Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Low season....Low Expectations

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I know I booked during Hurricane & low season ..so I didn't think it would be crowded...but .we were like 15 people there ..Wow!!.... Wait Staff was the best part of this place as there was not much else to do there...Pool was old looking....but the Sandy Beach great....Desserted but still pleasant Oh if you use the internet regularly ..Dont stay here....Wifi signal was also dropping off & spinning with internet may not be able on your device ....morning day & even nighttime hours... Also the place was in desperate need of a Paint Job..... tables chairs benches ..balconies...anything in metal was all rusting...or rotting in wood..... Wasn't expecting a 5 star resort...but this was still not worth the 4 star it was rated.....more like a 3 star at best Oh well.. Buyer beware
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is very close to the beach,

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: From you enter the hotel, the staff were very friendly, but very professional
Cons: I could have use more comfortable pillows.
Location: We took a cab into the town "Ocho Rios" where we shop for souvenir.
Had a great time at the hotel, the staff were excellent, very friendly. Love the food, and the all you can drink, "but am not a big drinker".
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Rambo, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thanks so much for your frank review about our Resort and the wonderful commendation given to the Staff. We must apologize for Pillows and if we knew this, could have replaced them with more comfortable ones. We look forward to your next visit and it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest . Kindest regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Renovations Are Badly Needed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff is wonderful and very accommodating- the desk clerk, staff, and bartender go out of their way for you.
Cons: Wifi, quality of meals, updated furniture.
Location: Isolated and too far from the city center of Ocho Rios. No stores or businessmen are in walking distance.
This hotel is not close to the city center of Ocho Rios, and unless you rent a car you will be paying $20 US per ride every time you wish to leave the hotel and $20 to return. Shower, beds, furniture is old and in need of an update. The wifi signal is very weak so forget trying to get onto the internet. It's an all inclusive so meals are included, but we found the food unappetizing, so we didn't eat it, and of course eating out costs $40 just for the taxi ride into the city center. The hotel is right on the beach but the water is dark brown and uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful Experience

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and close to the beach.
Cons: Just needs a little upgrading.
Location: Everything was nearby and convenient!
When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a suite!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Dont do it!!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This place is outdated and smells like a old basement no wifi or refrigerators in the rooms can't get any room service this place is right out of the 60's or 70's ' this is by far the worst place I ever stayed I would've recommended this place to my worst enemies and my cousin was bitten by bed bugs. The only good thing was some of the staff and the view being beach front but definitely not worth the horrible conditions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW JERSEY

If your looking for some place off the beaten path

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: My first time in Jamaica beautiful place....
Cons: Stop making guest feel in order to get service tipping is mandatory.
Location: Really out of the way...... you need transportation to get around in them parts.
If you love isolation due to location. This off the beaten path Hotel will be for you. They can really use some updating. Room where somewhat clean considering out dated facility. We enter the room the first night and had to call house keeping, bathroom was not cleaned. Be mindful that the staff their EXPECT to be tipped if not watch the change in attitude. My activities was pre-booked and paid for thru Expedia weeks in advance to be find out after arriving to Shaw Park Hotel all my activity was cancelled. Due to location. Money was taken - confirmation given and no show for transportation. A 3 hour call with Expedia (date Roaming Charges applied) money credit back to our account, but no activities. The same transportation provider that would not honor the agreement thru Expedia was willing to come-out for cash, arrange by Hotel clerk. SCAM!! Preying on Hotel guest bait and switch routine. All I can say is be is very careful .... Some rooms are set up to where common area to be shared. You get key to hotel room and separate key to lock your bedroom. Again try to stay within reasonable distant
3 out of 5
by olive

My stay at Shaw park.

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
My stay there was quite good. The staff was excellent they were friendly polite and very helpful. The hotel room was very clean. The location is good if you just want to get away from it all and have a nice rest otherwise it was too far away. There was nothing much to do around there. The hotel of itself needs updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location and the staff is great.

Posted Jun 14, 2017
My stay at the hotel would have been perfect if the internet and television service was working. My flight dates were changed and the hotel refused to adjusted so that we could enjoy our trip completely. The hotel had a lot of vacancies.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa.

This hotel just seems like it is worn out.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: the staff
Cons: Take care of the hotel. clean it up and have moor for the guests to do. kayaking ,snorkeling , movies at night .night club
I wish I could get my money back for the hotel. I even had a talk with one of the upper managers named Michael. all plants and bushes over grown. there were only 4 other guests there while we were there. rain gutters falling down. beach was horrible not taken care of. You had to ask for fresh coffee in the morning or they would expect you to drink the day before left overs. Absolutely no service until 8:00 am in the morning so if your an early riser may as well forget coffee of breakfast. I have pictures of cockroaches climbing on the wall in the kitchen. Would leave milk out all day and it would be curdled. No inside bar or gift shop, no live music. It was almost like they were getting ready to close the doors. I wish there was some way for me to get my money back. 5th. time in Jamaica this was by far the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

I'm Officer my at shaw park hotel was great staff

Posted May 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: clean nice staff was great
Cons: Just be who you are. do not change to pleased anyone.
Location: go to the beach have fun one day at a time
I went to buried my mother, and everyone let me feel at home keep up the good work god bless you all