Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I left something in the room, called immediately, and was told the housekeepers did not find it. Dishonest...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Ana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: I am so sorry for the incident of the missing item you left at your room , we have a box for lost and found where we put all the items guest left at the rooms some guest came back to pick up some set a ups pick and some just do not came back to pick up the item we hold it for 30 to 60 days , and every housekeeper know that every time they found something at the room they have to bring it to the office , in your case the housekeeper who cleaned the room did not find any thing at the room. Take care,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: upgrade bathroom
Location: Took 17 to redwoods. Took CA1 to Monterrey. Took Ocean Blvd to beach and pier
Best Western is at a location convenient to the 17 and the CA1 and Ocean Blvd. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la, ca

Nice hotel but too close to the road

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The room was good, the breakfast was adequate. Wish the room space was not so tight. Also a little privacy between sink and beds would have been nice!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Friendly and helpful staff, nice comfortable room.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean and close to activities down town.
Cons: Would be nice to have more furniture for sitting.
Location: Walking distance to eating places.
Motel was easy to find from main highway, staff at check-in was very helpful finding a solution to my reservation error. We slept very well in spite of busy streets nearby. Our large room could have done with some seating. The extra space would have been useful for a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Great Location With Free Breakfast and WiFi

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and a clean room.
The hotel is conveniently located not too far from the beach, The staff is friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is quite nice with hot eggs and sausage or waffles, cereal, muffins and yogurt. The rooms are large and comfortable and seem to have been recently remodeled . It was a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Emily called to find out when we'd be checking in and was ready for us upon arrival. Our room was nice, clean and comfy. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location. Room size and price.
Cons: Parking was a lil cramped.
Location: Beach, amusement park, shopping and great food.
Within 5-10 minutes of everything you want to be at in Santa Cruz. Beds were comfy and room was clean. For the price it was a great value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Close to highway

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Good breakfast. Bed was lumpy. Staff was very friendly. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: good breakfast and room size. Comfy bed and good facilities in room.
Good location and about 10 minute drive to the beach or 25 minute walk. Staff polite and helpful. Did find noise from the road could be heard still little once in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA

Disappointed

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Unfortunately our stay at this Best Western will be our last. The location is terrible, the room wasn't clean as there was used Q tips in/on the chair. The layout of the room was awkward and way overpriced. I couldn't even get a cup of coffee in the morning because they let the pot empty without having a back up ready to replace it, then the girl making it tried to tell me that there was still some on the bottom of the pot and I just needed to stand there and pump a half of a splash at a time until my cup is full, Umm No! Totally unacceptable. We feel like we got ripped off. We seek out Best Westerns when traveling because it's a known brand and we feel comfortable that the room will be clean and safe, definitely not the case at this location. Don't waist your money. Wish we brought a tent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Ana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Please accept our apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay at our hotel. Can I make you a question : What do you mean the location was terrible? We are located by Ocean Street one of the more occupied street In Santa Cruz where most of the hotel are located. And because we are right off of the freeway what made some guest happy because they find our hotel right off of the freeway, I know every guest is different , every guest has different needs . When you found the q tips by the chair did you reported to the front desk? it was very important to know right away about the incident for been able to give you some kind of compensation for the incident. Please can you let me know what room you been ? for I can check what of my housekeeper cleaned that room. In this life we do not are perfect because we are human, but our hotel try the best that be possible to please our guest. But is bad to take a lit bit of time to fill a cup of coffee ? that make our breakfast unacceptable ? The last time I was in very fancy restaurant in Hawaii I found a black long hair around my shrimp? I returned the plate , the incident made me unhappy and it was very disgusting and we only got the apology from the manager, and I think that type of incidents made any food unacceptable. I am agree with you , rates in Santa Cruz are higher special in Summer or holidays, Weekends (Friday and Saturday) is recommend to make a good plan before making the trip to find the best way to save money. I understand you selected our hotel from the list Expedia showed you and you were agree with our location and our rates. One more time please accept our apologize.