Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of the bay

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We enjoyed a lovely view of boats in the harbor. There is a nice walking path in Jack London square. The room itself had high falutin amenities. Jonathan Adler soaps etc. fine cotton sheets & good towels. We liked it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very convenient hotel steps away from Yoshi's! We were upgraded to a balcony room with an excellent view of the Plaza and the harbor. The valet Steve provided quality & personable service throughout our stay. We highly recommend this hotel and plan to rebook soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City Ca

Jack London waterfront room.....awesome!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We were seeing John Prine at the Fox that night and had a great room and service at this hotel. Will definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Room service was decent, although the "hot" food was barely warm. Paper thin walls. More hospital front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
I love this place. I've stayed multiple times. Friendly staff, clean, with a beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis

Central Jack London Square

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The view, the location, the staff, and the amenities.
Cons: Fresh paint and new carpet.
Location: Plenty of restaurants. Close to many BART stations to go into San Francisco.
The hotel is a bit out dated but the location is pretty ideal. Other than being located right next to the train tracks which you hear blowing its horn every hour or two all hours of the day or night, the hotel is close to nice restaurant and other great oakland attractions. We enjoyed the fire place in our room and the view of the city was amazing. The parking was valet only for 25$ a night which seems expensive but it's the only option so unless you want to park on the street and risk your car being on blocks in the morning you are forced to pay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sanchez

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Nice hotel close to restaurants and nightlife. Went out to Oakland for a Raiders game and loved this location. I will do this again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, USA

Relaxing Stay at a Fine Local Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, room service, price, free wifi, low parking price, decor, staff -- everything was wonderful.
Cons: Tiny nit-pick -- the carpeting in the hallways needs a good sweeping.
Location: Yoshi's -- good food and live music/bands. Movie theater one block away. Historic spots/Jack London Square. Sunday farmers market. Bars/restaurants.
We are locals but stayed here for a relaxing mini vacation over the holiday weekend. Our stay was lovely. We walked the waterfront and enjoyed many of the local bars/restaurants/shops. The hotel is cute (decor-wise) and comfortable and safe. Best of all -- the price was more than reasonable for the Bay Area (including the daily parking rate). The first night we walked one block to see a fantastic band at Yoshi's. The second day we walked one block to see a movie at the cinema. We also walked a half block to take the ferry to San Francisco's Ferry Building Marketplace! Meals/drinks at Yoshi's/The Fat Lady/Kincaid's/Scott's/Steel Rail and Lungomare were all wonderful. A fantastic mini-vacation all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Shabby Chic

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: The location is amazing. Right on the water in jack London square. Near so many restaurants, stores, markets and things to do.
The rooms could use a facelift I won't lie. I've stayed before and this particular room was nicer than past rooms. But they are clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Stay here every time I visit Oakland

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: I travel here often to visit family and I always look for a better option but never find one. This is the best value for the price. The price does go up on a busy weekend, so watch for that. Otherwise, great value!
Cons: Location is lovely right in Jack London square. Great view and lots to do in the area.
Location: Restaurants, movie theater, jazz workshop, ferry to SF