Ratings based on 1,716 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family friendly hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
I had a great time at the RIU. I would be glad to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Amazing staff

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Staff was amazing very welcoming, hotel wasn’t as modern as I would have liked It but it wasn’t bad I would rate the food 4.5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large resort with lots of stuff to do.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
We got married at the resort and stayed for our honeymoon. The staff is absolutely wonderful and always happy. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you need

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Friendly staff, good entertainment, always something going on, beautiful setting, lots of food. No real complaints. Thanks for the good vacation!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Needs Remodel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were all friendly.
Cons: As stated above the whole hotel needs paint and repairs.
Location: Don't book with JTL transportation. It took 2 1/2 hours to get to our hotel. The driver had to stop at ten other hotels before ours. Never again.
Stayed at this hotel about seven years ago and really enjoyed our stay. Went back and it looks like there have been no up keep of the facilities. The ceilings and walls are in much need of repainting. The roll up shades to protect from wind and rain are covered in mold. The concrete in the pool area has many cracked tiles. Very disappointing. Our TV in the room did not work well. We asked to have it fixed three times but then gave up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK...USA

Very large, nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. GREAT food! Very nice setting and very pretty landscaping.
Cons: None
Location: 15 Minutes bus ride from Ocho Rios, Dunns River Falls, Shopping, And many other activities.
Very large, nice hotel with great food and buffets. The only negative is the distance from the airport (apprx 1-1/2 to 2 hours bus drive each way).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel friendly staff good food entertainment

Posted Nov 29, 2017
It was really enjoyable the entertainment crew deserved goal medal they were amazing also the nurse on call went above and beyond to assist me I would strongly recommend them
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but older rooms.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Hotel was nice and food excellent. Only thing was rooms older and big wooden doors with one key. Lots of banging on doors late into the night. Also its 90min bus ride from airport. Beach and facilities good, staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Very nice resort. I will definitely stay again!

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: All inclusive, the shows and food, Everyone is so nice.
Cons: The only thing that I did not like is the scent of the mothball smell that were in the rooms. I requested a room change and their was no problem.
Location: The excursions that we did were about 10 minutes away. Mystic Mountain has a Skylander ski lift to view the area, bobsled ride and zip lining.
The shows every night were great. The food and the beverages (all inclusive) were amazing. The entire staff was very helpful and courteous. I will definitely stay again and let my family and friends know about the RIU Ocho Rios.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful beach, that’s it!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Unfriendly, uniformative staff. Close to town but ultra expensive to travel anywhere off resort. Generic buffet food. Drinks come in reused, unsanitary glassware. Games all day long by the pool that interrupt anyone who’s trying to relax in the sun. Adequate chairs on the beach which is beautiful, but not enough to ever bring me back to Jamaica or a RIU. Run down, smelled moldy, terrible bed and broken patio furniture. I travel all over the islands, and this was the worst expletive to date. Sorry travelers; avoid this one.