Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great value for money

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Grounds and pool, hillside location. Great price.
Cons: Toilet flushing
Location: 20 minute walk to town centre, or $ 4 dollar cab ride.
We stayed there late January 2017 for 11 nights. We knew that the hotel was on the edge of the historic center area of Oaxaca. It is likely the only hotel near the center that has extensive grounds, unlike most other hotels. Because it is situated on a hillside it has expansive views of the city, and traffic noise is minimal. The room was basic but comfortable. The toilet did not flush well, usually took several flushes. Wi-fi was very good. The bar and restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced. The waiters were very professional and friendly, putting up with our limited Spanish. The pool area was wonderful, but they seemed to be hesitant to put out lounge chairs there in addition to regular chairs. It did not feel like high season as there did not seem to be a lot of customers. We walked into town every day, took about 20 minutes through very interesting and pleasant neighborhoods. Never did get around to taking the hotel shuttle into town. In general we found that the hotel and everything else in the city was very inexpensive. Really enjoyed our stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Nice staff and nice place

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Everything was very good, the staff, the place, the ammenities. The only thing I would like to vomment about is the cleanliness of the standard bedrooms. They are exactly as shown in pictures, but there was dust on the table and night stands. Also the shower had tartar. It needs an urgent cleaning with "tartar removal liquid". Also, there was a quite bad smell in the bathroom but I read it was due to the sewer system in Oaxaca.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View, Pool, Peace and quiet

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It is not a guesthouse in the center but rather a full service hotel within a 10 min ride into the center of town. They do offer a shuttle into town but the taxi fare was only $3.00. After busy sightseeing we returned to pool, peace, and quiet. We had a " JR Suite " with a balcony. Less expensive " Standard " will get you the same view without a balcony. Food here is good and safe so enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best experience ever.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Downtown is about 7min from the hotel, but they have free transportation service in the mornings and evenings.
All the place is very clean, the staff members are awesome. We had a great vacations and part of it was because this Hotel. Ask for a room with a city view. we highly recomend The suit room, it is the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, great views and great price

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
After a long bus ride from Huautla, my girlfriend and I were looking to stay in a quiet but affordable place in or near the central part of Oaxaca City this past weekend. Hotel Victoria met all of our expectations. The staff was very helpful and prepared our room 2 hours before check-in. The room had huge and comfortable king size bed with a great view of the city and a nice breeze. The outdoor landscaping was very well with a huge pool and lounge chairs. The only suggestion is better lighting at night in/around pool area. All in all, great place to stay and highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by Chad from Austin, Texas

Nice hotel looking down on Oaxaca City

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overall nice hotel. Staff was great in taking care of our travel needs around the city. Had a private driver at a very inexpensive rate to get around town and outside of the town. Good size rooms and decent internet considering interior Mexico. It was nice to be up on the hill looking down on the city as well.
4 out of 5
by John from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

wonderful with small complaints

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We upgraded to a room with a valley view and it was definitely worth it. The English offerings on the TV are non-existent, but that's not why you're in Oaxaca. Wifi is marginal at best. But that's the only complaints...everything else was fabulous and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding hotel just overlooking city

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Orbitz
I just returned from a weekend stay at the Victoria Hotel and was very pleased with my choice. The staff, restaurant and services were excellent. My only concern would be access for those needing a wheelchair as there is not an elevator and the site of the hotel is sprawled out over a hillside overlooking the town ( great views from many rooms, the pool!, the bar). I will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice views. Good location. Pool is not heated, too cold to swim in.