Ratings based on 1,555 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Waterfront

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Not opulent but setting is beautiful. Ferry out back door 40 minutes to San Francisco fisherman's wharf. Farmers market on weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Noise from the square is mitigated by double windows and packets of earplugs in the bathroom!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks for your review of The Waterfront Hotel. We're happy to hear our insulated windows and ear plugs did the trick. Come back and stay with us again when you're in town. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Tired interior Parking was a

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Great Oakland location lots of things to do within walking distance. Stuff was great. Wifi kept lapsing decor and hallways are over do for renovation. Parking was a hastle. Woild stay again.......................
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks so much for staying with us and for your review of our hotel. We are actually in the middle of updating our hallways, lobby and rooms. We anticipate the work to be completed over the next few months. Please come back and see us again. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Acampo, CA

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was very clean with comfortable bed and pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Pam, Thanks for your review of our hotel and for staying with us. We hope to see you soon when you're in the Bay Area. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice hotel close to the water front and restaurant

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: pet friendly,very clean and close to everything we needed.
Cons: ...not sure if that can be controlled/noise level of guest coming and going. I think this may have been a rare case. A wedding party was near by.
Location: Jack London/Oak-food,drinks, the Marina to walk your dog or just take a nice walk. Other restaurants and bars if you desire. They have a Bowling too.
The Hotel staff were friendly and,professional. The only down side was the noise of our neighbor, which kept our small dogs anxious. Other than that I would stay again, love that they allowing pets, have room service and friendly staff! Close to a ton of new restaurants, and other cool thing to do/ Bowling and night life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear L, Thanks for your amazing review of The Waterfront Hotel. We're so happy you let us take care of you and enjoyed your experience with us. I'll pass your comments along to our team as their #1 goal is to make sure all of our guests have memorable experiences. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Chris
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Not worth it

Posted Mar 14, 2017
There isn't to many options that are specifically in Oakland so we gave the waterfront a shot .... decor is dated the ceiling in room 453 looks like either someone had a fire in there or there is a bunch of black smufmdges directly above the couch , made it feel extremely dirty . Bed and pillows extremely uncomfortable, walls are incredibly thin .We woke up to the people above us blaring music and after asking front desk to have them turn it down and still hearing it while trying to sleep made us pack our stuff up and head home . I work in the hospitality industry and this hotel was far from expectations... extremely disappointed and waste of money .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Ajs, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I would like to personally apologize on behalf of our team that we did not meet your expectations. I have passed your comments along to my team so that we can improve our response to noise complaints when they are brought to our attention. Thank you for staying with us and giving us a try. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The hotel is located right on the water at Jack London Square in Oakland. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to others visiting Oakland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for your 5 Star review of our hotel. It's always nice when the hard work of our team is recognized by our guests. They take great pride in providing each guest memorable experiences. Please come back and stay with us when you're in the Bay Area. All the best, Chris
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to the wedding venue we went to

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: We liked our room. The room had a small private balcony that you could use. It rained but we could still people watch and the view was still nice.
Location: The location was Oakland ca and Jack London square. On Sunday morning there was a farmer's market. Plenty of restaurants .
We stayed two nights and walking distance to retail and restaurants. Close to a railway station. We went to a wedding across the bay and it was very convenient. This was the hotel the wedding party suggested but my husband and I are planning to return for a vacation. The staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Best area to walk around

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Nice clean hotel. Beautiful view if get ocean view with balcony. If you have a car parking is a expensive valet $30 a day
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear beeny, Thanks for your review of our hotel. We loved having you stay us and are thrilled you had a memorable experience. Please come back and see us again when you're in the area. All the best, Chris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It is a decent hotel, the restaurant is amazing, truly best quality food, u can hear the train, so be prepared for some noise!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We'll see you when you're in town next time. All the best, Chris