Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and warm

Posted Apr 16, 2018
All amenities were fine but the room was very small. Nowhere to have a suitcase accessible. Travelling required bags coats etc but these had to be quickly put in a cupboard to make room to move around. Only a microwave for cooking. It was all just too cramped. We won't stay here again Older motels that we have stayed with in the last week are far more spacious for the same tariff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Bella Vista Oamaru was built in the wake of the global climate change issue, with the aim to help reducing carbon footprint and to support the 100% Pure NZ campaign. The older motel might be more specious, but, as you mentioned, they are old. The room you book called Compact Studio, which stated clearly on the site that they are 16sq.m. And only microwave, kettle, toaster, Nescafe coffee machine in the kitchen area. Should you wish to stay in a bigger room, perhaps, you may like to book our larger studio in the future. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room too small

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Clean
Cons: see comments above
I have now booked Belle Vista on 4 occasions in different places over the last 12 months or so & each time have been allocated the smallest room under the stairs. Certainly not enough room for 2 of us. It would appear that is the standard Expedia room and in the future will avoid Belle Vista
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by Ole, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thank you for your feedback and staying with many Bella Vistas. Unfortunately, the Compact Studio you booked is the cheapest and smallest size room. This room type has been designed and named for specific reason. However, we are glad to see that you have enjoyed Bella Vista's standard and stayed with 4 of us. Perhaps, you may like to try other different room types which are of different sizes on your next visit? Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but had everything we needed.

Posted Mar 26, 2018
This place was as they said exceptionally clean and everything we needed just a little bit small but we were not disappointed The host gave us excellent advice where to eat and we were lucky enough to be able to walk to a jazz and blues festival that weekend. It couldn’t of been Timed more perfectly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Ole, Hotel Management
Thank you very for your feedback. We glad you loves our little town and enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very small rooms not comfortable.

Posted Mar 12, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: Very little
Cons: Time for an internal upgrade.
Location: Location was good. Motel is close to the shopping centre and within easy walking distance to the Art section of town.
Very small rooms, not very comfortable. Internals need updating. No dining or hat breakfasts. Position in town is good and the motel is in easy walking distance of the town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Ole, Hotel Management
Hello William, Thank you for your feedback. The room you have booked is called Compact Studio to cater for a one night stay guest to enable us to help reducing the carbon footprint as to promote the Pure 100% NZ campaign. Hence why it is the lowest rate room type. We do also have the other room types which are larger in size, in which he hope you may like to try them in the future. Having said that, the smaller size rooms are also equipped with lots of facilities for your stay e.g. free and unlimited wi-fi, free parking, Nescafe Coffee Machine, in-built USB charger, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austraila

Posted Mar 5, 2018 on Wotif
Have stayed in other Bella vistas and found all rate rather well will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by Ole, Hotel Management
Many thanks Bob and Edna, we look forward to seeing you again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you Richard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Tiny rooms

Posted Feb 28, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: It had a vacancy.
Cons: Don't try to be a holiday flat when the rooms are so small.
Location: Just passing through.
The room was so small there was not enough space for one suitcase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Hi Chris, The room you booked was the Compact Studio. It is a room environmentally designed as part of the 100% PURE NZ campaign, in effort to help reduce the carbon footprint at a 16sqm floor space (as stated on the website), and recommended for a single night stay at the lowest possible rate. With this room type being the lowest nightly rate, hence why, it is one of our best selling room type. Also, we glad that you were able to secure a room over this extremely busy season where the whole South Island was fully booked out. If you wish to have a bigger room, perhaps you may book our Superior Studio or even a One Bedroom Apartment for your next stay. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Great location and price. Room small but perfect for an overnight stay. Shower and bed excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dependable Chain Motel

Posted Jan 28, 2018 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful host; decent, clean, but very small room. There was a fridge, a toaster, a microwave and a teapot, so we did all right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2018 by Ole', Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we glad you enjoyed our facilities which are also including Nescafe' coffee machine and unlimited wi-fi internet too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2018 on Wotif
Great location close to town. Lovely owner and staff very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Ole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back