Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a beautiful area

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: It was clean, attractive and comfortable.
Cons: Perhaps the shower might have a proper mixer tap?
Location: We were travelling through the area but drove around a little before moving on - it is a beautiful area with stunning scenery.
This pretty hotel is in traditional German style - the room we stayed in was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast served on the terrace was very good. The local area is beautiful. I would very happily re-visit this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely Hotel just what we wanted. Nice friendly staff and great food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

First class hotel with great staff

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: People, food, and location.
The hotel was clean and neat. Staff very friendly, helpful, and professional. Great breakfast, and superior restaurant for dinner. Overall excellent hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ok older hotel; let's call it charming

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: quiet
Cons: hard to say; there is not must that can be improved and most people who like this type of hotel would not like it to change. it's a getaway place.
Location: ruins du Schauenburg was nice. a ruined so there is no entry fee, not many folks, just a cool old castle that has most of the structure left.
it's an older hotel, so there is some charm there. it's got radiant heaters not forced air flow so the room temp can be finicky. it was dark in the rooms, poor lighting and a small window. again, it's an older hotel. it's very quiet which is nice. the wifi was ok, not terrible not great. the best thing going was the proximity to the castle ruins (ruins du Schauenburg) nearby. it was just right up the side street for the hotel. free parking was a nice benefit. breakfast was good. lots of choices of typical european breakfast with breads fruits, grains, cereals, eggs, meats etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Black Forest area

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
This was a nice hotel located in the middle of a cute town in the Black Forest area. The room was large and the hotel staff were very friendly. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff even made us bacon and eggs on the spot! My only complaint is that the beds/pillows were not very comfortable. Other than that it was a great stay!
5 out of 5
by Eric M. from Colorado Springs

Charming!

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
The most charming hotel at which I have ever stayed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Great breakfast. We will come back.
5 out of 5
by Leon53 from Australia

Sumptuous buffet breakfast

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Obere Linde is close to perfect. My room was very large, with a comfortable sitting area as well as twin beds, and a lovely view onto the garden at the back of the hotel. Free wifi was provided. A Guest card provided free local transport, and various other discounts were available. I enjoyed dinner on three nights, with an appetising range of dishes to choose from, at reasonable prices. There are good wines available by the glass. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had, with many choices of juice, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, breads, cold meats, cheeses, eggs and excellent coffee. The staff are attentive and friendly. Oberkirch is a lovely town, well situated for day trips in the Black Forest. My only quibble: the shower is over the bathtub, so people with reduced mobility may find this difficult.
5 out of 5
by ANFRA from Sarnia

Excellent hotel,restaurent and service

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay very much,Good hotel facilities.excellent restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff..Certainly hope to visit again.Very impressed with the linguistic skills of the lady owner and staff.