Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, Ca

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Bed was comfy, sheets were soft, view was awesome, but we wished room service was open after 9pm. Otherwise it was a great visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa rosa, ca

Back to Oakland

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: It was so convenient to downtown. We walked around Lake Merritt, viewed the old architecture of Oakland and visited some really fun bars
Cons: We were there on a holiday, MLK's birthday and a lot of the Jack London Center shops were closed. They don't seem like they cater to tourists.
Location: Walk Lake Merritt, view architecture, go to the Oakland Museum. Play Bocce at Mark Westing pub on Telegraph. See a show at the beautiful Fox Theatre
I only live 50 miles from Oakland but decided to make a mini-vacation on the day before and after the Van Morrison concert at the Fox Theater. We arrived during an badly needed El Nino rain storm. The Waterfront Hotel in right in Jack London Square and right next to the bay or estuary to the bay. Upon arrival we had the valet park our car and never used it again until departure. The hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere within a 5 mile radius. Also the city of Oakland has a free shuttle that is only a couple blocks walking distance from the front door. The staff, from the valet parking attendant to the front desk, to the lady that cleans the rooms were genuinely warm and friendly. The playoff game between Denver and Pittsburgh was on the TV at the bar downstairs, Lungemare and it was happy hour. Once again, friendly people, and a good deal on the happy hour menu. We had a Lagunitas draft beer for $4.00. The rooms were comfortable and clean although in our room I noticed that the carpet was becoming worn from vacuuming as it showed a washboard effect of wrinkles. Not a big deal, but they might want to have a look (room 352). The only negative, for some people, might be the fact that the hotel is right next to the train tract and a busy track it is. Trains go by at least every hour and they all sound their horns to warn Broadway traffic of their approach. I found it sort of charming and slept through it the second night. I would go back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Good location, close to movie theater, good restaurants, shopping and more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Good hotel, excellent location, will stay again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

At the waters edge and close to Downtown

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Location. The FREE shuttle service was a real life saver! Free in room Wifi with ports/chargers etc.
Cons: Some of the walls/doors look a bit....tired. Time for some fresh paint.
The Staff was warm, friendly and accommodating! The Valet staff went above and beyond for me, I so appreciated it. I needed my breakfast delivered to my room @ 7 am sharp, due to my schedule and they arrived @ 7 am on the dot! Very impressed!! Although the facility is not "like new" it is clean and very comfortable. As a women traveling alone, I felt safe.....I feel comfortable recommending this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Location was convenient for our purposes. Staff were friendly. Room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The staff was excellent. The location was perfect for our needs. The only negative I would say is the bathrooms are a bit dated. Everything was clean and the staff could not have been more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Overall good, only thing was that our alarm went off because for taking a hot shower !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location - rooms just ok

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Location/lobby great - rooms need a facelift, as they are rough around the edges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

On Jack London Square

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The room was rather large and had a view of both the square and water. Check-in was very easy. Upon arrival, the room was clean and orderly.
Cons: Maid service did not clean the room on Saturday. The bathroom needs updating - had forgotten how low the toilets were in the 80s/90s.
Location: Jack London has several restaurants and lounges. China town is within blocks. To Alameda it is a 15 minute drive. Fat Lady for Sunday breakfast.
We stayed in a suite on Friday, Saturday night. The hotel is in an ideal location if one wishes to visit Jack London Square or Alameda. It was surprising that the hotel is only a few hundred feet from the train tracks but they sound proofed the room quite well. The suite was above the restaurant. This meant that there live music until around 10pm. Surprise, no room service after 9pm. This would not be a hotel for a business traveler.