Ratings based on 1,725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less that what we expected

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: beach front, pools, nice to have a bar and grill at the beach - although they were average.
Cons: a lot ! the service staff could care; they did not. the rooms could be in better shape.
Location: decent location, uptown outside of having the green turtle close most places are about 10 blocks away. we know OC well and mostly drove.
the carousel has great character and a lot to offer families with kids. the place as a hotel is very average; the rooms like a motel. the international staff did not care about anything. they barely cleaned our room - did not leave replacement towels or soap and did not vacuum. their service in other parts of the hotel was disappointing. we expected more out of an iconic ocean city spot. the beds were hard. the beach was not as crowded as I thought it would be. all in all it was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Hotel needs overhaul

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Outdated, uncomfortable, unattractive. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colonial Heights VA

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The only negative was pool too close to hotel and in shade....too many kids and families but I should have checked on that before. Overall great place and had a great time!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Upgrades

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Out TV only had a few working channels. Cleaning staff arrived late in the afternoon. Slow elevators. Mini fridge/freezer did not work properly. No umbrellas/shade at outdoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fairfax, VA

Hotel not well maintained

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel is old and not well maintained. The fridge and the microwave were broken when we arrived in the room and our foods were spoiled because we didn't pay attention and put our foods into the fridge for the night. The bathroom was so small. But we had the beach view from the room and the beach was nice and clean. But the hotel .... No I didn't like it. At some point we asked for more towels and they waited more than one hour to send us someone. The other thing I don't like was they let some customers put they beach towels swimsuits everywhere on the balcony to dry. It was unpleasant and messy. I won't go back there next time even though I love the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Big to be friendly

Posted Aug 18, 2016
When we arrived there was a deluge of guests checking into the hotel. When it became our turn, we were informed that the room was not ready despite it being 4PM. Asked if another might be available was told, without checking, that they were totally sold out so we needed to wait. At 4:20 after asking again if room was ready we told it was not but somehow, another room was found and we were checked in. There also seemed to be a communication problem as none of the people behind the counter, that I spoke with, had a full grasp of English. They were courteous but I needed to ask them a question in two different ways so that they could properly respond. I dare say that the ice skating show was very well done and well attended. Overall the experience at the hotel was OK but then again, the bar we set was not terribly high.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel bathroom needs a upgrade.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The hotel is far from the broadwalk. Has a lot entertainment for the kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great, but could use some updating

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect right on the beach.
Cons: It could use a coat of paint, and some updating.
We had a nice long weekend at the Carousel. The location can't be beat, but the facilities look like they have been...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Kid friendly

Posted Aug 13, 2016
First 4 floors have no control of temperature in rooms. Daily fun activities for kids. Beds are terrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax

Nice location, good price

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Nice employees, queen beds with a sofa bed, perfect for 5 people. Nice location on the beach, good price
Carousel is not the gem it once was, definitely run down a bit, however, we still had a really nice stay! Employees were friendly, room was perfect for 5 with queen beds and a good sofa bed. Right on beach, grocery store across the street, cvs and McDonalds, super close. Parking in the lot is tight, but there is a spacious garage and space to drop off those who can't walk a lot right in front of the hotel. Would stay again.