Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Convenient to Convention Center

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, but of course it was off-season.
Cons: Access into/out of the main parking lot could be more clearly marked. It would have been nice to have a microwave in addition to the dorm-sized fridge
Location: Ocean City MD is pretty much a dead zone off-season. Were it not for the conference I was attending I would not have chosen to visit.
I selected Castle in the Sands because I knew that it was close to the Convention Center (about two blocks, within walking distance). Check-in took all of 5 minutes. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Check-out also was quick. My stay was on St Patrick's Day weekend. I'm sorry I didn't have time to have breakfast at the restaurant. There was corned-beef hash with eggs on the menu, which is something I haven't had for years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ephrata, PA

Gets the job done!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Rates, staff, cleanliness, location
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beach front. Walking distance to boardwalk, shopping, and restaurant's.
The hotel hotel staff was pleasant. I had a great view of the bay. Room cleanliness was great. I had no problems.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a short stay.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nice, except the bed was way too soft. The staff was great. The view was phenomenal. The "Coconut" was a fun place to eat and the breakfast buffet was yummy. Will probably stay there many more times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location on beach, near boardwalk

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location, view, staff.
Cons: Upgrade washrooms and paint some of the white exterior walls.
Location: Beach, boardwalk, movie theatre, outlet mall, lots of restaurant choices, refuge.
Staff were all very friendly. When an issue arose, it was solved very quickly and above expectations. The bed was comfortable. Ocean view was great (if you are sensitive to light, best to be on that side due to blinds only in windows, no dark out curtains unless in a suite). The washroom needs upgrading (shower rod, floor) but still good value for rates. Liked being off beat and track but close enough to walk to boardwalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield VA

Stay away from the Waverly building

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: See the review. The bathroom is tiny, the walls were way too thin, the room needed updating and the furniture needed replacing.
Location: Plenty to do when it is sunny, not so when cold and rainy. Came on Columbus day weekend - and on Monday when we were leaving many stores were closed.
First, the 2 week cancellation policy is NOT a good idea when the kids want to play at the beach. Couldn't cancel even though the forecast due to Hurricane Matthew changed from sunny to rainy and windy. The beds were shot...a huge dip in the center meant I had to sleep on the outer 8 inches or I would roll into the void in the center. The place is in need of serious renovation... We were kept up by the banking of the stairwell door - immediately - adjacent to our room...until the bachelorette party on our floor ended at 1:40 in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were friendly. Hotel had a nice tropical feel. The room had a leak in the ceiling and the carpet was damp from rain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great stay..great location. Facilities were very fun and lively.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
When we arrived there was absolutely no where to park to check in. The room overall was clean. Upon walking in, both the hallway and room smelled of cleaning supplies which I can't complain about because that means cleaning was involved!! The plastic cups in the room were already wet when we got in, so we didn't use them. There's a bar called coconuts which has an amazing happy hour be careful because the mosquitos will eat you alive. Hotel is pretty close to Seacrets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, MD

Castle in the sand, disappointment

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty room, dirty beach. Clean it up and it would be great since you have access to the beach and patio directly from your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york,pa

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: It meets our needs and they are so helpful and kind.
Cons: We told them that they need a new elevator,and he told us they are having one installed.
Location: places to eat are plentiful and movies and minature golf
We had a wonderful time. This was our 4th year to come for a girl's mini vacation. It is close to the beach and everyone is so helpful and pleasant.