Ratings based on 2,387 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

YaaMon

Posted Nov 19, 2017
I highly recommend this resort for your vacation. The resort could use a renovation the room we had still had the box TVs key for Door and key for safe but very clean and the staff was wonderful . The only thing I didn’t like is that there were no coffee in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

RIU Ocho Rios (November 2017)

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: GREAT BEACH! Food was great, especially the Jerk Hut (located on the beach) - serves local Jamaican food daily for lunch.
Cons: The hotel needs to get new beds!! Beds are terribly uncomfortable.
Beautiful resort!!! One of the best resort beaches I've ever been too!!! The hotel was great & food was delicious. The only negative thing I can say is the bed was very uncomfortable. I requested a room with 1 king size bed and got a room with 2 full size beds (pushed together). The hotel staff said this is a "king bed room." I didn't want to cause an argument on the first day, so I just tried to sleep with this accommodation (wasn't horrible, but definitely not what I wanted or expected). Also, I was supposed to get $460 resort credit from booking with Expedia. However, the resort did not honor this from my itinerary. Instead, they gave me a couple $15 off of a massage coupons for the spa (did not use). I recommend checking on the bed situation before booking or arrival (make sure you don't have an old, uncomfortable bed).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel with great entertainment.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
amazing experience couldn't of been any better. I believe my favorite part was the food and all the great drinks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

My very honest review

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I am not a picky person. I enjoy everything and enjoy my trips to the fullest but I know other people are very different. When booking this trip the reviews did not win me over. The 4 star rating and the area did. Everyone has a preference and level of expectation right? The hotel was standard, nothing extraordinary. The food was nothing too special, but I do love endless buffet of options! The steakhouse (mammee bay) took a while to actually get the entree but when I did receive it, it was delicious. The staff cleaned and worked their butts off daily and I appreciate their efforts to accomdate us guests! The bartenders were very helpful, gave us ideas of where to go or what to do and always came up with a different drink when we couldn't decide what to get. Adrian the bartender was one of our favorites! The beach was very clean and well maintenanced. The rooms didn't get as cold for AC as I expected and the TVs were very staticky but again, I wasn't their to watch law and order, I was their to relax! I got a massage on the beach with my friend and it was very enjoyable and we received a bottle of champagne (that we totally forgot about! Oops). The sports bar wasn't my favorite, it had a funky smell and the snack food looked old but we didn't go down their unless it was for the ATM (which I think they should get more than one ATM!) The ATMs off resorts only dispense Jamaican money! I wouldn't come back for a while because I like to see other places before repeating resorts!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Need update in the rooms, terrible bed. The buffet food was cold and grease. The staff was rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A little old fashion, but nice qualities

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: I loved the small gestures like remembering my birthday and giving me a cake. I absolutely loved the view from my room and the entertainment
Cons: They need upgrades like a flat screen tv, a phone with instructions, a safe that doesn’t require you to use a key. The food needs major improvement
Location: It is really close to Dunn’s River Falls & Mystic Mountain
I was impressed with the front desk at the RIU especially Anna and the guy who checked me in. I received a call from the front desk immediately when I got to my room to make sure everything was to my liking. The front desk was also kind enough to remember my birthday and gave me a cake & a card. ( I never told them it was my birthday) They have an Expedia expert who assists with activities and other tour specialist which comes in handy. The entertainment was spectacular and made my visit even more enjoyable. Now after saying all those great things let’s talk about the cons of this hotel: they need upgrades the tv was older than me & im over 30, they actually gave me a key to my room & safe ( who stills uses keys) the food was nothing special and could use some variety along with improving the quality. The worse part was the maintenance men stole the maid’s tip that I left for her. They watched me leave my room with my suitcase and when I returned to the room because I forgot something...the money was gone. I have emailed the hotel and still waiting on a response concerning this matter other than what I stated, I would still recommend this hotel. I would suggest staying in a room with upgrades because the regular rooms smell like mold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The hotel itself is very nice. The standard side rooms were a little disappointing the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The box spring was dirty as well. The rooms also have a bubble back tv talk about a throwback.The staff did not change the sheets on the bed one time during our stay.I was a little turned off as some staff in the dining area touched food without gloves then put it out to serve guest. Overall it is a nice hotel but could use some upgrading on the standard side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We had a great time at his resort. It’s huge! A lot of food choices and close to many of the tour options. The beach is clean and within close distance of reef that you can snorkel. They also have shows and bars open at night for your enjoyment!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel/Chicago

Worst trip ever. I was very disappointed.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: I liked the entertainment
Cons: The rooms need to be updated starting with the destruction of the ugly yellow bed covers, a better cable provider, and update Tv's. Cleanliness
Location: great location lots to do nearby
I always travel to Jamacia but wanted to go five star all inclusive. unfortunately for me I chose tthe RIU. Expedia needs to actually stay at the hotels they post on their site. I now know that a standard room at this five star hotel means; old and outdated, with horrible yellow bed covers, a bed that so low to the floor my back hurt the very first night, and a TV that was from the fifty's which by the way didn't work for 4 days!!!! I complained the second day and I got an upgrade to a room that was exactly the same!!!! So frustrating. On the second to last day of my stay, after complaining that the TV still didn't work, I was upgraded to a deluxe suite which was much better with a real bed and no ugly yellow bedspread. But the front door to my room and the hallways got flooded when it rained and no one got the water up. I had to wade through the water and track it just to enter my room!!! To add insult to injury at check out I sent my luggage to the lobby which contained a seperate bag of bottled beverages that I bought and that was stolen right off the bellboys trolley almost in front of my eyes!!! At that point I just wanted to go home. If you book your stay only do the deluxe room. Otherwise stay somewhere else. Also that hotel credit that they offer on expedia is a farce as you can only use it on item that are overpriced Expedia needs to let you know that there are restriction with this offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Roy Ocho, my stay

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Ok so The room had a very musty smell. They are supposed to refill your alcohol every other day. The only hard alcohol I would drink is the vodka of course it was pretty much an empty bottle when we arrived. When we left after 5 days it was still empty.:( Even though I pointed it out to the staff. Our room was pretty outdated and in need of some repair. The cleaning staff left our room half cleaned several times with the bed even half made? Not sure what that was about. All the food is pretty much buffet style but actually very good. They have different activities throughout the day that were fun.