Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great location. Very few amenities. Uncomfortable beds. Friendly staff. Small room but fine for two people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Older But Nicely Renovated- Real City Experience

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: My room was small but clean and I liked the décor.
Location: Walking was easy. No matter which direction I walked I ended up finding interesting things to see and places to eat
I arrived in the morning but staff had no problems storing my bag and directing me to the Farmer's Market that was occurring less than a block away. After spending a couple of hours there I came back to the hotel to be directed to other sights but the clerk invited me to check in hours ahead of schedule which allowed me to rest before going out again. Later I discovered that I had left my charger and staff took my cell with a smile and charged it for me. All of the staff that I had interactions with were very, helpful, accommodating and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Its a nice and cozy hotel. They just need to pay more attention to cleaning bed sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jan 2, 2017
It was ok. The staff was nice. The room needed a table or counter to put make up bag etc. Nesr sink and in bathroom. it was small but ccomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An older hotel w/ improvements in downtown Oakland

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nice character, good location.
Cons: Drapes and bedspreads should be replaced.
Location: There are nice restaurants across the street and down the block.
This older hotel has been improved, but is not "first class." The drapes and bed spreads were drab and should be replaced. The room was generally clean, but not perfectly so. Both TV remotes were missing in my room when I arrived. The hotel was passable and the location convenient, but I would choose other hotels if available at reasonable cost (which is a big issue in the Bay Area).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Would not recommend!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
While the location was in the center of everything, the hotel does not have it's own parking. You either had to find street parking or the convention center. The room was designed weird. Really small closet and their direct tv was in and out all during our stay. The worst part was the bed. Woke up with back pains, me and the wifey. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Side note, the hotel staff was very nice! That did save them a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great downtown Oakland location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Very reasonably priced, not hugely memorable, but there is character here. I have stayed twice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Great location and for the price it worked...

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Charming old building in great location
Cons: SHOWER WATER PRESSURE!
Location: Jack London Square, PLANK fun center, African American museum (fabulous!) Chinatown, several dance clubs, Ratto's Italian Market
Was looking for a moderately priced hotel in downtown Oakland and there are few choices. This location was perfect for our needs. First tip we have is that there is plenty of free street parking on the weekends so check that first before parking in the parking lot across the street for 15.00/day. We were put in a standard room on the 4th floor. The rooms are quite small and the sink is in the room, not the bathroom, which is a little weird but no biggie. There's also a tiny armoire and a fridge. The bed was ok but my partner found the sheets "threadbare" and scratchy. So far no real deal breakers regarding the room since we didn't spend much time in it. However, the shower is another matter. NO water pressure at all and it took me about 10 minutes to adjust the temperature so that's a big waste of water even though it comes out as a trickle! I have a lot of hair and I had to spend a good (I mean BAD!) 20 minutes just rinsing the shampoo out. Ugh... The shower issue was enough to make me think twice about returning since I doubt there's much that can be done about that! Otherwise, the hotel has a certain amount of charm and the people working there were very nice. And you really can't beat the location if you want to park your car and see the many sights of Oakland & Jack London Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown Oakland.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Washington Inn is a vintage hotel that has been modernized. It's convenient to downtown Oakland, quite, and cozy. I'm thankful for the hotel staff for being accommodating which made my stay a better experience. Overall the hotel was pleasantly nice, but a bit pricy and no convenient parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Smart choice in downtown Oakland

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Spacious room, quiet and comfortable with easy access to nearby parking
Cons: More variety with breakfast spread
Location: Several quality restaurants nearby and easy access to downtown Oakland work or play
Business trip - excellent location for downtown Oakland but also easy access to BART for San Francisco work and play