Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Easy access to town centre
Location: Lots of good restaurants nearby with a good variety of food. Short ferry trip to visit Mull and Iona
Good location with easy access to town centre and the ferry terminal. Good clean rooms and friendly staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the front.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It did not help that there was no car park.had to park on the street with time restrictions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Karen, Hotel Management
Hello, many hotels in Oban do not have their own car park. It does not say anywhere that we have our own car park. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Near water, but definately older facility

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Had an elevator. Nice lobby with lots of people hanging out.
Cons: Wi fi ONLY available in lobby. Hot water was limited.
Location: Oban distillery is 1 block away. Right on water. McCaig's Tower short 10 minte walk up hill. Lots of shopping and food service nearby.
One of few places we stayed with an elevator. Small room, but adequate for just sleeping. Breakfast was good. Lobby view of water was gorgeous, but room view was of trash heap behind building. Took a while to get hot water in the room. Paid parking across street, not hotel specific parking available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Karen, Hotel Management
Hello, the wifi has since been upgraded and is now available all over the hotel and sea view rooms are at an extra cost. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel is very tired and in need of care and mainte

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: location is fine but that is the only thing
we have stayed here before in the past we knew what s was like but it has failed even further it really does need some attention the breakfast was almost inedible as well
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

In need of update

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location and great views
Cons: Decorate and repair
Great location, lovely staff, but rooms in dire need of update.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Liz, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, We appreciate you staying with us. Thank you for your nice review. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Great location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Hotel in a very central location. We were able to park easily on the street in front of the hotel ..parking is free from 6pm-9am. It is exactly what is described
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Amazing location with stunning views

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Views from the hotel are stunning
Cons: Service has to be improved. The breakfast was till 9:30am, yet even after we reached at 9:00am, most of the food was over and not refilled.
Location: The high street, Beach, cruise, Pulpit hill, Dunollie Castle
The hotel is very well located and has the stunning views of Oban sea. It is close to the main areas and getting around was very easy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay in Oban we've had!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: View would have been nice if we could see out of window which wasn't clean and had condensation on inside.Too dangerous to leave open.
Cons: Knock it down and start again.
Location: Oban is lovely.
Hotel tired and very unwelcoming, room tiny, window safety latch broken, therefore, a small child could have fallen out of window (we were on 5th floor!). Shower door fell off while I was in shower! Not value for money, quite frankly a rip off at over £100 per night. Did mention to staff upon leaving but got very little feedback.
3 out of 5
by James

Tired hotel.

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
A single room scenario where you look onto a back alley with bins.Old metal window which didn't close properly. Bathroom window with clear glass and overlooked by other houses so the blind had to be permanently down.Small tv at opposite end of room. Couldn't get wifi even in reception. The breakfast was good and friendly staff.Very little info in room about mealtimes etc .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Mattress was uncomfortable and it was very noisy which made for a rough night with little sleep.