Ratings based on 964 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The big apple

Shouldn't be a 5 star

Posted Jan 29, 2018
This hotel does not deserve to be called a 5 star. Although I had a good stay, they need a major upgrade to call themselves a 5 star. I booked a suit with king bed however the mattress is sagging and killed my back. Towles given in the hotel have seen much better days. Elevators ding all night, also sounds like it's dying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Gabor Nemes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We are happy to read that you had a good stay but also please accept our deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have a second chance to welcome you back to our Hotel. With warm regards, Gabor Nemes General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A low cost 5* hotel, far from the centre

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Low cost 5* hotel, with below standards restaurant and breakfast, yet 5* hotel bar prices. Cold temperature common areas. Expensive car parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Timea Besze, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Kon, First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the restaurant and breakfast and the temperature and car parking. We sorry for the experiences. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Gábor Nemes General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Hotel is not 5 star anymore. Old, outdated equipment, badly functioning, dirty, used carpets in corridors, outdated swimming pool with old equipment, wrong service in the reception, poor room service, problems with parking gates and keys to the room. Hotel generally is kept clean, but need desperately renovation and refurbishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Gábor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Roman, Thank you for choosing us and for your time to write this feedback. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our Hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay regarding our service at the reception, room service and issue with the parking. We will make sure to make improvements in the future so that such problems will never happen again. In the hope of hearing from you soon, We remain with our best regards, Gábor Nemes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to trains

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Just a nice place to stay. Convenient to everything you need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Timi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our Hotel, we are very happy that we could provide a positive guest experience for you, and that you were satisfied with the hotel. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not a 5 star

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Looks lovely when you arrive. The room was fairly basic, twin beds not even joined fully and no pillow or mattress protectors. The bathroom needed a thorough clean of the grout and sealants. Obvious that the housekeeping are given no where near enough time to keep the rooms to the same high standard like the lobby and bar areas. The website advertised a “happy hour” in the river bar. However when we asked what drinks was available the staff claimed no knowledge until shown the website. I can say that I am happy that we stayed here as I’m slightly worried what a less rated hotel may actually be like. It’s location was quite far out but it has perfect transport links.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Gábor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, and for leaving a rating. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Customer feedback is always important for us, so that we can always improve in areas where guests could find something lacking. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness you have experienced, we'll make sure to consult with the Housekeeping staff regarding this issue. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future, so we could vastly improve on your previous experience. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st paul

Nice atmosphere and friendly staff

Posted Oct 29, 2017
It was wonderful. Great pool and spa area. I walked through the city while staying at this hotel and did some sight seeing. There are bus Tours as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Gábor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, and for leaving a rating. We are extremely happy that we could earn a full 5* rating from you, we will continue to strive to provide a luxurious experience for our dear guests. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Poor show

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Stayed in this hotel expecting that the hotel has good reviews however what a disappointment. The hotel gave a 6’4 in an a single bed where the mattress was just uncomfortable. The bed was a single bed and no house cleaning came to join the bed . I asked if the air conditioning unit could be switched on the room as the room is extremely hot I was given a rude statement by the front desk lady that we don’t switch the air conditioner. They did not even offer to give a fan. The first day I checked in they gave me a smoking room that when you opened the door the whole room stunk. I asked for a desert only the second day it took 45 mins to bring out the desert, it was not that spectacular as well. Over disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Gabor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this feedback. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our Hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay, we will make sure to make improvements in the future so that such problems will never happen again. We hope that despite the inconveniences we can welcome you back again in the future. Best regards, Gabor Nemes General Manager
4 out of 5
by Howard

Nice but a bit far from where you want to be

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice spa hotel but there are many more in better locations closer to the actions. They are an expensive cab ride on the edge of the city proper. Otherwise nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, and for leaving a rating. We are happy that we could earn a 4* rating from you, we will continue to strive to provide a luxurious experience for our dear guests. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future, so that we can earn a full 5* rating. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calib

A Bit Isolated

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The accomodations are very nice, but the hotel is abit isolated from the rest of Budapest. As a result you pretty much have to eat in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Gábor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, and for leaving a rating. We are happy that we could earn a 4* rating from you, we will continue to strive to provide a luxurious experience for our dear guests. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future, so that we can earn a full 5* rating. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

good hotel but far from the city centre.train near

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: spa area well laid out but swimming pool too cold for me. staff welcoming on entry
Cons: restraunt closed at 6oclock then only bar meals We would have eaten more in the hotel if restraunt was open later
Location: hotel is out of town.caught the train in to start siteseeing
very good and varied breakfast.staff very friendly and helpful (booked excursion tickets from Eurama did not arrive ) and concierge and reception helped to contact Eurama via phone and Email unfortunately without sucssess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Gábor Nemes General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, and for leaving a rating. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive, but we do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. Customer feedback is always important for us, so that we can always improve in areas where guests could find something lacking. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future, so we could further improve on your previous experience. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager