Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Great location and price. Room small but perfect for an overnight stay. Shower and bed excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Good location, room was a little on the small side but clean & comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Ole' Wallis, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your time to review us. We are glad you enjoy our good location, cleanliness, and had a comfortable stay. However, the room you booked was our "Compact" Studio (which is self-described already). This room has been designed to help reducing the carbon footprint to NZ environment, and suitable more for a short stay. This is part of Bella Vista Accommodation's commitment to contribute toward keeping the 100% Pure NZ strategy. Though, we would love to host you again on your next re-visit to Oamaru, perhaps, in our Superior Studio instead. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient location

Posted Dec 26, 2017
The hotel is located a half hour drive from Moeraki Boulders. The rooms are clean but small, as is typical for Bella Vista hotels. There are several restaurants close to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Ole', Hotel Management
Hello Ksaw, Thanks for your time to review us. You are right, Moeraki Boulders are in Waitaki and only 30 mins drive from Oamaru. Our motel situated prominently right in the central area of Oamaru, where it is close to most tourist attractions, eateries, shops, and supermarket. And we glad that you like to stay with Bella Vista, unfortunately, we do not have any in Alexandra as you asked.......yet. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Dec 19, 2017
worst bed ever two people have trouble moving around in it compact is smaller than some wiw
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Ole' Wallis, Hotel Management
Hi Helen, Thank you for your feedback and we are sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, you have chosen to book our smallest size room that has the floor space shown clearly to you prior to your booking already. Should you have let us know on checking in, we might be able to offer you a bigger room (if available). Our Compact Studio has been designed to help reduce carbon footprint for one-night stay guest, to keep as less impact to our beautiful environment as possible. It is aimed for guest that tend to spend their time exploring our town and attractions, rather than staying in the room. Hence why, the space has been catered to this idea. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

convenient location for the function I came for

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: convenient Wi-Fi useful
Cons: TV channels not suitable or reception not clear
Location: I wasn't here for "activities" but was convenient for the meeting I was attending
Chosen because of location & availability of room at a busy weekend. It met my expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you very for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Wotif
Perfect space, quiet, comfortable, easy. Can't ask for much more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you Mike for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future :)
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Lovely stay

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
We loved Oamuro. Such a pretty town. Our hitel was in a good location n was very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017
Thank you very much Cheryl for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whakatane NZ

my error

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Great location, clean and tidy, great staff
Cons: No improve ts required as it ticked all our boxes
Location: Central location, Friendly people Lovely town with all the nessessary services Penguins, steam punk museum, Good restaurants
I booked a room on line and booked the wrong date, so when I went to check in there was no reservation for my wife and I. The motetior checked and found I had booked for the following week. With a very helpful motelior found a room for us and all was great. Many thanks to a very enjoyable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Ole', Hotel Management
Hi John, Thank you for your feedback. We were a little panic when that happened too! Gladly, we managed to be able to find a comfortable room for you for the night. We hope to see you two back in Oamaru some time in the future :) Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Central location, comfortable room

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Not much really
Location: Lots take away food options next door to McDonalds, opposite Dominos & Chinese take away as well as liquor shop.
Smaller in size but close to take away food establishments & town. Walk to penguins 1 1/2 hours return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you Chris for your feedback. We are lucky to be in such a prominent location handy to all essential in town, plus being the nearest motel to the Blue Penguin Colony, etc. We look forward to seeing you back again sometime in the future. Regards,
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Oamaru

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
an amazing town , a visit to steampunk, well worth it, and historic original township, well worth a look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you Douglas for your feedback. We look forward to see you back sometime in the future. Regards, Ole'