Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Furniture was shabby, cable tv did not work,

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Very glad I only had one night stay. The front desk was minimally attended and the night manager was unresponsive to the concerns I raised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the historic ambience

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Very small rooms, only 45 of them. But overall, I love the historic feel of the hotel. The imperfections due to the age of the hotel give it a lovely charm. Really, the only downside is the walls are paper thin and you can hear just about everything. On the other hand, I loved the staff, very warm and inviting, very helpful and kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Reasonably priced hotel in good location

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I've been staying here for several years. Its an old hotel and has been continually improving the conditions. Very affordable ,nice location and easy access to BART.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice Hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast. Close to the BART stop
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Water pressure was bad, and going on the elevator never worked cl correctly. You press one floor it brought you to another floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Quaint historic hotel, near restaurants

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Evening staff would benefit from customer service aka not wearing headphones or taking them off when customers come up. The day staff were great
Location: Swans Market is a must see. Handy to have a Smart and Final grocery store next door. there are Bikes to rent. I will probably try them next time
I chose this hotel due to price and location. The parking at the Marriott across the street was actually quite easy. I was able to easily walk the 1.7 miles to and from Samuel Merritt for a healthcare continuing education course. I really liked my room with the mini fridge and coffee maker. Considering the cost of the other larger properties in the same area, Washington Inn was a better value. I really enjoyed the surrounding restaurants and went to dinner both nights at Swans Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
My experience was perfect. My check in/out was effortless. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean and neat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom vanity is outside bathroom.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Cheap, compare to big brother Marriot next door
Cons: Move Wash Basin in the bathroom
Elevator stinks, Breakfast is not great at all. Bed was okay. Bathroom vanity is outside bathroom, anytime you use restroom, you have to walk miles to wash your hands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Lots of character.
Location: Jack London square
Nice and clean problem with tv reception. Direct tv.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Room was too small and sink in the room was very unconvincing.