Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad place to stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
A quiet place to stay to explore the area with very friendly staff. Décor a little faded and the floorboards "squeak".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunblane

Nice hotel near Oban

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Lovely and quiet with amazing home cooked food with large portion s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

not usual

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The spirit
Cons: A lot but maybe the spirit will go away. Thus it is fun like this.
Location: Natur , space and peace Beautiful paysage 15 min from Oban
It is a kind of central meeting point for local folks The food is excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from taree

Basic hotel, used it as a base when sailing

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: It was quiet at night, a good thing, and great to be able to leave luggage for a couple of days
Cons: TVs need replacing, the hotel is old and basic .
Location: Nothing to do nearby, Oban is about 30 mins drive
We used the hotel as a base when going on a tall ship for a couple of days. The room was basic, two single beds, and a very old TV. Tea and coffee in the room, which was an advantage . Didn't order breakfast at £10 each. The staff were helpful with directions to laundry facilities close by. It's about 30 mins to Oban and nothing in the town apart from the hotel for eating places, so not terribly convenient , although we were able to leave baggage there when we went on the ship. Staff were friendly .
4 out of 5
by Frank from San Francisco

Business & vacation combo

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
A business trip, however the hotel & staff were just wonderful & the surrounding countryside superb, just perfect. Great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Passing through for work and it doesn't pretend to be something its not. Nice location. albeit a little remote, but did the job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful local experience!

Posted May 29, 2015
This was by far the favorite place we stayed on our 10 day trip to Scotland. I'll be honest: I was at first frustrated because it was listed on Expedia as being in Oban, but was actually a 30 minute drive out of our way. However, it ended up being well worth it. The hotel itself is very old with an even older attached pub. The room was fine - homey, but clean. No elevator (as was the case with most of the smaller hotels we stayed in). The best part of our stay was the pub and people. We went down to the pub for a drink after a tiring day. We ended up chatting with the locals and had such a great time. One of the locals brings his dog Patch to the bar who was so sweet and made it such a unique experience. A local was practicing the bagpipe elsewhere in the hotel and came in an played a couple impromptu songs. It was such a fun experience and we will always remember it! The bar does take credit cards and had a couple cask ales (which my husband hunted for our whole trip) and standard wine selections for me. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and quiet. I would highly recommend a stay to this hotel, WONDERFUL people!! The hotel did have breakfast and dinner available but we were not able to have either. Wifi not in room, but free downstairs in the pub and lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quaint, little hotel about 15miles past Oban.

Posted May 22, 2015
We arrived rather late due to late departure and hadn't realized hotel was past Oban. Dining room had closed and there were no other shops nearby. The proprietress whisked us up a tasty fish and chip meal in 10 minutes, which was much appreciated. The internet connection wasn't working very well but could be due to the location.
4 out of 5
by clive from Hull

Happy

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay, very friendly hotel good food and beer.
4 out of 5
by colin from Napier nz

on line booking

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable but to far out of town, hard to get to .