Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
It was off season which we were not told. However, we felt it wasn't that clean but our main complaint is that we felt we were an inconvenience to the owner's son. We had been there before at this same time of year and were treated very well. We probably wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of Charm in a Great Location

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The charming historic feel of the building and the owner, Sarah. She was very friendly and helpful.
Location: The Oban Distillery tour is worth fitting in. Our tour guide Kyla gave us a fantastic and interesting history of the whisky and more.
The Roseneath Guest House was an idyllic stay for my partner and I. There is a lot of charm in the old guest house and Sarah provides a good selection of choices for a delicious breakfast. The fantastic Oban distillery, restaurants and shops are just a short walk a way, making the location perfect for any tourist. It wasn't as spacious as we are used to but it was cozy and just what we needed while staying in the wonderful town of Oban.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibsons BC, Canada

Nice Little B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Sarah is a wonderful host. Room was on the 3rd floor of a walkup but it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the location was close to the town centre of Oban. We ate at the Olive Garden and thoroughly enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location with delightful views

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location within walking distance of town. AND the black oudding prepared by a local butcher was the best we've ever tasted!
Cons: With a full house the parking is tight.
Location: Oban really is rhis centre for lots of exploring and a lovely place to check out itself. We happened to arrive on the day of the Argylle Gathering.
Sarah was an attentive and extremely knowledgeable host. We had a room on the top floor with a mini-sitting room with arm chairs that looked out on the harbour and islands beyond. It was the perfect centre for getting cross to the isles ne for exploring local sights and Glencoe.
5 out of 5
by Sophie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

Oban my final port of call.

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Sarah was lovely from the first introductions to our hug when saying goodbye. Very efficient. Once the hill up to Roseneath was negotiated every thing was fine. The food was good and plentiful and the accommodation did was clean, cosy and I had no complaints. The location was only five minutes from town and 10 minutes to the train station on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Great food and views

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Ebookers
Great breakfast and very welcoming host. Accommodation very relaxed with nice homely touches. Lots of nationalities staying. Short walk to centre - Oban Fish and chip shop brilliant - lots to see and do. Views over to Mull from our room were brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view. Good location.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Owner helpful
Cons: The garden at the entrance to hotel needs cleaned (overgrown with weeds)
Location: Oban a nice town. Hotel very central for the town.
Not a bad experience. Slightly disappointing overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely and friendly

Posted Aug 26, 2017
nice cosy bnb with great breakfast would stayagain
5 out of 5
by Russell

Nice host and good location

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Good location - walking distance to shopping, food and McCaigs tower. The room was clean and had a nice sitting area. Breakfast was excellent. Sarah made me fresh eggs and potato scones. My husband said the pancakes were amazing. Sarah also provided us with great recommendations of things to see and do after our 3 island tour was cancelled because of the weather. We would definitely stay here again.