Ratings based on 1,580 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grenaa/Denmark

Nice location, updated rooms fast wifi

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location was good, rooms comfortable, not the biggest in size but incl. refrig/microw/coffemaker
Cons: A bit overprized i my opinion
Location: SFO nearby but recall the transporation, and fee for the bridge.
Sympatic and friendly staff. 45 min from SanFrancisco (North beach/Pier)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable room, and its great facilities, along with our super location and our friendly staff. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are next in the area, we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

A cheap Motel close to Berkeley

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: No, but it is cheap.
Cons: The hotel staff should be more friendly.
Location: Very close to UC Berkeley. Downtown Berkeley has several excellent restaurants.
My son and I came to see UC Berkeley to decide whether he should come to UC Berkeley for his college. We spent two nights in this motel. The facility is OK and the room is clean. The room is also quite. Nevertheless we found that the room had some strange smell and the bathroom was leaking water near the toilet (it did not bother us). The hotel staff was not friendly at all. The breakfast was terrible too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for your review. Whilst we are happy that you found your room to be clean, and quiet, we are very disappointed that you did not have a totally trouble-free stay with us. We are particularly upset to hear that you did not experience the friendly service that we are renowned for, and we apologize for that. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, if your son has chosen to attend UC Berkeley. We would love to welcome you back, and provide you with the fantastic stay the the majority of our guests have with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebastopol, CA

Good sleep for family visit

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Needed budget stay for family visit nearby, this met our needs. Room on the small side but nicely refinished bathroom and all the essentials. Reasonably quiet, OK neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we met your needs. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you're visiting family - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SMALL ROOMS BUT CLEAN AND UPDATED

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: GOOD MATTRESS
Cons: SMALL PARKING LOT
Location: EASY WALK TO CAMPUS
EASY BOOKING WITH EXPEDIA, CHECK IN AND OUT was effortless--CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE--WiFi AND lots of Television channels, Good cable..Big walk in shower, CLEAN and lush towels AND very COMFORTABLE mattress. I do not think that there was an elevator but one set of stairs with my luggage was not to much hassle. The hotel is not pet friendly -- I have to have my service dog with me at all times--could have been a problem--probably should be more upfront with pet policy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It's really great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that everything in your room was to your satisfaction. We are sorry that you did not find the hotel to be pet friendly; we don't generally have pets staying, but we are always happy to welcome service dogs. Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope that you will stay with us again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super 8 Berkeley

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location and "free" parking (I think the parking cost was already factored in the rate, because for motel like that their rate is high)
I picked this hotel because of good review online. I am disappointed after we stayed there. Their rate is actually quite high considering the overall quality of the motel. But the service was terrible, the front desk was rude and not accommodating and the quality of the included breakfast was the worst that I have experience. The only positive side is the free parking near the downtown of Berkeley. Still I will avoid this motel next time. There are a few better ones on the University Ave only a few blocks away, which is not a problem if you drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you did not experience our usual level of hospitality and comfort. We are particularly disappointed at your comments in relation to our front desk staff; please rest assured that we will be addressing your review with them. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and we hope that you might give us another opportunity to restore your faith in us. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Sngeles

Not comfortable

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Staff not friendly, breakfast had nothing, milk was warm, was clean, limit on towels I hate to have to always ask
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par, and that you were so disappointed in our breakfast. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. We are very disappointed that you felt that our staff were so unfriendly, we usually receive excellent feedback in relation to them, and we are sorry that you did not receive our usual level of hospitality. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley,Ca

Chill Location near downtown Berkeley

Posted Feb 3, 2017
It was a really good stay for the price and location. The room was really clean and the bed was soft and easy to fall asleep in. Not to mention your only a couple of blocks from downtown Berkeley
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with accommodation that suited your budget and your location needs, and it's great tp hear that you had such a comfortable stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you need a room in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by CAYLA

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
All bad
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was nice and comfortable, the area was in the midst of businesses and the access to outside stores wad nice and close.
1 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels