Ratings based on 1,221 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, Ca

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice location, the parking has signs say take all your belongings, so I'm assuming isn't very safe because the garage is open to the street. I didn't see any security cameras which I believe it could help. The breakfast was okay, I just didn't like that they offer bacon only, and they don't consider that some people don't eat bacon. Also, the scrambled eggs were not fully cooked. Other than that everything was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Disappointed Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: No pets allowed.
Cons: Breakfast quality, mattress updates, clean the property, service the a/c's and ensure they cool below 72*.
Location: Yuckier part of Santa Cruz and quite a long walk to the boardwalk and pier. Fairly easy walk into Santa Cruz where the shopping and restaurants are.
This hotel was way over priced for the condition it is in. The lobby rugs are filthy and show the wear and dirt. The room itself was ok. Bathroom door looked like it hadn't been wiped down from dirty fingerprints and the bathroom wall and ceiling in the shower area showed signs of mold that had been painted over. The mattresses were the worst we had ever slept on in a hotel. Thin and very uncomfortable with a lot of springs felt throughout, plus they had plastic as the mattress covers and that was noisy and cheap. LIghting in the room was dim and and limited and the a/c did not keep the room cool at all. Breakfast was very poor quality and they only had one of the two waffle makers actually working. The cleaning crew were friendly and seemed ready to help. Hot tub area was dirty and not inviting. Really not worth what we paid per night on any level. We would not stay here again. The one bonus for us here though was that this hotel does not take pets, and we appreciated that because so many hotels allow pets. Overall not a good experience. Just kind of yucky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wesr sacramento

Good location BUT big disparity in rooms!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
First night room was beside the breakfast bar. NO outside window. Musty. After not sleeping well (for my sons wedding) I got moved to a lovely exterior room. Thus the mixed review. Would go back IF I knew what the room really looked like...exterior window etc. day and night difference. Room the first night wasn't worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Good breakfast. Clean room. Minimal parking and spots small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
no windows to the outside! the room was very dried and stuffy. our ac was leaking water but the staff didn't do anything about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Place for a Family

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Really enjoyed this hotel. We were in Santa Cruz for a family reunion and needed a great central base to visit many of the local attractions. The rooms were big, ours had a couch the folded out to a bed which was awesome. The breakfast was fantastic. Lots of healthy options and a great way to start off the day. The location of the hotel was pretty good- easy to find, though not close to the boardwalk which was ok as it meant we were away from the crowds. The only downside to this hotel for me is they have no pet friendly rooms. We usually travel with our dogs so I doubt we will be able to come back to this hotel but I would if I could!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We stayed in corner room 224 and enjoyed the intimacy it provided. Some might think it is too small. I personally thought it was fine given that we were a party of 2. The road outside next to room is busy with traffic noise during the day but we were always on our way out the door when it would begin to escalate. It is a leisurely stroll to downtown shops, restaurants, and boardwalk. Thank you Best Western for making our trip to Santa Cruz memorable. We will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Close to just about everything in Santa Cruz

Posted Jul 14, 2017
I'd recommend this hotel You were able to be downtown by car in just a few minutes and very close to the boardwalk. However, our particular room, room 329, had the window cracked open about an inch and you couldn't close it. I'm guessing for ventilation purposes. So it made it really noisy Also there wasn't a lot of storage in the bathroom but there was storage elsewhere in the room so that made up for it. Breakfast was good compared to other places we've stayed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great value hotel, close to downtown

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location, cost, safety, etc.
Cons: Cleanliness of room
Location: Downtown Santa Cruz- food, shops, art, museums
Great hotel for location and value given location. Friendly and courteous staff, free breakfast with multiple options, and generally pretty comfortable. Room could have been improved, but remainder was great. Our room was not cleaned on our first day there, and we weren't sure why not, but they cleaned it the next day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels