Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The hotel felt unsafe, as the building next door is completely boarded up & appears to be abandoned. The comforter had stains & a cigarette burn in it. I refused to undo the bed altogether. The bathtub had stains & looked like it needed a deep cleaning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Not the most comfortable

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: patch peeled off paint
Location: Love the beach and restaurants...try Crow's nest and Johnnys at the Harbor on 7th.
The bed was very uncomfortable...could feel the springs in your back. Also rooms are very dated and noisy due to location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Needing an overall remodel and freshen up, now!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Got a room on short notice, central location, dog friendly
Cons: Paid too much...Needs complete remodeling of rooms, new carpets, paint, toilet seat worn even = basic up keep!!!
Location: Location ok, would NOT walk at night alone, lots of street people. Santa Cruz Boardwalk not too far, near a Starbucks.
Should have read more of the reviews before booking, as most were true on the overall experience of super old everything. Hotel exterior is pleasing, parking lot is too small. If not for an window that opened in the room we would have not been able to handle the chlorine fumes from the interior pool and hot tub. The beds were clean but very uncomfortable, lumpy mattresses, stained carpets, bathroom very worn- decided not to take a shower. Did not look or feel clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a joke!!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I don't know how the pics of the hotel looked so good because this place is far from good! Soft focus and an app that has miracle filters had to have been used because this place is a total dump. I've stayed at nicer places in downtown Tijuana for $22 and paid $160 here!! I tried to get out of staying, but the guy at the counter said I'd have to pay for the night even I decided to cancel ....uggghhh! The pool wasnt working either ...which is the only reason I picked that place too. The "breakfast" is setup in the 3 ft x 6 ft checkin area, what a joke. Save your $$, stay at the Hilton in Scott's Valley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Security cameras are everywhere, probably due to previous issues with intrusion.
Cons: Overall room remodeling.
Location: One can walk to nearby restaurants and gas stations; but I would not recommend walking.
We could not wait for the check-out day. The room is super small, the carpet is filthy, the bathroom floor is sinking all around the bathtub. The toilet does not flush well. The A/C fan is so loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Us time

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Clean room and great prices and good location. Fast check in and put
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
it was ok when they ran out of cream for the coffee they didnt buy any more so for 3 morning i had to go out and buy coffee they wanted me to drink black coffee i couldnt beleave it and its no breakfast its just junk food and oj no fruit and no creaqm for the coffee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nightmare on Ocean Street

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: The entire hotel should be condemned and leveled.
Location: Not the best part of town. The place next door was boarded up. Close to the boardwalk and beach. Recommend people sleep on the beach over this hotel.
As one who lives in hotels for my job travels, I have stayed in many hotels. This is by far the dirtiest and nastiest hotel I have had the misfortune of ever being in. Walking in the room I was met by a terrible odor, and then things got worse. The carpets are stained beyond imagination, broken outlet cover near the bed exposing the wiring, (fire hazard) dingy linoleum in the bathroom and a broken toilet tank lid. The beds were straight out of Bedrock hard and uncomfortable. The website says a kitchen in every room, which is a lie. Would have ran away, but every hotel in Santa Cruz was sold out because of move in day at UCSC. Was way overcharged, no value exists at this hotel. Should have slept in my truck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cery shabby hotel in desperate need of remodel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Total remodeling
To call that a breakfast is a joke. In a teeny lobby with no place ro sit or eat, and foe that matter mo trays to take it back to your room. Very expensive for what you get at this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Worst experience. Dirty rooms and in bad condition