Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Cons: The door locks, the carpet in the hallway, having bellmen, more cable channels and more top shelf liquors.
First I must say the staff was excellent. Raquel was very efficient and helpful. The property is very relaxing and serine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to beach deplorable buildings

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room and shower area had mold dirty and cracked floir tiles in room, fifty, mold on roof deck, building leaking cracked roof, overall building deplorable eating area leaking stayed 5 hours very uncomfortable spooky, no entertainment, no guests , 4 staff observed and other mentanance workers walking around. Needs much renovation. Truly not recommended for anyone. Please
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Older hotel, unsatisfactory service

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: quiet, staff are friendly and location is right on the beach with small beach but adequate yet to be better maintained.
Cons: Food should be plentiful and not to suit the few people that were in the hotel.
Location: good location, a bit hard to find.
This place is getting run down. Staff were very nice but the facility simply needs updating, they need to give customers better service for their money. The food was adequate but not good enough. They did not provide shampoo or conditioner and just one soap !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Low season....Low Expectations

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I know I booked during Hurricane & low season ..so I didn't think it would be crowded...but .we were like 15 people there ..Wow!!.... Wait Staff was the best part of this place as there was not much else to do there...Pool was old looking....but the Sandy Beach great....Desserted but still pleasant Oh if you use the internet regularly ..Dont stay here....Wifi signal was also dropping off & spinning with internet may not be able on your device ....morning day & even nighttime hours... Also the place was in desperate need of a Paint Job..... tables chairs benches ..balconies...anything in metal was all rusting...or rotting in wood..... Wasn't expecting a 5 star resort...but this was still not worth the 4 star it was rated.....more like a 3 star at best Oh well.. Buyer beware
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is very close to the beach,

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: From you enter the hotel, the staff were very friendly, but very professional
Cons: I could have use more comfortable pillows.
Location: We took a cab into the town "Ocho Rios" where we shop for souvenir.
Had a great time at the hotel, the staff were excellent, very friendly. Love the food, and the all you can drink, "but am not a big drinker".
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Rambo, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thanks so much for your frank review about our Resort and the wonderful commendation given to the Staff. We must apologize for Pillows and if we knew this, could have replaced them with more comfortable ones. We look forward to your next visit and it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest . Kindest regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Renovations Are Badly Needed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff is wonderful and very accommodating- the desk clerk, staff, and bartender go out of their way for you.
Cons: Wifi, quality of meals, updated furniture.
Location: Isolated and too far from the city center of Ocho Rios. No stores or businessmen are in walking distance.
This hotel is not close to the city center of Ocho Rios, and unless you rent a car you will be paying $20 US per ride every time you wish to leave the hotel and $20 to return. Shower, beds, furniture is old and in need of an update. The wifi signal is very weak so forget trying to get onto the internet. It's an all inclusive so meals are included, but we found the food unappetizing, so we didn't eat it, and of course eating out costs $40 just for the taxi ride into the city center. The hotel is right on the beach but the water is dark brown and uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful Experience

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and close to the beach.
Cons: Just needs a little upgrading.
Location: Everything was nearby and convenient!
When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a suite!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Dont do it!!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This place is outdated and smells like a old basement no wifi or refrigerators in the rooms can't get any room service this place is right out of the 60's or 70's ' this is by far the worst place I ever stayed I would've recommended this place to my worst enemies and my cousin was bitten by bed bugs. The only good thing was some of the staff and the view being beach front but definitely not worth the horrible conditions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Very quaint hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Loved being steps away from the beach from my room. The rooms were very clean but dated. If you are looking for modern, this hotel is not for you. If you want old world charm you will find it here. The food was good and authentic Jamaican. ,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW JERSEY

If your looking for some place off the beaten path

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: My first time in Jamaica beautiful place....
Cons: Stop making guest feel in order to get service tipping is mandatory.
Location: Really out of the way...... you need transportation to get around in them parts.
If you love isolation due to location. This off the beaten path Hotel will be for you. They can really use some updating. Room where somewhat clean considering out dated facility. We enter the room the first night and had to call house keeping, bathroom was not cleaned. Be mindful that the staff their EXPECT to be tipped if not watch the change in attitude. My activities was pre-booked and paid for thru Expedia weeks in advance to be find out after arriving to Shaw Park Hotel all my activity was cancelled. Due to location. Money was taken - confirmation given and no show for transportation. A 3 hour call with Expedia (date Roaming Charges applied) money credit back to our account, but no activities. The same transportation provider that would not honor the agreement thru Expedia was willing to come-out for cash, arrange by Hotel clerk. SCAM!! Preying on Hotel guest bait and switch routine. All I can say is be is very careful .... Some rooms are set up to where common area to be shared. You get key to hotel room and separate key to lock your bedroom. Again try to stay within reasonable distant