Ratings based on 1,379 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Ocala on route to Sarasota

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and welcoming staff. Room was clean with comfortable beds. Very close to the highway exit.
Cons: Door to room slightly warped, really had to lean on door to get it to latch closed. Sound deadening curtains to help reduce hwy road noise.
Stopped here after 10hrs of driving on route from West Virginia to Sarasota Florida.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Good for an overnight

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Friendly staff, older hotel. Very loud due to the fact it was next to the highway. We were driving through and it was a good place to stop. Ate at their restaurant for dinner, which was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest Karen, We truly thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala"friendly staff and good dinner." This what we strive very hard to give to every guest that walks on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Please come back see us again. stay with us again when in our area. It would be a great pleasure of ours to have you as our guest. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McDonough, Ga

Cozy hotel, Great staff

Posted Apr 19, 2017
My husband and I went for my birthday. It was wonderful for a spur of the moment vacation. The hotel was clean/comfortable, the staff was very kind and there was mini golf for only $2/person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Everything was fine. Very clean and a wonderful Continental breakfast in the morning
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review. We see you mentioned our "very clean rooms and wonderful continental breakfast." Nothing is more rewarding for us than hearing from our guest that we were able to meet their expectations. We strive very hard to keep our guests leaving with a smile and wanting to come back. We look forward to having you stay with us again. You will again find the great cleanliness, and wonderful breakfast that you enjoyed during your stay with us. Thank you again! It was a pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Great no frills motel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness friendliness of staff
Location: Zip line silver springs
Motel is Very Clean, freshly painted, and super comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest Jack, Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala and thank you so very much for taking the time to give us a 5 star rating! We're so pleased you enjoyed the service provided by our staff! That is how we here at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala strive to have all of our guest feeling. We will always try to show each and every guest that stays with us that they are welcomed and special. Thank you again Jack! We hope to see you on your next trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Cons: Better wifi , softer towels.
No wifi connection. Food not good selection. Very scratchy towels. Won't go back. Rate increased for bike week.g
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala and thank you for taking the time to write and tell us how we are doing here. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the internet. Our staff is always available to help with connection issues. We also have 24 hour tech support who can trouble shoot any issues. We just ask you let us know immediately so we can make it right for you! We are always available to help with any issues you may have. We hope you reconsider and stop back by on your next travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice hotel close to my daughter

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location
I've stayed here before (a few years ago)....didn't know it had been updated so was surprised. Room was very nice and comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dearest guest Gail, Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and taking time to write and post a review about your time with us. The dedicated team at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala loves our guests. Our guest service team is there to make sure that each one of our guests has a great stay at our hotel. We are very honored that you choose to keep coming back to us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are flattered by the wonderful things which you said about your nice and comfy room. Can't express again how happy we are that you keep coming back! Hope to see you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not a bad place to stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Cons: Better Wifi..
Location: Not alot to do close nor places to eat.
Over all not a bad experience. Sadly while there, it was chilly. But the kids still enjoyed the pool. The WiFi only worked on the phones. That was a little sad. Very nice staff. More breakfast/supper choices would be great. But, yes, would go back again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to let us how how we could be better. Please know that we take our guests reviews very seriously and strive hard to make every guests stay at the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala an excellent experience. We are very glad you enjoyed our very nice staff and the kids enjoyed the pool. We are very sorry about problem you experienced with the internet. In all of our rooms we have a number that our guest can call if they are having problems with the internet and we can't assist them properly. Without us knowing what we need to improve on,we cannot become better. Thanks to your review we can see where we can do better and we will. Please come back and visit us again. We will make sure you have a excellent experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carb. il.

Quick stop

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Everything was clean amd neat. Bring your own pillows-theirs are very hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest Lynda, Thank you very much for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala while in our area. We know you had a choice, some but an arm's distance away from HoJo Ocala. You chose the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. thank you. Also, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. The one thing that HoJo Ocala team strives very hard to do is to make 'happy' every guest that walks on the grounds of Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We will continue to upgrade the property, and give the best we possibly could give to our guests. And of course, we will never knowingly compromise on cleanliness, in and out. We will keep our number one place in the economy motel in our area. We will be 5/5 motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the highway

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Everything. Recommend to everyone
Cons: Maybe replace the carpet. We wanted a non smoking room but we could smell it
Location: It was a stay over on our way to Florida
Very happy with our stay. Staff was more than helpful and very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this lovely 5 star review of your recent stay at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and we are delighted to learn that we were able to make you feel so welcome, from arrival to departure! We were very thrilled to read that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and that you enjoyed our "helpful and friendly staff." We are continuously being upgraded and improved. So very glad you will be back and we hope to see you soon! Thank you again