Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson Boardwalk OC, Md

Posted Apr 3, 2017
This was the best hotel choice we've ever made except the Hyat Chesapeake. The two are very similar and I'd rate them equal. The price was less than other hotels on the boardwalk and a better quality. The bistro downstairs was excellent for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a drink. This is now my 1st choice hotel when I go to O.C. The location is fantastic and they provide you with everything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halethorpe, MD

Loved the Howard Johnson's Plaza Hotel!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Had a lovely stay here, the only complaint I have was that the mattress was a little 'tired' and there was no tub (only a shower). That being said, I knew the room would not have a tub but, still missed having one. As for the mattress it had a bit of a dip perhaps it needed flipping. Regardless of that the room was very clean, the ocean view was fantastic and the pool area was wonderfully clean with plenty of towels. I would stay here again anytime! I wish there were a few more places to go and see but, as it was the off season it was expected. Still we had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

cleanliness ok

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The shower had a sandy grit across the whole bottom of the shower and the staff left us with 2 shampoos and no conditioner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Friendly front desk Clean rooms Close toeverything

Posted Mar 7, 2017
My son was sick with the stomach bug the whole trip and the staff was VERY helpful and accomadating! They had the cleaning crew come whenever we asked plenty of clean towels and sheets and blankets! Will definitely come back to this hotel and hopefully everyone will stay healthy!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Nice hotel, right on boardwalk. Close to all your needs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room with terrific view

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Would give 5 stars except for the big diss I was given at checkin. Staff Acted all solicitous when I arrived early (quite early - 2 1/2 hrs) I hoped for early checkin, they took my cell no. and said they'd call if it got turned over early, but otherwise return at checkin (3 pm).Walked an hour, since I was super early, returned and (same staff) now seeming somewhat annoyed, repeated they'd call if/when it got done. Did not get impression they could or would do anything at all to clean a room for me, saying "staff hasn't gotten to that floor yet". Came back at 3 pm - official check in time, to find a crowd of people all being told rooms not ready yet. One by one, everyone but me given "their" room. When I complained I'd been waiting far longer, why 1 of the ready rooms not for me, was told they can't switch around pre-assigned room numbers, as that would 'cause problems '. [for who, exactly?] By 3:30 pm, one lady at Frt desk did finally decide to offer me a different, available room - however it reeked of cigarettes masked by air freshener, so I trekked back down to lobby. My 'assigned' room ready at 3:40 pm. LNo adequate apology, no free drink or breakfast coupon, no nothing. They either won't or aren't allowed to ask housekeeping to clean in any particular order, but I should not have had to wait over 3 HOURS from when I arrived to being in a room. (did I miss the under table $$ I was supposed to offer?) Room was lovely, but lost best part of day for no good reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parkville, MD

Oceanfront

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, indoor pool, friendly staff.
Cons: The adjoining restaurant, Brothers Bistro.
Location: Great location! Right on the beach. Within walking distance of the amusements, fishing pier, restaurants, etc.
This hotel was wonderful. The staff was very pleasant. Our room was spotless! We had a great oceanfront room overlooking the boardwalk. The maid service did an incredible job. They not only made the beds and replaced the towels, but they also cleaned the room each morning. It was a wonderful experience. We had a small issue with our coffee maker not working properly, and it was replaced within minutes of my call. The adjoining restaurant, Brothers Bistro, was a disappointment. We had breakfast there once and it was underwhelming. We stopped in on Sunday evening at 8:00 to get a pizza and were told they were not making any more pizzas. Asked for a burger, and no burgers. It appeared the cooks had just decided not to make any more food. They were just standing around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gettysburg, PA

Spotlessly CLEAN and right on the boardwalk!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything! Clean room, beautifully decorated. Nice size room. Perfect location in the middle of the boardwalk for my sunrise run workout!
Cons: The registration area is at the top of many stairs which is very inconvenient to schlep luggage in order to check in. Install a ramp please :)
Location: Perfectly located on the boardwalk, within walking distance of bike rentals, bars, restaurants, literally walking on the beach in 5 minutes! LOVED IT!
Im very picky and I bring my OWN cleaning products when traveling and I didn't have to clean ANYTHING! The room was perfectly spotless! I can count on one hand over 3 decades of traveling that I didn't find something that needed cleaning in a room. The housekeeping staff is AMAZING! The entire staff is friendly and welcoming and truly seem to love their jobs. We had amazing weather and literally one of the BEST mini getaways we've had in the past 30+ yrs of visiting Ocean City, MD! I will definitely be returning in April. STay here! You won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent views

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: It had a restaurant, bar and indoor pool and was located on the boardwalk.
Cons: The the guestrooms, hallways and bathrooms had an older feel to it. It could use some updates.
Location: It was located right on the boardwalk and within walking distance of the Coastal Highway and bus route.
Though the hotel is older and in need of some updating in the guestrooms, you couldn't beat the ocean views from our ocean front balcony. The lobby was cozy with a gas fireplace and Christmas decorations were throughout the hotel. We were there to see the holiday parade and the light festival.