Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds, nice pool.
Cons: Pillows
Location: Walk to the central plaza was nice, cab back reasonable. Drive to the Artesan villages was easy.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good. Cabbing to the centre was the best way to go as the traffic and roads re u5terly confusing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Beautiful view of the city!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The view was fabulous, as was the pool (if a little cold). Lovely grounds
Cons: Would be great if the shuttle started earlier in the morning - first run not till 10am, so if you like to start early, you have to walk/taxi into town
Location: Loved Oaxaca city and the surrounding artisan towns!
Hotel staff was friendly & helpful. We spent 1 week with 3 kids in adjoining rooms. Rooms were spacious. Bathrooms could use a facelift as they are a bit grotty, and the shower head was broken so half the water poured in through the ceiling. Because we have 3 kids we were travelling back and forth between hotel and town quite a bit when they got tired, so it would have suited us better to be in the centre of town. We worked it out with the shuttle and quite a bit of taxi trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great value for money

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Grounds and pool, hillside location. Great price.
Cons: Toilet flushing
Location: 20 minute walk to town centre, or $ 4 dollar cab ride.
We stayed there late January 2017 for 11 nights. We knew that the hotel was on the edge of the historic center area of Oaxaca. It is likely the only hotel near the center that has extensive grounds, unlike most other hotels. Because it is situated on a hillside it has expansive views of the city, and traffic noise is minimal. The room was basic but comfortable. The toilet did not flush well, usually took several flushes. Wi-fi was very good. The bar and restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced. The waiters were very professional and friendly, putting up with our limited Spanish. The pool area was wonderful, but they seemed to be hesitant to put out lounge chairs there in addition to regular chairs. It did not feel like high season as there did not seem to be a lot of customers. We walked into town every day, took about 20 minutes through very interesting and pleasant neighborhoods. Never did get around to taking the hotel shuttle into town. In general we found that the hotel and everything else in the city was very inexpensive. Really enjoyed our stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Nice staff and nice place

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Everything was very good, the staff, the place, the ammenities. The only thing I would like to vomment about is the cleanliness of the standard bedrooms. They are exactly as shown in pictures, but there was dust on the table and night stands. Also the shower had tartar. It needs an urgent cleaning with "tartar removal liquid". Also, there was a quite bad smell in the bathroom but I read it was due to the sewer system in Oaxaca.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great to be away from city center but only a short cab or hotel van ride away. Oaxaca is really, really a wonderful destination! Oaxaca is the culinary capitol of Mexico. Home of mole and mescal. Even the best room service hot dogs ever. 2 bacon wrapped grilled served with fries delivered hot for less than $4.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View, Pool, Peace and quiet

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It is not a guesthouse in the center but rather a full service hotel within a 10 min ride into the center of town. They do offer a shuttle into town but the taxi fare was only $3.00. After busy sightseeing we returned to pool, peace, and quiet. We had a " JR Suite " with a balcony. Less expensive " Standard " will get you the same view without a balcony. Food here is good and safe so enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best experience ever.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Downtown is about 7min from the hotel, but they have free transportation service in the mornings and evenings.
All the place is very clean, the staff members are awesome. We had a great vacations and part of it was because this Hotel. Ask for a room with a city view. we highly recomend The suit room, it is the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, great views and great price

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
After a long bus ride from Huautla, my girlfriend and I were looking to stay in a quiet but affordable place in or near the central part of Oaxaca City this past weekend. Hotel Victoria met all of our expectations. The staff was very helpful and prepared our room 2 hours before check-in. The room had huge and comfortable king size bed with a great view of the city and a nice breeze. The outdoor landscaping was very well with a huge pool and lounge chairs. The only suggestion is better lighting at night in/around pool area. All in all, great place to stay and highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by Chad from Austin, Texas

Nice hotel looking down on Oaxaca City

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overall nice hotel. Staff was great in taking care of our travel needs around the city. Had a private driver at a very inexpensive rate to get around town and outside of the town. Good size rooms and decent internet considering interior Mexico. It was nice to be up on the hill looking down on the city as well.
4 out of 5
by John from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

wonderful with small complaints

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We upgraded to a room with a valley view and it was definitely worth it. The English offerings on the TV are non-existent, but that's not why you're in Oaxaca. Wifi is marginal at best. But that's the only complaints...everything else was fabulous and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.