Ratings based on 1,400 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
I book this hotel in almost last minutes. The price of the room is over $300 a night. With this amount, one will expect more. I think the location of the hotel is convenient. But the hotel need more upgrade. Only good is the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Nice hotel and pet friendly. Rooms very clean. Met our needs nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stevenson ranch, ca

It was good

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We got there at the midnight, our room was ready and clean. Overall it is a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lodi, CA

Nice place

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Small hotel. Parking is annoying. Close to the boardwalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awkward Parking at Continental Inn

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The room was clean. The staff was available by text (for linens).
Cons: Very poor WIFI connectivity, parking on renovated side is impossible.
Location: The beach was the highlight of our trip.
The Continental Inn has very difficult parking with parking stalls meant to fit two cars side by side across about five stalls. When two cars are parked, it is a difficult task to unload anyone and/or bags. We also didn't realize there was an elevator until the last day we were there; having carried our luggage up and down three flights of cement stairs. The hotel was advertised as being a close distance to the beach; not a reasonable walking distance if you are traveling with children and gear.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Just okay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: This hotel was close to everything in Santa Cruz.
Cons: replace the mattress and improved the parking in the satellite building.
Location: This hotel is right off a main street so you can access all the main streets in Santa Cruz. You have access to the wharf, boardwalk and UCSC.
This hotel has two buildings, one across the street from the other. I happened to get a room in the satellite building and the parking was horrible. There was no way you were going to fit three cars in the covered parking spaces unless the cars were sub-compact cars and there was only four parking spaces that was uncovered for bigger sized vehicles. The room was fine but the bed was worn. The bed had a definite slant to it and it felt as if you were going to roll off the bed. The satellite TV was great, lots of channels. There was a coffee pot and coffee available as well as a microwave and a fridge which was very convenient. If you've got a room in the main building, the parking was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Room was fantastic but shower was on the small side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I had an amazing time at this hotel. The staff was great and the location was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely except the noise

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Comfy clean facilities with charming staff. Noise from parking lot and road will bother the sound-sensitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

We had a lovely stay and will return!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Staff was more than helpful! Very clean and perfectly located between downtown and the boardwalk!
Cons: The internet connection in the secondary building and the fact the pool wasn't heated.
Location: Perfectly located between downtown and the boardwalk!
We loved the hotel! Staff was more than helpful! Very clean and perfectly located between downtown and the boardwalk! Minor snafus were the internet connection in the secondary building and the fact the pool wasn't heated. Also, the second room had the bed and dresser with TV on it so close to each other you couldn't open the drawers.