Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Value for the money

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: friendly staff and restaurant
Cons: new pillows
Location: was close to down town Ocala & right off 75.
This is a older motel, but all the rooms have been renovated, the beds were comfortable, however the pillows were a bit lumpy, yet comfy. It was nice to have a coffee maker and fridge in the room. A continental breakfast is included which was great. It included hard boiled eggs and fresh waffles. They do have a restaurant on site and you can order a hot breakfast which we did. We ordered bacon and eggs with toast and hash browns for $4.99, you can't beat that price! The restaurant also serves dinner and pizza in the evening. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! All in all a great value for the money. We would definitely stay there again! Even though it is an older motel, I gave it a 5, because for what it is it is a great value for the money. It is clean, has been updated and the staff was great, the restaurant was an added bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Really friendly staff and add Microwave And refrigerator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Remodel with the classic Howard Johnson colors. Reminded me of vacations as a child staying at a HoJo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best bed and pillows!

Posted Jan 17, 2018
It is so hard to find reasonable rates with good mattresses and pillows. This is the best for the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Michigan

Nice hotel w/reasonable rates

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Clean, Good location, Good curb appeal, free breakfast, allows pets
Cons: Not much really. The guy that was wandering around with a computer, probably the owner or mgr,acted like he couldn't care less that we were there.
Location: shopping centers, couple of old car places, restaurants
we were in town to visit family. They live north of Ocala so being close to 75 made our trip north easy.. We had a small dog so the fact that they were pet friendly was essential. The breakfast was fine and room service was something we used because of our pooch. .All and all, it was a pleasant experience..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Great hotel and very cheap

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Staff was friendly...it was a breeze to check in and out with free complimentary breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest Raynond, Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us such a excellent review! Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience and we are pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your stay. We're so pleased you enjoyed our "friendly staff" I hope while you were in the area you were able to try out our on site miniature golf, dine in restaurant and some of our nearby attractions. Our hotel is within a short drive to many fun destinations including zip lining, kayaking, fresh natural springs to go tubing down and so much more! Thank you again. We hope to have you back very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion Iowa

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
The key didn’t work the first time but other than that everything was very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry to hear that your keys did not work as planned the first time. We are concerned about our guests' satisfaction and for that we do what we possibly could do. We realize that our guests have choices as some places are but an arm's length away from us. For us to stay in business, we must satisfy our guests and for this we will work hard. We will continue to improve. Our goal is to be the best economy motel in our area. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good, specially considering price....

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Other thannthe breakfast, this was a pretty good deal. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean and everything worked as advertised. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala while in our area. Also, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Let me tell you that we strive very very hard to give each guest that walks on our grounds an excellent experience. We want to be the # 1 economy motel in our area. We will be 5/5 motel with nice clean rooms, excellent service and give you the best value for your hard earned dollars. We will always continue to work hard towards getting this and maintaining it. Again, thank you, dear guest, for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Also thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you very much. Please come back and stay with us again. It would be a pleasure to have you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Room smelled like marijuana! HAD TO MOVE ROOMS!

Posted Dec 28, 2017
We checked into the hotel and the room smelled of marijuana so bad I turned my children around before they could even sit down. The smell was very very strong in the "NONE SMOKING ROOM"! I called the front desk and informed them we could not stay in the room overnight! My husband is active duty military on leave! This was a huge disappointment to us! We read all the reviews and everyone talked so well of the hotel we thought we found a good one for a over night stay. I SHOULD HAVE CALLED THE POLICE IT WAS SO BAD! SERIOUSLY!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. We are so sorry to hear about your experience and we understand how frustrating this was for you and for your family as well. Please know that we take all feedback seriously especially if it has to do with breaking policy. We want out guests' to have a positive experience during their entire stay and I hope you can accept my sincerest apology that this was not the case. This is not reflective of what we stand for and you can be confident that we will follow-up with your concerns for you and for future guests. We have a culture of constant improvement and feedback like yours helps us shape the way we do things. We will continue working on the issue you addressed as our ultimate goal is to provide an experience that exceeds our guests’ expectations. With that being said, we hope you give us the opportunity to make this right for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Staff Rude

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Rude female staff, unwilling to accommodate any small request you ask. Parking lot smelled of raw sewage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I hope you can accept my apologies for your experience! We never want our guests to feel like we don't care, because we truly do. We work hard to give you the best stay possible and I'm so sorry to hear that this was not the case. We have addressed the issue internally and have rolled out training to ensure it does not happen again. We hope you give us another chance to make this up to you!