurants.
My son and I came to see UC Berkeley to decide whether he should come to UC Berkeley for his college. We spent two nights in this motel. The facility is OK and the room is clean. The room is also quite. Nevertheless we found that the room had some strange smell and the bathroom was leaking water near the toilet (it did not bother us). The hotel staff was not friendly at all. The breakfast was terrible too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for your review. Whilst we are happy that you found your room to be clean, and quiet, we are very disappointed that you did not have a totally trouble-free stay with us. We are particularly upset to hear that you did not experience the friendly service that we are renowned for, and we apologize for that. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, if your son has chosen to attend UC Berkeley. We would love to welcome you back, and provide you with the fantastic stay the the majority of our guests have with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebastopol, CA

Good sleep for family visit

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Needed budget stay for family visit nearby, this met our needs. Room on the small side but nicely refinished bathroom and all the essentials. Reasonably quiet, OK neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we met your needs. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you're visiting family - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SMALL ROOMS BUT CLEAN AND UPDATED

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: GOOD MATTRESS
Cons: SMALL PARKING LOT
Location: EASY WALK TO CAMPUS
EASY BOOKING WITH EXPEDIA, CHECK IN AND OUT was effortless--CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE--WiFi AND lots of Television channels, Good cable..Big walk in shower, CLEAN and lush towels AND very COMFORTABLE mattress. I do not think that there was an elevator but one set of stairs with my luggage was not to much hassle. The hotel is not pet friendly -- I have to have my service dog with me at all times--could have been a problem--probably should be more upfront with pet policy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It's really great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that everything in your room was to your satisfaction. We are sorry that you did not find the hotel to be pet friendly; we don't generally have pets staying, but we are always happy to welcome service dogs. Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope that you will stay with us again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super 8 Berkeley

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location and "free" parking (I think the parking cost was already factored in the rate, because for motel like that their rate is high)
I picked this hotel because of good review online. I am disappointed after we stayed there. Their rate is actually quite high considering the overall quality of the motel. But the service was terrible, the front desk was rude and not accommodating and the quality of the included breakfast was the worst that I have experience. The only positive side is the free parking near the downtown of Berkeley. Still I will avoid this motel next time. There are a few better ones on the University Ave only a few blocks away, which is not a problem if you drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you did not experience our usual level of hospitality and comfort. We are particularly disappointed at your comments in relation to our front desk staff; please rest assured that we will be addressing your review with them. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and we hope that you might give us another opportunity to restore your faith in us. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by ErdeneBaatar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Sngeles

Not comfortable

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Staff not friendly, breakfast had nothing, milk was warm, was clean, limit on towels I hate to have to always ask
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par, and that you were so disappointed in our breakfast. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. We are very disappointed that you felt that our staff were so unfriendly, we usually receive excellent feedback in relation to them, and we are sorry that you did not receive our usual level of hospitality. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management