Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a beautiful area

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: It was clean, attractive and comfortable.
Cons: Perhaps the shower might have a proper mixer tap?
Location: We were travelling through the area but drove around a little before moving on - it is a beautiful area with stunning scenery.
This pretty hotel is in traditional German style - the room we stayed in was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast served on the terrace was very good. The local area is beautiful. I would very happily re-visit this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely Hotel just what we wanted. Nice friendly staff and great food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

First class hotel with great staff

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: People, food, and location.
The hotel was clean and neat. Staff very friendly, helpful, and professional. Great breakfast, and superior restaurant for dinner. Overall excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok older hotel; let's call it charming

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: quiet
Cons: hard to say; there is not must that can be improved and most people who like this type of hotel would not like it to change. it's a getaway place.
Location: ruins du Schauenburg was nice. a ruined so there is no entry fee, not many folks, just a cool old castle that has most of the structure left.
it's an older hotel, so there is some charm there. it's got radiant heaters not forced air flow so the room temp can be finicky. it was dark in the rooms, poor lighting and a small window. again, it's an older hotel. it's very quiet which is nice. the wifi was ok, not terrible not great. the best thing going was the proximity to the castle ruins (ruins du Schauenburg) nearby. it was just right up the side street for the hotel. free parking was a nice benefit. breakfast was good. lots of choices of typical european breakfast with breads fruits, grains, cereals, eggs, meats etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in historischem Gewand

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Die oben beschriebene oroginelle Ausstattung.
Cons: Das gesamte Personal besser schulen, damit solche Ausrutscher nie mehr passieren.
Location: Im Zentrum des kleinen Ortes Oberkirch. Die Winzergenossenschaft mit Verkauf ist in der Nähe( Tipp für den Nachhauseweg, wenn man mit dem Auto da ist)
Der Vogesenflügel z.B. in Fachwerkstil und innen hübsche Möbel mit gedrechselten Bettenaufsätzen. Im Bad auf Alt gemachte französische Armaturen( chaud/froid) und originelle Kacheln. Das Frühstück entsprach dem Standard eines 4-Sterne-Hotels. Wenn man wie ich nicht von den sehr freundlichen Eigentümern empfangen wird, kann es schon sehr seltsam sein, wenn man von der sich offenbar gestört fühlenden jungen Dame an der Rezeption nicht gegrüßt wird und monoton runtergespult wird, dass die Adresse auf dem Anmeldebogen fehle, das Frühstück in diesem Raum stattfinde und ob man noch einen Wlan-Schlüssel wolle. Es war wohl ein Ausrutscher, denn nachdem ich mich bei der Chefin am nächsten Morgen beschwert hatte, war diese sehr dankbar für den Hinweis.
4 out of 5
by Andreas from Oberwil BL

Kurze Auszeit in nettem Hotel mit guter Küche

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Wunderschönes Hotel im Riegelhaus-Stil. Die Zimmer sind jedoch nicht mehr auf dem neuesten Stand, aber recht gemütlich und praktisch eingerichtet. Besonders gefallen hat uns das blau-weiss gehaltene Badezimmer mit den altmodischen Armaturen. Ein Negativpunkt sind die brandneuen Matratzen, welche einfach viel zu hart sind. Nachdem wir die erste Nacht fast nicht schlafen konnten - auf dem Rücken liegend knapp erträglich, Seitenlage ging gar nicht - konnten wir am nächsten Tag - dank dem super netten und hilfsbereiten Personal - in ein Zimmer mit alten Matratzen wechseln. Die zweite Nacht war dann sehr erholsam. Besonders erwähnen möchten wir noch das tolle Restaurant mit leckerer Küche und ganz herzlicher Bedienung.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Black Forest area

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
This was a nice hotel located in the middle of a cute town in the Black Forest area. The room was large and the hotel staff were very friendly. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff even made us bacon and eggs on the spot! My only complaint is that the beds/pillows were not very comfortable. Other than that it was a great stay!
5 out of 5
by Eric M. from Colorado Springs

Charming!

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
The most charming hotel at which I have ever stayed.