Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Catawissa, Pa.

Safari Hotel Close To The Beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Beach and boardwalk access.
Cons: Room size.
Location: I believe the Ocean City, Md. boardwalk is 27 blocks long so there is plenty of shopping, bars, and restaurants there as well as all over the city.
The staff of the Safari was accommodating. If you ask them for something, they dealt with it almost immediately. The room and bathroom were small. There is no coffee pot in the room but there is coffee in the lobby. The queen size beds crowded the room. Two people couldn't walk side by side between the beds and the dresser. The beds themselves were very comfortable and the room was clean. On our last day, the maid ask us what we needed and we said, "Towels" which we got but she didn't make the beds or do anything else on that particular day?? The hotel overall needs refurbished. The lobby, carpeting, furniture, etc. is old and unattractive. The distance from the Safari to the beach is perfect and the boardwalk is huge so you can find restaurants and shopping within 20 yds. of the hotel. Overall our experience was good. We would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western MD

Home Away From Home

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at Safari Motel. The front desk was WONDERFUL and any of the staff you passed was quick to greet you and say hello. The room was very clean and the motel offered free ice, coffee and tea. The beach was just a very short walk from the hotel. The room was a little small compared to some of the rooms I stayed in at OC but the staff and cleanliness more than made up for it. I'll definitely be staying here again! Thank you for making our trip a nice one Safari Motel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Fun at Ocean City

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The segment of the hotel we stayed in was clean and only one block away from the board walk. Clean room, safe surrounding and staff kind and helpful!
Location: Great shopping nearby! Loved the kite shop, bike shop and candy shop!!!
We had a great time in Ocean City. Good family fun ... great food reasonably priced. Wide range of activities to do or you could just enjoy people watching. I will definitely go back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
A great place to stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Right on the boardwalk and close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved the proximity of the hotel to the beach

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: the management's assistance, and the beds were comfy
Cons: it was misleading to think we would have a view of the beach.
Location: Plenty of things to do. Fractured Prune and Grotto's Pizza were so close and of course are delish. The access to the beach was a stone's throw away.
The management was extremely nice and accommodating. They answered our request within minutes. The parking was perfect and the walking distance to the boardwalk was superb. I would stay there again. It is a little outdated, but served its purpose since we came to be on the beach not sit in a hotel. And I didn't mind the renovation going on as it was an improvement to the aesthetics of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York Pa.

Right on the boardwalk

Posted May 19, 2017
Always a great stay. We stay here every year with our dogs and the place is always clean and the staff is top notch and friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to most areas

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Good hotel with a comfortable bed. A little pricy but it was worth it. Only cons were the lighting and my door stuck when trying to get in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Betterton, MD

Better than Expected

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Booked this hotel as a last minute trip for OC Bikefest, and we weren't sure what to expect. The hotel was very clean and hotel staff were nice. The rooms are dated but comfy. There's a common balcony that guests can enjoy the ocean view. Overall, we enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Jess, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review! We appreciate you staying with us. We hope to see you soon.