Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff were not very welcoming or professional and came across really rude. I would not recommend this motel to my friends or family. Would not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017
Hi Liam We are now a New motel. We would love you to have you stay here at the Ascot and change your mind and opinion on us. We were not the owners here when you stayed and understand why you would leave a review like this. When we got here the place was run down and since have started a full motel renovation. Regards The Ascot Oamaru Motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Wotif
It is impossible to comment on any of this as on arrival we were told that we had made no booking. After a brief conversation we left as they were full and had to find another motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Good restaurant next door. Studio room clean and tidy. Good heating with heat pump for winter nights. Staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thanks you for your review. Sorry on the late reply. Glad to see you had an enjoyable stay. We have since renovated and can promise an even more enjoyable stay should you choose to come back. Thanks again The ascot Oamaru motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Stop over

Posted Jul 9, 2016
The check in process was arduous. Having a restaurant on site was fabulous. In general it seemed fairly expensive for the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Would love you to come back and stay in our new renovated rooms. I think you will find them very well priced. Sorry about the check in process as when you stayed it was still under the old lease owner. And we are now under new management. Hence the new name Ascot Oamaru Motel. Would love have you back to experience the changes. And meet our friendly new team of staff that wish to make your stay as enjoyable as possible :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Handy to town

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Bathroom and cooking facilities
Location: On main road but still close to town
Suprisingly quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful and when asked to change room for a bath and something to heat food in, were very obliging. Reasonably priced However having vinyl on the walls while old fashioned is fine, where it meets the bath, it has lifted and mould can be seen etc. Time to upgrade to paint, hardiglaze or tiles. Otherwise, great bed, nice lounge, very roomy and appreciated being able to take our small dog. Would have liked some facilites to coook on though. Overall, pretty good and would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Hilary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by shaun from dunedin

quick get a way

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
great stay no issues whatsoever
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable motel unit at a reasonable price

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was reasonably priced and comfortable to stay in.
Cons: The water services are a little noisy when the toilet is flushed when others are sleeping.
Location: Some distance from the town center, but has a very nice restaurant adjoining it, so no need to return to town for a meal.
A very nice overnight stay.Clean and comfortable. Would recommend to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Photos do not match the rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Wotif
Our room was a completely different room than the modern airy room photos on this website. It was dated and ugly, circa 1979. We were so disappointed as we hardly go away at all, and were so looking forward to a couple of days at the lovely motel rooms that were pictured. It was extremely noisy as the bed was right by the door, with a foreign tour bus right outside chattering and clattering late at night and early in the morning. The bed was a roll-together special, pushed in the corner with no beside table or cabinet and no power point. Very disappointed.