Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great place to relax and unwind. 5 stars on everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mintego bay

Old world charm and service on a beautiful beach

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We only stayed for one night visiting for a charity concert, wish we could have stayed longer. Lunch and breakfast were excellent. The veranda of our room looking out to the croquet area and beach was elegant and cool so relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Sherlene Hickling , Hotel Management
Hello Mark, thank you for your stellar review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity to taste our delectable food and enjoyed our spacious rooms. We hope to see you again very soon! All the best until then. Best wishes, Sherlene Hickling Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from eastern shore of maryland

only stayed one night.

Posted May 10, 2017
our short stay was very nice. no drama between check in and check out. because of the weather ,use of all the resort had to offer was limited. Grounds are well manicured and clean. our room was beautiful if a bit remote. bar and restaurant were excellent.a few nitpicky things which for the cost should be corrected,as brooms left in hallways,etc. overall quite a nice stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Sherlene Hickling , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing Jamaica Inn John! We're glad you had the opportunity to experience our beautiful grounds and excellent staff. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again, we wish you all the very best until then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Heavenly place, the best people, & incredible food

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the fabulous meals, the spacious rooms, no bugs, immaculate facility
Cons: How can you improve perfect?
Location: Going out with the Hotel's kayak, taking the boat to Dunn's River Falls, drive through Fern Gully, the Beach Horse ride, and going to the Blue Hole
We are not tourist and do not like being in the crowds, so I was a bit concerned about I realized how many cruise ships come into Ocho Rios each day. Those fears were unneeded because the Hotel is in it's own private world. We were there during peak season (first week in April) and though the hotel was 80% full we never had to wait for a seat in the dining room, we always had our choice of beach chairs, and were easily able to get in at the spa. When the staff greets you and says, "Welcome home", they truly mean it. The owners and staff really care and want you to have the best experience. We found the meals to be absolutely incredible (best French toast, BLT's, and fresh fish). The beach bbq was an absolutely dream like experience with the beautiful lights, music, sound of the waves, and more incredible food than you could ever consume. The staff would go over board to ensure you were happy, but never bothered you when you were enjoying the sun or a nap on the beach. The anniversary beach dinner that the staff put together for my wife and I was second to none. The rooms were always kept 100% clean and each day a special touch was always added to the room whether it be the beautiful flowers or the candles put throughout the room while we were at dinner. I was amazed that we never encountered a mosquito. The spa was another heavenly experience. To be able to share a massage with my wife right on the water was incredible. We can't wait to get back!
5 out of 5
by Stewart

Exceptional hotel, staff and setting.

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic, atmospheric hotel with excellent facilities and very warm, friendly staff. A smart yet also relaxed vibe, perfect for lounging on the beach with a bottle of red stripe during the day, then rum cocktails overlooking the ocean in the evening. Not a place to visit if you're looking for a party vibe, but if relaxation is the aim then it's a beautiful setting with an extremely nice beach. Restaurants in the vicinity are relatively limited with only a few good options, but the food at the hotel is of good quality and variety, from the breakfast options, to lunch at the beach bar and the more formal dinner service (normally with accompanying live music). The staff were consistently excellent and very welcoming. They were always attentive and helpful without being intrusive, and lack the fussiness that you often get at luxury hotels. In addition there were nice little touches like getting you involved in turtle-hatching on the beach, to a small gift when you leave. Only downside of the place is the drive from either Kingston or Montego Bay airports is fairly substantial and will make a discernible difference to your journey. The number of guests we met who were repeat visitors and staunch fans of the hotel was indicative of the effect the place had and I could definitely imagine making a repeat visit in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017
Hello Stewart, Thank you so much for your five star review! It means so much to us that you speak so highly of the service you received. We're are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend Jamaica Inn to others. We hope to see you again very soon. Sherlene Hickling Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent service and beautiful location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Maurice the head chef made gluten free bread especially for me! He also lead a farm market trip and a great Jamaican cooking class.
Cons: a little stiff - the "men in collars" at dinner for a island resort seemed somewhat dated. Music at happy hour or at afternoon tea perhaps acoustic
Location: plenty to do at the hotel itself - trips to town or nearby falls all require a hefty car fee of $50 to $100 - which seems a little steep.
We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. We arrived fairly early and left a little later and there was no problem staying later in the room on the last day or getting in early the first. There are a lot of activities so ASK what is going on or they don't mention it. We missed a yoga class and afternoon tea the first two days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Sherlene Hickling , Hotel Management
Dear Kathleen, Thank you so much for taking the time to pen such a great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and our exquisite food. Just in case you wanted to review activities offered on site, all our weekly activities are listed in your welcome packet as well as placed in our guest rooms. We hope to see you again very soon. Sherlene Hickling Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Anne

Beautiful, elegant and glamorous beach cottage!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is phenomenal! Not only is the entire resort beautiful, my room was a beautiful cottage style oasis! Plantation shutter doors opened to a balcony/veranda had a sweeping ocean view and comfortable couch, chair and dining table and chairs. It was such a wonderful extension of my living space. The rooms don't have Tv's so you are encouraged to unplug and relax and enjoy the sprawling amenities and I really did experience it! I had them set up a private dinner on the beach, had an 80 minute massage in a private, beachside tree house at Ocean spa, enjoyed the complimentary tea time, had dinner under the stars with live reggae at the hotel restaurant, enjoyed breakfast on my veranda, lunch on the beach in a beach swing...I thoroughly enjoyed the many wonderful amenities at this property. I had wonderful service for the entirety of my stay and truly hated to leave as they state in their brochure- you have to leave to return. I'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Incredible cottage, right on the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cottage #2. The beach. Teddy, the bartender which has worked there for the past 58 years... I think that says something about this hotel's management.
Cons: Nothing we could think of
Location: Perfect location in Ocho Rios. Restaurants, waterfall, snorkeling/scuba, blue mountain coffee plantation tour
Great private beach and well kept facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Wonderful restaurant and bar. Unique SPA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A colonial throwback

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Very relaxing hotel with a large private beach Rooms a bit small reflecting the wider ambience of the hotel which retains its 1950/60 feel Quite a bit of history.Balconies v spacious with fantastic views Food and staff could not be faulted
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your your review! You've described our best features perfectly, the ambiance and spacious rooms are always a guest favorite. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The perfect antidote for the mega-resort!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hotel for those wanting a smaller, more personal experience than the "vacation factory" big resort properties. Impeccably decorated and maintained, it doesn't show that it's one of the old-school properties in Ocho Rios; rather, it has that ideal combination of top-condition property with a staff who all know how to do their part to make each guest feel absolutely special. The number of guests who have been coming back for years (in one couple's case, decades), speaks to the consistently great experience provided by every one of the staff we met. We feel we made friends with several in our short stay, and want to give a special shout out to Patrice, our dinner server/sommelier/caretaker most nights. We hope to be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our sentiments exactly! Thank you for taking the time to pen this review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experience the customized services we're able to offer. We'll be sure to pass on your sentiments to Patrice. All the very best until we see you again.