Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Romance relax

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Hotel is awesome went scuba diving went fishing with the Jamaican local on his Jamaican small boat and caught tuna went to t a j ma Hal shop center and of course Harley Davidson. The island is beautiful and the ocean incredible the Jamaican people are very nice The resort has many dining options our favorite was reef terrace overlooking the ocean the staff is polite and hard working the spa is incredible book the romantic dinner on the beach it is 200$ but worth the memory the hotel is a no tipping policy but the average worker barely makes any money so slide your maid or server a little tip and man will your service be a 10 plus. The best thing to do is buy club Mobay for 30$ per person before you go. It is a fast pass for customs and the tsa also when you leave they have a fast pass to leave and there is a lounge with comfort and food and drink . We arrived without club Mo bay and took 2 hrs to get through immigration. The ride to Ochoa rios is 1.5 hours after 2 hrs in immigration line
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
It is older compared to other resorts. Depending on room type depends on amenities. Other all inclusive, adults only, all guest get the same amenities, such as room service for the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Simply Amazing

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This resort is huge. Beautiful grounds and so many restaurants that me and my wife did not even get to try them all and we stayed for 9 days. Staff was very nice and attentive. Overall we had a wonderful honeymoon and will certainly come back there in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Average experience

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We stayed at sandals ochi beach for 6 nights. The site was very pretty with lots of room to roam without any feeling of overcrowding. The pools and beaches were very clean. Food was pretty good. If you want to eat at the reservation only restaurants you must book them as soon as you arrive. We did this and still only got to eat at 3 of the 4 restaurants that require reservations. There was not an abundance of things to do in ocho Rios. We did the Dunns River Tour but felt it was super over priced through Sandals. Do yourself a favor and save 30$ a person by getting a taxi. The shopping tour at 20$ per person was a rip off and was pretty terrible. We felt this place was better suited for a younger crowd. Many couples were honeymooners who seemed to enjoy the party atmosphere of drinking and loud music whereas we were on our 11 year anniversary and all we wanted was a more mature crowd in a quiet setting. We also experienced a major problem with the hot water system and only had hot water 2 days out of our stay. We were not offered compensation and told we could travel (by their bus system "the hop") to the other side of the property to the spa area to take a warm shower which I felt was totally unacceptable. Also their aqua trikes which were supposed to be free for guests to use were out of service the entire week. For a 5000$+ vacation all things considered, my husband and I will not be visiting another Sandals resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

I will never stay at a Sandals again.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
I will never stay at a Sandals Resort again. Mediocre food when you could get a "reservation" at one of their many restaurants. The staff is 50/50 nice/could care less. The beaches and rooms are not as nice as pictured. The water pressure in the shower was a trickle if you tried to shower at peak "bathing" times. I would give this a 3 star max and that's being generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The food, the service, the accomodations
Cons: We noticed that even though there were designated areas for smoking; people were smoking on the beach out in public. This should be monitored better
Location: We wanted this to be a very relaxing vacation; the one thing we wanted to do was the Dunns River Falls and it was just beautiful. Highly recommend i
Everything about our romantic stay was amazing. This was our first time in Jamaica; first time at a Sandals resort and we had such a wonderful time. Everyone was lovely; very accommodating; very sweet; everything was perfect. The staff; wow; we cannot speak highly enough about all of them. The entertainment was great; the activities lots of fun. We will definitely go back. Thank you to everyone at Sandals Ochi Beach for making our stay so memorable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great hotel with excellent service

Posted May 1, 2017
We had a great room with ocean view just as described on expedia. The hotel staff was excellent. They were always checking to see if we needed anything and would do anything for you. The food was very good also. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The personnel. The Italian restaurant.
Cons: Organize activities. Reservations for dining needs much improvement. Too many steps which makes it too difficult for easier movement.
Location: Golf
Close to the beach which was uncomfortable with all the rocks and pebbles. Activities at night lacking All other daytime activities were too distant and required too much time to access. Sandals, Montego Bay, although the oldest is still the best of all.
4 out of 5
by Julie

Mixed feelings bit 18-30 ish!

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. Mixed feelings really; hotel was very big with 2 sides, beach side or hillside (they also advertise in the little newspaper you get each day with entertainment and activity details in that you can use the Plantation - not so I am afraid. We tried a few times, one to access from the beach and were made to feel like criminals, once to access via transport only to be advised you cannot just drop in you have to make plans at reception - gave up!) We stayed beach side having booked a normal apartment (I think villas are on the hillside) getting between the 2 is easy a hopper bus runs every 5 minutes. Beach is small with sunbeds but absolutely no shade, no umbrellas or huts to shield you from the very hot sun! It seemed pretty quiet when we arrived with some of the restaurants not even open on some evenings. Few snack places serving basic food between certain hours, restaurants open certain times. Restaurants we did try were fine with the Japanese one being excellent. There is a large pool on both hillside and beach side both loud and 18-30 like. One or two quieter smaller pools dotted about. Setting is pretty especially hillside. Lots of staff around and all very friendly; grounds are immaculate. Room was OK we had room 3012 not much of a view and small bathroom but near to the quiet pool. Cant comment on the local area as we only had 4 nights here and remained in the complex. Too big and Butlins like for me I am afraid!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Exceptional all-inclusive experience!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: I would recommend taking a trip to Nine Mile, the birthplace and mausoleum of Bob Marley.
We decided to stay at Ochi to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, and we couldn't be more pleased with the experience. The staff at Ochi are always friendly and make you feel welcome. The rooms were great, we had the concierge package and it came with a fully stocked bar! The food was good and the bartenders were generous!