Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

Clean hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel was clean but very outdated. Not as many beach view rooms as I expected. Bed very uncomfortable. Most of the staff was super nice and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton, england

Over priced hotel with poor service

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Got to our butler village after a long flight and drive. Was greated by staff with a cold towel to freshen up. Then after that the service went out the window. Took an hour to be checked in as the room was not ready at 8pm! Took another two hours of multiple phone calls to get my suitcase up to the room. Failing this i had to go find my suitcase and take it to the room myself. No air conditioning in the bedroom only the lounge. Toilet in the bathroom didnt flush was told maintainance would be out to sort both issues. Ended up fix toilet myself and getting a fan from reception. Sandals sure know how to keep you fit. Poor nights sleep on a floppy matress. Next morning maintainance came out and said he'll sort air con out from outside. We went down for breakfast came went out for the day, came back and guess what still not fixed! Complained to the Butler who apparently is just a concierge service who said she'll sort it. Left it with her for night number two in a hot bedroom. We was also given a list of resturants we had to eat at for the week and was not allowed to go to where we wanted as we was already prebooked by our butler service. Went to a japanese resturant, looks the business but knows how to serve raw meat. The chief thinks that its cooked but i say undercooked. Next day suffering with a bad belly stayed in our room. Our air con started working at lunchtime as the maintainance man was outside recharging the gas. As the room temperature dropped from 26c down to 20c i f
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA.

Nice place but would experiment with others

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: everything was fine especially the restaurants
Cons: More information at checkin
Location: nice location on the beach side went zip lining and the bobsled close by
Did not know we di not have room service until I tried to order should be informed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent for vacación Good atención Clean hotel Especial please
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpfull and the restaurants were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Romance relax

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Hotel is awesome went scuba diving went fishing with the Jamaican local on his Jamaican small boat and caught tuna went to t a j ma Hal shop center and of course Harley Davidson. The island is beautiful and the ocean incredible the Jamaican people are very nice The resort has many dining options our favorite was reef terrace overlooking the ocean the staff is polite and hard working the spa is incredible book the romantic dinner on the beach it is 200$ but worth the memory the hotel is a no tipping policy but the average worker barely makes any money so slide your maid or server a little tip and man will your service be a 10 plus. The best thing to do is buy club Mobay for 30$ per person before you go. It is a fast pass for customs and the tsa also when you leave they have a fast pass to leave and there is a lounge with comfort and food and drink . We arrived without club Mo bay and took 2 hrs to get through immigration. The ride to Ochoa rios is 1.5 hours after 2 hrs in immigration line
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
It is older compared to other resorts. Depending on room type depends on amenities. Other all inclusive, adults only, all guest get the same amenities, such as room service for the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Simply Amazing

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This resort is huge. Beautiful grounds and so many restaurants that me and my wife did not even get to try them all and we stayed for 9 days. Staff was very nice and attentive. Overall we had a wonderful honeymoon and will certainly come back there in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Average experience

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We stayed at sandals ochi beach for 6 nights. The site was very pretty with lots of room to roam without any feeling of overcrowding. The pools and beaches were very clean. Food was pretty good. If you want to eat at the reservation only restaurants you must book them as soon as you arrive. We did this and still only got to eat at 3 of the 4 restaurants that require reservations. There was not an abundance of things to do in ocho Rios. We did the Dunns River Tour but felt it was super over priced through Sandals. Do yourself a favor and save 30$ a person by getting a taxi. The shopping tour at 20$ per person was a rip off and was pretty terrible. We felt this place was better suited for a younger crowd. Many couples were honeymooners who seemed to enjoy the party atmosphere of drinking and loud music whereas we were on our 11 year anniversary and all we wanted was a more mature crowd in a quiet setting. We also experienced a major problem with the hot water system and only had hot water 2 days out of our stay. We were not offered compensation and told we could travel (by their bus system "the hop") to the other side of the property to the spa area to take a warm shower which I felt was totally unacceptable. Also their aqua trikes which were supposed to be free for guests to use were out of service the entire week. For a 5000$+ vacation all things considered, my husband and I will not be visiting another Sandals resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

I will never stay at a Sandals again.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
I will never stay at a Sandals Resort again. Mediocre food when you could get a "reservation" at one of their many restaurants. The staff is 50/50 nice/could care less. The beaches and rooms are not as nice as pictured. The water pressure in the shower was a trickle if you tried to shower at peak "bathing" times. I would give this a 3 star max and that's being generous.