Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Joe

Oaxaca 2017

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Nice stay at Villa Oaxaca...Great Breakfast and opportunity to meet new people
5 out of 5
by jonina

Perfect

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful, knowledgeable, warm & friendly hosts. Incredible breakfasts. Very beautiful house & grounds.
4 out of 5
by GEN TZE from Sao Paulo - Brazil

Nice house - Oaxaca

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
It is a B&B, the local is far from centre of Oaxaca, however they can arrange the pick up at your arrival. Taxi to zocalo is $60 pesos. The breakfast is good, and the hot chocolate excellent; the family is nice, the local is well decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great way to experience Oaxaca in comfort

Posted Aug 27, 2015
This was a very nice hotel, although it felt more like a bed and breakfast as it is located in the family's house. There is the main home where the family that owns the place lives (that also includes some rooms) and there are separate buildings that house the remaining rooms. Our room was enormous: even though there were just two of us, we had a queen sized and full-sized bed all to ourselves. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was very nice as well. They offer a solar-warmed pool that was nice to swim in after a long day of sightseeing. Perhaps one of the greatest draws was the authentic, delicious, and filling Oaxacan breakfasts, complete with yogurt and granola, Oaxacan hot chocolate, and everything from tamales to tasajo (thin, grilled beef). The family that owns a place, a married couple and their daughter, were very pleasant and affable; they clearly enjoy sharing their home with others. The only major drawback: it is located in the nicer part of town, which means that it is much further away from el centro, where many of the activities and nice restaurants are located. But it's major drawback can also be seen as an advantage: nestled in the hills away from the hustle and bustle of the city, it is very quiet and relaxing. Given the amenities we received and the price we paid, I would definitely recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very private hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The overall intimate atmosphere.
Cons: If there is anything that can be improved is the timely availability of hot water. It takes a while to start flowing.
My wife and I spent 8 days at Villa Oaxaca. From day 1, we felt very welcome. Our The breakfast room was big and comfortable. An adjacent terrace with a view of the city let us wind down after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast was included and it was always a surprise. For example, one day we had "memelitas" and another day we had "tamales oaxaquenos". Breakfast is accompanied by fruit, coffee and orange juice. The owners were always available and they went out of their way to give us advice on how to best enjoy Oaxaca. Senor Juan- the owner, an authority in Oaxacan history and culture, shared generously his knowledge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B and B with very friendly owners

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Large room and plentiful breakfast.
Cons: Hot water was sporadic especially in the morning. Shower needed updating.
Location: Too far from town and very difficult to find. taxis were cheap but they also had difficulty finding the hotel.
Further from town than we were expecting and the pool was less inviting than we imagined. For us we would have preferred to have been more central but the owners were charming and made up for any shortcomings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Lovely hotel set just outside downtown area.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
We stayed at Villa Oaxaca for one night. This is a B&B that is set on a hill the overlooks the city. Our room was comfortable and pleasant. They served a fantastic breakfast - memelitas with pasta de frijol and quesillo, tomatillo salsa, delicious fresh fruit and homemade granola. We had a discussion with the owners about the history and ecology of oaxaca and they were quite helpful in orienting us on the travel logistics for the rest of our journey.
5 out of 5
by jackie from california

AAA PLUS

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful property, lovely owners, great room, excellent food!
5 out of 5
by Nora Cody from Oakland, CA

Lovely, welcoming second home in Oaxaca

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay in Villa Oaxaca. The tone for a visit was set when the owners' daughter Rebecca personally picked us up from the airport, free of charge. When we arrived at the Villa the owners greeted us with drinks and snacks, and welcomed us like friends. As other reviewers have said, the property is lovely and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Breakfast was set at a time of our choosing and was delicious and very graciously served each morning. We were very glad that we took them up on their offer to introduce us to their friend and neighbor Teresa, who is an art restorer and a wonderful tour guide for all of the local attractions. Seeing Monte Albans and other places of interest was much more meaningful with her guidance and explanations. We did not want to rent a car, but did not find this to be a problem – Villa Oaxaco will call a taxi for you and it is only about 10 minutes to the town, at a cost of 50 pesos or less than five dollars American. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Micheal from Tucson AZ

I was treated like a family member

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Big ,light rooms, beautiful setting, amazing service
Location: A little outside the city which meant it was quiet but a 5 min bus or taxi ride to the city center.
The Family that owns the hotel could not have been nicer, Even though I was 4 hours late they waited for me at the airport then fixed me a snack. I ate breakfast at their table each day and the food and company were both superb. I travel 300 days a year and have never had a better experience.