Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

A true Caribbean Gem

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Pros: Welcoming culture, the smiles and acknowledgement from all staff, and the beauty of the surroundings as well as special nights and Repeaters Dinner!
Cons: Two of the buildings have already been renovated, and there are plans to renovate the others soon; so we are looking forward to this :-)
Location: Close to Dunn's River Falls and Concierge can make arrangements for anything you want to do from biking in the mtns. to a sunset cruise or shopping.
The setting for this resort is absolutely beautiful with sunsets and well-manicured grounds and the friendliest staff you'll ever find. They make you feel welcome and are willing to accommodate your any request. This was our 7th visit to a Couples Resort and we are already planning to return next year! The resort invests so much time and effort into special beach and gala celebrations as well as a "Repeaters Dinner" where the general manager sincerely demonstrates his care and concern for his staff and his guests! Thank you!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non-smoking policy not enforced

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Pros: Staff were very pleasant,
Cons: If they are going to allow smoking on the balconies, they should have designated buildings that allow for that.
Location: Beach area was a bit disappointing and fairly weedy.
Although the hotel confirmed that all the rooms were non-smoking, our room definitely was filled with a stale smoke smell.. It caused a throat irritation and coughing as I am allergic to cigarette smoke. After I complained, they sent staff to clean the room again but the smoke smell persisted. They did not offer to change our room. Smoking was also allowed on the balconies. The guests next door were heavy smokers and smoke wafted into our balcony area making it uncomfortable to sit outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Great vacation destination. Staff was friendly and attentive. Meals consistent and delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful location

Posted Feb 21, 2018
This is a wonderful, laid back resort. The staff was fantastic! Food was excellent and drinks were great. Lots of activity choices! We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Nice hotel and interesting landscape.

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: The Balloon bar, the Martini bar, the restaurants, the main beach and the grounds.
Cons: Set up schedules that are kept for the Guests and then have the staff prepare them. Some day a Guest will be injured trying to set up a Volleyball net
Location: We were there when there was a state of emergency and did not venture off the resort,
I like these type of resorts mainly to play water volleyball in the warm sun. This resort had a schedule of activities in the room that in no way represented the actual events. Instead of the staff on Sunset beach setting up the volleyball net they did nothing, so the guests set it up themselves, that is if you could find it. I did not even get to play on the last two days of my holiday. I asked the staff if they could get me some Guinness beer and was told they could not supply it (it is made in Jamaica). I was at a 3 star resort and they had no problem bringing it in. There are a lot of resorts equivalent to this one in Jamaica and i think i will try different one next time. If this is not important to you then you will probably have a great time here. The main beach is nice, not as nice as Bloody Bay in Negril but few are. The amenities are more attractive than most resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Private and pleasing

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Pros: Close to the beach and very nice. Beaches are not crowded.
Cons: Wifi
Location: Shopping, dunn's river falls, maragritaville
This place is the real deal. if you want to relax and enjoy each other this place is great. The staff were very nice and went out of their way to be friendly. No crowds no rush just 24/7 pampering and a beautiful facility. The wifi can be a little sketchy and the TV isn't the greatest, however, both work. When we return I'll probably bring a a roku or fire stick so I can project Netflix for rain days. Honestly, one of the best vacations I've ever had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by chouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are truly glad that you had enjoyed your vacation here at couples Sans Souci. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

People, come on Mon!

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: For a tropical resort, our room was cool (temp) which can be a challenge.
Cons: Too many things to list
Location: 1.5+ hrs from airport. It is a long haul.
I am not going to go into a long dissertation on this resort. Basically it is a resort in need of a significant renovation. The general repair and maintenance is not good. The food is ok, The pool and beach are self service. The staff friendliness, etc is hit and miss. Leadership is lacking. Bottom line there are better options. Not sure if the better options are on Jamaica, but look elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Chouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please note we will be looking into the short comings of your vacation. We do hope we will be able to host you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent customer service and facilities

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Not a hotel in the usual sense, blocks discreetly arranged to ensure privacy and easy access to all services. Everything within easy reach.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Everything onsite you may need. Book onsite taxi to main Ocho Rios for shopping. Too far to walk although very safe, take usual precautions.
From start to finish the excellent customer service, friendliness and all round facilities could not be beaten. A short 3 night stay and left wanting more. Cannot fault anything and highly recommend. We stayed in a beachfront room and the accommodation was vast, well equipped and importantly everything within a stroll. We did not try the formal dining, organised daily onsite activities or the au naturel beach which was very discretely located, but sampled everything else. Evening entertainment was very professional except for one night, which was clearly a stand in but made up for it by being unintentionally funny. In room dining was limited but you can eat at the Grill almost 24hrs so the choice is yours. Very relaxed, and a big shout out to the staff and special mention to the staff at the Beach Bar. If you go no where else off site, do try the included excursion to Dunns River Falls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by chouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are truly glad that you had enjoyed your vacation here at couples Sans Souci. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

OUR UPGRADED ROOM THAT WASN'T

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: The views and the grounds are spectacular. The bar staff and the food is excellent. The pools and spas are clean.
Cons: Rooms need updating, spa personnel need training on customer service. Management needs to be responsive to guest feedback.
We had a number of items that we disliked about the room and service. We paid for the upgraded room on Expedia and failed to get an oceanfront updated room upon arrival. While this wouldn't be the worst thing, the hotel failed to find an upgraded room during our stay and nobody seems interested in refunding the paid for upgrade that was never delivered. Our room was sparsely furnished, the room was dated, very tired, broken tiles, missing baseboard, no bathroom window or fan, missing chair pillows, desk lamps for table lamps. We were on our honeymoon and supposed to get a free couples massage. We were approached by the spa staff on numerous occasions. They were more than willing to book us into a 50 or 90 minute massage treatment at any time we wanted, but when we mentioned we were interested in booking our free couples message, we were told that were limited time slots and that we would have to come back later when the office was open and book it then. It was clear they didn't really care about giving the included massage, but were more interested in selling the spa services. The premium alcohol is not readily available, runs out quickly and is up-charged to stock in the room ($50 for a bottle of Crown Royal). Garbage was piled up in the common areas for most of the day. Dirty dishes from room service are left out and bags of garbage sat under our bedroom window the entire duration of our stay. Brought these issues to management while there, but nothing was done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by chouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are truly glad that you had enjoyed your vacation here at couples Sans Souci. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future. Thou you may have experienced some cons, I do hope it didn't hinder you having an awesome time with us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

WONDERFUL VACATION!

Posted Jan 9, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: The one-bedroom ocean suite was very nice with great balcony, very roomy and walk in shower. Loved it!
Cons: Awesome resort!
Location: We mainly stayed on the resort. We did go on a shopping trip on day provided by the resort. Will probably venture out more next time!
Wonderful place to stay! We had a great time and will definitely return. We were greeted with champagne and cool towels upon arrival at the resort. Check in was a breeze and we were in our room in no time. Food was delicious and so were the various drinks consumed. We had a one-bedroom ocean suite with an amazing view. The staff was awesome! Very friendly and accommodating. Jamaican people are awesome! Loved Couples San Souci!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by chouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are truly glad that you had enjoyed your vacation here at couples Sans Souci. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.