Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wayland, Massachusetts

Ghost Town!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
No blankets on the beds - but I might have some behind the desk! Can you come down and get them...got there and asked for extra pillows told sorry, no more than 2 pillows per guest allowed!....spa closed because worker had to check guests in.... Wont go back -----EVER. 1 .5 STAR. staff very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Needs upgrade!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Old hotel with great potential. Needs serious upgrade: new mattresses, curtains, bath fixtures, etc. The whole building, except for the spa, looks 30 years out of date. Ballroom lights are yellow and falling off the walls. Dinner buffet lacked flavor, scalloped potatoes had sweet/sour sauce? It was not worth $11.99. Hope they can make some changes.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Olympia is a dated hotel and conference center

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Range of facilities.
Cons: Cleanliness and decor of hotel room section.
Location: The hotel is in Oconomowoc, which is just off I-94. Anything you wish is close at hand, either small town comfort or big city amenities.
The Olympia is a dated hotel and conference center that has a very nice hotel lobby and a decent array of amenities such as a heated indoor pool, a bar, a restaurant, gaming, fitness center, spa, conferencing, etc. It's quite a large complex. The room we stayed in had been updated with paint, carpet and plastic tile. It was clean and spacious. The hotel rooms are in a section of the complex that needs significant cleaning and redecorating. It would be easy to be displeased with the hotel, which is neither new nor fresh. However, we paid $80 a night, which got us everything we wished under one roof--a plus if you have three grandchildren. The prices at the bar and restaurant were very affordable and the food and beverages acceptable. When visiting our kids in Oconomowoc we'll probably stay here again IF we can find rooms at these prices. However, this is definitely not a $125-a-night resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
This hotel is unique, and not necessarily in a good way. I found the people at the front desk to be very friendly and helpful. However, that is probably the only positive at the hotel. You had to pay extra to use the gym, which was full of outdated and older equipment (and had TERRIBLE hours). I was unable to control the temperature of the heater in the hotel room so it was either on and extremely hot in the room or off and quite cold. Housekeeping came at 9ish the first morning and we asked them to come back in an hour because we were just finishing up getting ready for the day, and they never came back. The second day housekeeping came at 8:45 AM, and although I was still not even close to being ready for the day, I left so we could get the room cleaned. The bathroom was cramped and the room was very outdated. We could not find room service or wireless internet in the room. I am not hard to please but I was extremely disappointed by my stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big conference center that needs updating.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Its location was excellent to Rogers Hospital.
Cons: Update the climate controls so the rooms are heating up while guests are checking in. Nothing like a cold bed in a very cold room to welcome you.
Location: We were there to visit our daughter at Rodgers hospital. Did not do anything else.
It was a cold rainy day in late November and were sort of let down to go into a frigid room. They turn the heat off to reduce costs, which I can understand lowering the heat. I did not try both the beds, so I do not know if the other one was okay. My wife and I got into bed and both met in the middle. Not sure if Hay Stacks Calhoun was there before us. Kids were already in the other bed and we did not try the other bed. We read the reviews of the restaurant "Rick's", they were so negative we just avoided it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from Bay View

Old school ski lodge on a quiet, romantic setting

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful room and view. Beautiful setting. The hotel is older and some may think it is outdated, but I think it adds to the charm of the place. It is clean and quiet. The food was excellent at the wedding we attended there. We woke up to birds singing in the trees and the wind blowing through the leaves on the trees. It was romantic and relaxing. The bedding, the shower, the room was so comfortable. The hotel lobby was the perfect setting for a ski lodge. The staff was courteous and friendly. We did not have noise from other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria from Jefferson

Nice place to stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Did have to wait a bit after the check-in time to actually get into our room, but the staff was very nice and kept apologizing for the wait. The room was nice and the beds very comfortable. The only thing that would have been nice was to have had more pillows on the bed (only 2 of the small square pillows on each bed) and more towels. Breakfast was great and check out was a breeze.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
It was a nice bed, but a very outdated hotel. Wallpaper pealing off in the bathroom. Poor service from the hotel manager in regards to a wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels