Ratings based on 2,356 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great hotel friendly atmosphere. Bed was disappointing. Great all inclusive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Absolutely fabulous.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The lobby was breath taking. Nice and spacious for us. The delicious rum punch helped too.
Cons: The WiFi only allowed 2 devices at a time which was fine, but when I tried to take one off so I could use the other it would not let me change devices
Location: It was nearby everything it mentioned in the ad. Taxi service was also readily available.
Food was excellent. Location excellent. Everything exceeded my expectations. Only complaint I have is they gave my husband and I a beautiful ocean view room, but the terrace was a total cement terrace. We could not see out unless we stood up. I mean really, who wants to stand up all the time on a terrace with beautiful relaxing chairs, but you are looking at a solid cement wall? Other than that I enjoyed everything!! Plan to book my vacation at Riu in Montego Bay for 2018. But I will make sure to ask for a full view terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

amazing beach

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel was massive and featured one of the most gorgeous stretches of beach I have stayed at. It is worth staying on the Deluxe side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

2nd time to Jamaica

Posted Sep 19, 2017
My 2nd time to Riu Ocho Rios, resort is beautiful, food is great, staff is wonderful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, bad rooms

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: food selection was large and plentiful; beach is beautiful; entertainment at pool, employees are friendly
Cons: rooms need major upgrade
Overall the resort was beautiful and our trip to Jamaica was AMAZING, but we would not stay at this location again. Rooms themselves were rough (don't be surprised if when you first get there they complimentary 'upgrade' you...it's not an upgrade)...asked to switch rooms after the first night (giant dent in old bed, green tv on every station, toilet that wouldn't flush etc.) and the room they switched us to had exactly the same problems. Maid service didn't come 3 of the days. The 'resort credits' you get on expedia for this hotel are actually just small coupons that they give you multiples of to equal the amount so that was lame. Security of the hotel was also a bit concerning as they put your room number right on your key so if you lose it or have it at the pool and someone grabs it they can go straight to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The staff was very accommodating and the food excellent but there are a few things overlooked by management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Second Honeymoon

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Location was awesome. Entertainment staff was friendly, always trying to engage and most of the shows were entertaining. The nurse and on call doctor were very good as we needed them due to some kind of stomach issue my wife and I contacted. The infinity pool area was very nice and the swim up bar was kept sanitary and the staff was very friendly and engaging. Room view from the fifth floor was awesome. Numerous bars available wherever you went even on the beach. Glass in the beach sand in several locations. Large swim up bar staff were NOT washing the cups used to serve drinks. When the cups come in they were rinsed out, put in a plastic tub then pulled out and reused WITHOUT washing or sanitizing. This was very disturbing to us as we watched for an hour to be sure we were seeing what we thought we were seeing. We spent the rest of our time at the beach or smaller pool which was very clean about all aspects. Our first night going to bed we found sand between the sheets. Beds were like sleeping on rocks with pillows as flat as magazines. We had to ask to get the sheets changed or the bed was just remade. Had to ask for washcloths on two occasions as we received none.The food was extremely disappointing in quality and taste with very little choice of Jamaican style food and NO lobster or crab meat. For the money spent for this trip I would expect not perfect but much better in all these areas. I will go back to Jamaica but not this resort again. Beware.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
My stay waa very good the staff was very pleasant and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Best Vacation

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Crystal Clear Blue Water,White Sandy Beaches,Food and Drinks were amazing!So much fun things to do in and around the hotel!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Convenient, could be better.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Front desk started out ok on arrival, room was a nice size, but it had a bathroom smell throughout the room, work was being done on the balcony 3 of my 4 nights there. Food was ok, I wish there were more of an Island cuisine to select from especially fruits. My flight was rescheduled by the airline due to hurricane Irma and the best they could offer after being transferred and hung up on was $138usd for the night...there is no phone transactions you have to walk to the front desk, horrible customer service the front desk staff was arguementative and rude, they're protocol is not to allow the customer to speak with a manager. While I'm in a crisis there was no assistance so for me very sub par I will stay elsewhere next time.