Ratings based on 1,606 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Super cute room

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Pros: The room was decorated nice and it was clean.
Cons: The train noise, but that can’t be improved.
Location: Went to dinner at a great pizza place nearby, Forge.
Nice hotel. The trains were loud but otherwise we really like this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review of our hotel and for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tukwila, WA

Island of serenity

Posted Mar 12, 2018
The hotel is in Jack London Square which is a community development project that hasn't taken off, lots of unrented store fronts. As a result this hotel is quiet and restful. The streets here feel very safe. Other reviewers were concerned by the proximity of the railroad keeping them awake at night. We had a room facing the train tracks but slept like babies. Yoshi's, a famous jazz club is two blocks away. A nice multi screen movie theatre is also two blocks away. Several nice restaurants within walking distance and several fun bars. There was a farmers market on Saturday. The Hotel is on the water and there are nice walkways and parks. A passenger ferry runs into downtown San Francisco for $6 one way. The dock is a block from the hotel. Unfortunately the nearest Bart station is about ten blocks, 20 minute walk, away in downtown Oakland (could be scary if you come from some gated community and have never seen how the poor actually live.) The hotel offers a shuttle to the Bart but only on weekdays. A Lyft car for two from the hotel to the Bart cost us $7. All and all a very pleasant way to visit the Bay Area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Showed up at the hotel and they did not have my expedia reservation. Will never use expedia again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We're sorry you had challenges with expedia, but hope we were able to get you settle in and that you enjoyed your stay with us? Our apologies for your experience. We hope you'll come back and see us once again. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Oregon

Good Experience

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Everything we desired was there. This hotel is very convenient to arrive to without a car. We arrived by the SF Ferry & left by Amtrak. It's steps awa
Cons: This is an older style hotel. I wouldn't change anything. Some folks might like newer decor but is was fine for us.
Location: Everything we desired was there. This hotel is very convenient to arrive to without a car. We arrived by the SF Ferry & left by Amtrak. It's steps awa
Everything we desired was there. This hotel is very convenient to arrive to without a car. We arrived by the SF Ferry & left by Amtrak. It's steps away from a fun Farmers Market, jazz shows & good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Jazz lover, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We're happy you shared your experience on TripAdvisor. You are exactly right to let potential guests know there is no need to rent a car due to the excellent transportation the bay offers. We'll see you again soon and thanks for staying with us. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Great week end stay

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Got in the car and headed for the city. Ended up with tickets to a show at Yoshi’s and a room at the Water Front in Jack London Sq
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Jani, thanks for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again. We'll be here to take great care of you again. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on Jack London Square

Posted Mar 3, 2018
The Waterfront is a fantastic hotel that goes out of its way to make sure your stay there is a great one. I highly recommend visiting this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We hope you'll come back again to enjoy our property once again. We'll be here waiting for you. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Lots of things to do

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Too many PROs to list... Staff was excellent. Our dogs and kids thoroughly enjoyed their stay! Comfortable beds, wine & cheese, great communication, roomy, convenient to lots of things, safe (very close to police station). CONs: kinda close to trains (first night was hard to sleep, 2nd night was fine), $30/day parking, understandable if it’s crowded but on light weekdays we spent most re time waiting for the valet than it would have taken to just walk 20 feet to our car and get it ourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, Thank you for your stellar review of The Waterfront Hotel and for staying with us. Please come back and visit soon. We'd love to help you create another memorable experience. All the best, Chris
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was decent

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Free Wine
Cons: Free parking
Location: Bars, The Plank
Location was fairly nice. Couple bars close by and walk to downtown is about 12 blocks
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks for staying with us and your comments concerning your stay. Our wine reception is very popular with our regular guests and we're happy you enjoyed this while you were here. We'll see you again when you're in the Bay Area. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Clean, comfortable and great location. Appreciated how close everything was and the fun environment. Room was bigger than expected, which was appreciated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks for staying with us and for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch, CA

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Staff was wonderful. The room was spacious & clean. Towels were soft unlike other hotels. My biggest issue was with the pillows. They were so uncomfortable. At first i was a bit annoyed that our room had a queen bed when I specified a king bed. Then the pillows were so small & had zero firmness. I woke uo with a headache. If they could have better supportive pillows, I would gladly give this rating 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Carla, Thank you for staying with us and for your review of The Waterfront Hotel. We appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and will pass those along to our team. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again. Should you ever have a concern or experience a problem, please let us know right away and we'll make it right for you. All the best, Chris