Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Part of Historic Oakland

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: Part of an old building, the wifi connection was unreliable (but worked periodically) this time. The staff seemed responsive and a solution was ahead
Location: Near Chinatown and Old Oakland, so plenty of local businesses nearby. Beautiful historic district.
I have stayed at the Washington Inn several times. The hotel is quiet and charming; it is a nice alternative to standard hotels. Breakfast is thoughtful and comprehensive in a beautiful side room. The rooms are small but very clean and modernized in clever ways.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel definitely needs remodeling, very old looking. The room was not bad but it was weird because the sink area is right next to the TV outside of the bathroom. Stayed here during the Bar exam so the price was ridiculous for what you're getting. The light in my room was a sensor but it constantly turned off because there was no way to just turn the light on. I told front desk about this and she gave me a piece of paper to tape over the light sensor but it did not work. I would constantly have to get up to turn the light back on or move around til it turned on - very frustrating and inconvenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great location. Very few amenities. Uncomfortable beds. Friendly staff. Small room but fine for two people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Older But Nicely Renovated- Real City Experience

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: My room was small but clean and I liked the décor.
Location: Walking was easy. No matter which direction I walked I ended up finding interesting things to see and places to eat
I arrived in the morning but staff had no problems storing my bag and directing me to the Farmer's Market that was occurring less than a block away. After spending a couple of hours there I came back to the hotel to be directed to other sights but the clerk invited me to check in hours ahead of schedule which allowed me to rest before going out again. Later I discovered that I had left my charger and staff took my cell with a smile and charged it for me. All of the staff that I had interactions with were very, helpful, accommodating and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Its a nice and cozy hotel. They just need to pay more attention to cleaning bed sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jan 2, 2017
It was ok. The staff was nice. The room needed a table or counter to put make up bag etc. Nesr sink and in bathroom. it was small but ccomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall it was good

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
When we got to our room we realized the toilet almost overflowed when flushed. Told the front desk and they offered us another room. This room was on a floor lower and the toilet still didn't flush right. It was better than the first room but we needed to flush twice for it to do the job. What are the odds of us getting 2 rooms with bad toilets. This led us to beleive the entire hotel must have this problem. Other than that, the staff, cleanliness and proximity to everything was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An older hotel w/ improvements in downtown Oakland

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nice character, good location.
Cons: Drapes and bedspreads should be replaced.
Location: There are nice restaurants across the street and down the block.
This older hotel has been improved, but is not "first class." The drapes and bed spreads were drab and should be replaced. The room was generally clean, but not perfectly so. Both TV remotes were missing in my room when I arrived. The hotel was passable and the location convenient, but I would choose other hotels if available at reasonable cost (which is a big issue in the Bay Area).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Would not recommend!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
While the location was in the center of everything, the hotel does not have it's own parking. You either had to find street parking or the convention center. The room was designed weird. Really small closet and their direct tv was in and out all during our stay. The worst part was the bed. Woke up with back pains, me and the wifey. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Side note, the hotel staff was very nice! That did save them a bit.