Ratings based on 1,587 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

You are definitely captive at the run down hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2017
I’m very disappointed with my stay. The servant at check in didn’t even look up at me while I checked in for over $200 the room was an afterthought with warped carpet, the toiletries weren’t even the full set unless you like double conditioning and no shampoo. Happened on wine hour which we skipped as it was no more than a small plate of crappy crackers and very cheap wine. The mattress and sheets have seen much better times and we’re bumpy and Pilly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear n, Thank you for staying with us. I would like to personally apologize for your experience with us. We have a wine and cheese reception Monday through Friday as a way to connect with our guests. We're sorry we missed you there. Our team is always happy to take care of any concerns when brought to their attention. I hope we were able to do so with you. We hope you'll give us another try. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

easy friendly check in

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: i liked the friendly greeting of the staff.
Cons: it's all good.
Location: there's good music at yoshis.
it's a nice room, clean and comfortable. there's free wine tasting at 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear debbie, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your business and are happy you stayed with us. Please come back again. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Nice hotel and convenient to Jack London Square Nice view from the balcony
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience online. We'll see you again soon. All the best Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno

this hotel is fine.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: easy access to jack london square
Cons: there's kind of a smell, but i think that's an oakland thing.
Location: we like to go to yoshi's. for concerts.
check in was fine, and room is clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear debbie, Thanks for staying with us and for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Chris
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left me unfulfilled...

Posted Nov 29, 2017
The check in experience was lackluster. The young lady at the desk didn’t even look up at me when she greeted me and her voice was dull and Uninviting. Then we learned that the only elevator was out of service so we had to walk up 2 flights of stairs with luggage. The rooms are very close and small and you can hear the TV of the room next door. Our shower was not very clean as there was residue of someone else’s hair in a few places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks for staying with us. I would like to personally apologize for your experience with us. We worked closely with our elevator company to resolve and unfortunately it took longer than expected. We'll address the other concerns brought forth with our team as those are not up to our standards. We hope you'll consider staying with us once again. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great location

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Convenient walk to ferry for quick trip to San Fran. View of city from ferry- very nice. Hotel staff and restaurant personnel- EXCELLENT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear cyndi, Thank you for review of The Waterfront Hotel and for staying with us. We're happy you enjoyed our team and your experience with us. Please come back and see us again soon. All the best, Chris
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Not as nice as it looks on line

Posted Nov 26, 2017
It was ok pictures on line are not how the hotel looks in person. Elevator was broken the whole time we were there unconvince!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Carmen, Thanks for staying with us. We have resolved the issue with our elevators and are sorry you were inconvenienced by this. We hope you'll come back again and spend some time with us. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Evening TG arrival managed to be Great

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Reasonably clean, good staff, nice view
Cons: Bathroom kinda stark, toilet paper holder too far away (on wrong wall), not good noise barriers to hallway and hallway conversations. Noisy outside.
Uncertain about when late arrival cut off may have been on holiday evening, the hotel phone was answered quickly and questions competently answered. Reassured, we relaxed at family dinner and got to hotel around 9 pm. Front desk staff and valet were relaxed, welcoming, and very efficient. Room turned out to have view of water and dinosaur-like cargo/container loading cranes. Evening weather temperate (although foggy late in night and early morning), and we kept the sliding door ajar all night. Rom clean, a little odd, squeaky cabinet made load creaking noise everytime we walked by it until we wedged door closed with paper. Early check out, nice staff. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thanks for your awesome review of The Waterfront Hotel. Our team is always ready to take care of our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing hotel with all the amenities

Posted Nov 24, 2017
We were greeted with smiles and a complementary bottle of wine and our stay only went up from there. A fireplace in the lobby, as well as crackers and cheese around 5:00. The view from our window was of a marina and it was fun watching the boats go by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Diane, Thanks for staying with us and for your 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel. We're thrilled you enjoyed the hotel our amenities and the incredible views. We'll see you when you're in the Bay Area again. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Nov 22, 2017
It was a great experience. The hotel was great! The location couldn’t of been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate the 5 star review of The Waterfront Hotel and hope this means you'll be back soon! All the best, Chris