Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fun for families with children, but

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Indoor pool. Hotel is ocean front. There is a liquor store across the street.
Cons: Hotel needs to be modernized.
We traveled to Ocean City for Thanksgiving weekend. We stayed at another hotel Wednesday night and Thursday night. I had some points on Expedia and decided to stay for Friday night. We found the Princess Royale online for a low rate plus points brought down the rate under $100. The room was a suite next to the indoor pool. We have two young boys that love to swim so we booked the room. I learned that the hotel had a spa on site so I booked an appointment for a facial shortly after we checked in. The layout of this hotel is strange. The spa/salon is located in the basement, but the actual treatment room is on the first floor. There is no steam machine and the whole set up seems low budget but they charge full price. The hotel room was clean but everything is dated...actually the entire hotel is frozen in time from the late 70s/early 80s. The elevators are slow. The decor is gaudy at best. There are no ice machines but they will gladly sell you a bag of ice at the gift shop. The big attraction is the indoor pool/game room in the Atrium. The kids loved it. There is no lifeguard on duty but they have staff (that do no speak English) on hand to keep a close eye on the towels and wrist bands for kids that want to swim in the pool. They simply hold the gate shut and point to the sign stating that kids need wristbands. First class....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Windsor, United States of America

One of the best places we have stayed.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable & near everything we needed to be near
Excellent! No excessive room noises. Room very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Exceptional Value!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and room size.
Cons: Outside noise.
Location: Plenty of places to eat and dink within walking distance or short drive.
Very nice hotel, accommodating staff and great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H Marbury

We had an awesome time at the Princess Royale!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Besides the Hotel, there were restaurants, bars and grills and several shops nearby. Close to everything!
The Staff was friendly, efficient and served us with a smile!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best Room I ever Had at an Hotel for the price.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Location is perfect . Very close to night life hangout and restaurants. Located directly on the beach . And on main road.
This place was very clean and had everything that an apartment would have . We had a living room with two sofas One of which was a sofa bed big enough for two people . There was a coffee table and a table to sit with chairs to eat. There was a full-size refrigerator very cold and kept everything cold a full-size microwave an electric stove two sizes of burners and a full-size kitchen sink with garbage disposal . All the cabinets that were there weren't there for just decoration they actually had a usable cups plates knives forks to be used . There was even pots and pans . The balcony that I had was very large with a wonderful oceanview . A very clean bathroom a very clean bedroom and the bed was a king size bed very comfortable and room service was excellent . Overall I like this place and I would definitely go again and recommend it to anyone else . There is a huge indoor pool for your convenience it is open pretty much all day long and closes very late at 11 PM .You have easy access to the beach. Around the area of the hotel you have pretty much the whole beach to yourself it is very big and accessible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna VA

Right on the beach! great food outlets nearby

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Indoor pool, on beach
Friendly staff, nice rooms and clean. Right on beach, great indoor pool and hot tub
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Good location and great beach access. Rooms are large and clean.
Cons: could be updated but not really necessary.
Location: like that it is in north Ocean City as we aren't interested in the boardwalk.
Nice, clean hotel. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Not the most modern but has nice amenities; indoor pool, three hot tubs, outside bar, exercise room. Will rebook for next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Nice hotel, clean rooms, close to the beach, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Ocean Front" room = Ocean View room

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I did finally get an "Ocean Front" with a full view of ocean after complaining.
Cons: Do not automatically charge for a safety box! Consumers should have a choice. These little charges add up for hotel profits.
Location: Lots of restaurants, SEACREST, Boardwalk
It was a Bikers Weekend. I booked on Expedia, an "Ocean Front" room. When checked on line, Princess Royale "Ocean Front" room was supposed to be the last available in OC. Most "affordable" rooms were gone. When checked in, they put me on the 1st level and was told that it was "Ocean View". Yes... it was on the beach level, ocean view & on the walking traffic level with a 6' tall sand dunes. The sliding glass door was difficult to close and lock. I called and complained about the view and safety & they asked if I wanted on a 2nd floor with an "Ocean Front". Said, "Yes", but she would have to check with her supervisor. She called me back and said she has one on the 4th floor (I thought that was the last "ocean front" room available), would I want it, but it would cost extra. I told them I am not paying any extra charges. I booked on Expedia with full ocean view from higher ground. They agreed to give me the 4th floor with no extra charge. The room had no utensils, guess I had to use my fingers for food. They won't allow me a late check out. They claimed they had a huge group checking in. Witnessed many others leaving the premises around 4pm. They automatically charge for a security safe in the room even though I didn't use it. It costs approx. $2/day, including tax ~ a RIP OFF! Have traveled throughout Europe for 3 weeks. All hotels provided security safe inside the room for use without additional charges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Di, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent patronage as we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent getaway for bike week. We understand that sometimes terms used frequently in the Ocean City area to describe views can be confusing to those not familiar with them. For our hotel, oceanfront means the room faces the ocean directly. Oceanview means that there is a side view of the ocean. I am glad that our staff was able to move you to an upper floor as you requested. And, I am sure they did have "one" oceanfront room left to sell but that does not mean that all the oceanfront reservation had checked in so it sounds like the staff simply moved things around to accommodate you. With regard to the safe fee of $1.49 per day, this information is stated on your confirmation. Like many hotels, we do not include it in the rate for a host of insurance purposes. I do hope on your next visit to Ocean City the suites, service and staff exceed your every expectation. Sincerely, Diane Anderson Princess Royale
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would recommend this

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This was my first stay in OCMD and I can't wait to come back next year. Everybody was so nice my room was so clean and the view of my room was beautiful. Nice pool nice little restaurant inside and let's not forget easy access to the beach witch it's always a plus. My check in and check out was so easy I never been somewhere that it took not even 5 mins to check in and a second to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Martesha, guest services and reservations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you and we hope to see you again!