Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shavertown, PA

Beachfront hotel on the boardwalk

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned well for the most part. We enjoyed using the pool and it appeared to be fairly clean.
Cons: Cannot think of anything given that this is a moderately priced hotel on the beach and boardwalk.
Location: The beach, boardwalk, water sports, bike rentals, fishing, mini golf, laser tag including an arcade all are close by.
We enjoyed our stay very much. There was one issue with our room's air conditioner. The staff arrived quickly, diagnosed that the compressor was not working and brought and installed a replacement all within about 20 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Howard Johnson Inn Mgmt., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are happy you had a great time while staying with us. We look forward to having you back the next time you come back to Ocean City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Reasonable accommodations

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This hotel is a block or two from the end of the boardwalk, so we had to ride the bus or tram each day. But very close proximity to Embers seafood, miniature golf,and happy Jack's pancake house, some of our ocean city favorite spots. The hotel was not the cleanest,there were tags from clothing under the sofa, which gave me the impression that housekeeping never checked underneath of it when cleaning prior to our arrival.The toilet had what appeared to be black spots on it maybe cigarette burns of some sort. However ,we booked a pool view and upon arrival requested Oceanview, we were going to pay for the upgrade, the staff gave us the upgrade free of charge because of availability. Another plus, we requested so many towels because of our in and out beach activities and so many showers, each time we called to request them within 5 minutes of our call the towels were at the door. Cons; too far away from boardwalk & rooms could be cleaner. Pros; friendly staff, direct beach access, unlimited towels, close to activities our family loves. I would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Howard Johnson Inn Mgmt., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Howard Johnson Oceanfront Inn. We are glad you had a great time while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Ocean City, MD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Location, fantastic oceanfront view and clean accommodations. Besides a microwave and fridge, there was also a toaster oven.
Location: The hotel is right on the boardwalk. You can ride the boardwalk tram right in front of the hotel. Great restaurants within walking distance.
We stayed here for 3 nights during Sunfest and were very pleased with the accommodations. The room looked exactly like the photos on their website. We had a oceanfront room with a balcony and the view was fantastic. The staff was very pleasant, especially our housekeeper. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Since there were 3 of us, we had the room with a convertible couch and it too was very comfortable to sleep on. The Satellite cafe downstairs had delicious breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room and right on the boardwalk

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the boardwalk. You can go down 2 streets and get on the tram. We were there for Sunfest. If you never went to Sunfest in September. GO!!
Overall rating was great!! Right on the board walk. Room was very clean and big. Hotel staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Nice hotel and close to amenities good location and on the beach could use some updating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Close to beach and boardwalk.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Hotel had what looked like black mold coming from air conditioning. Ceiling cracked looked like it was ready to fall down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice location, right on the beach and boardwalk.

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Very convenient location on the boardwalk and a quick walk to the beach. Also nice pool and quiet.
Cons: Offer king sized beds and cleaned and updated more.
We loved the location, but the room wasn't very clean, bathroom was tiny and smelled like fish, shower didn't work very well. Restaurant there but cash only so we didn't go. Elevators were soaking wet from rain which can't be safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Barnegat NJ

Very close to beach & boardwalk, shopping & more

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Close to beach/boardwalk.
Cons: Maintenance and better housekeeping. Solve the water problems after the rain and musty smell.
Location: Easy access to Boardwalk & Beach! Assateague State Park! Lot's of things to do.. go carts, golf and much more.
Checked in 8pm no problems until AC started buzzing. Had to shut it and open balcony door to noisy outside. Delivery/garbage trucks etc. Coffee maker did not work due to wrong size pot. Nice that we could go to lobby for 24/7 coffee! I let the front desk know, but neither was remedied. Rain caused musty smell in room. The next day we left at 230pm and returned at 830pm to find someone had entered room. They only took 1 small bag of recycle and dumped 1 garbage can. There was one full in the bathroom. Our towels were not replenished. Why bother. The parking lot lanes are extremely narrow. It takes 4 to 5 times back and forth to get out. This was also due to people parking too close to the lines. It was mostly great with nice staff and proximity to the beach/boardwalk. Room was clean. Heard noises above and next door through adjoining door. Typical I guess. Good value for the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Several issues...no return stay

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Front desk attendant sent us to room while housekeeping still cleaning -- 1 key card didn't work, exchanged for another nonworking -- maintenance walked in room UNANNOUNCED to check lock -- incorrect WIFI password was given -- That was the 1st day! Need I say more??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2015
The hotel was close to the beach - no outside restrooms - satellite cafe attached - cash only -