Ratings based on 753 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jens Ejbye

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Noel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
Stay was very good. Hotel nice. Food good. Staff very good. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017
Dear Martin. Thank you very much for your positive review after staying with us. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wishing you welcome back at First Hotel Grand. Best regards, Mette Hafstrøm
4 out of 5
by FASIH UDDIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

If you must go check what you get before paying

Posted Oct 22, 2017
I have booked a room with king size bed ,this was the confirmation at expedia site. When I checked in I got a tiny room with queen size or smaller bed, “This is what we have said the guy at reception.” Can I speak with the manager ? , “He is not in “ was the answer. It’s Friday.... Can I cancel the reservation? this is not my problem call Expedia...( The room was prepared). Where can I park my car ? ,... sorry was the answer we do not have car parking , on Expedia site you said you have self parking for additional cost... “we use the public parking across the street but today it’s full”. You do not mention that at your Expedia site that the parking you use is a public one ... sorry.....he said. This was one of The very very few times that I have found out that there is no connection between the Expedia hotel page and the truth .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Nice location. Breakfast was lovely. The Room was tidy and clean. However, We were put all the way in the back of the hotel. (404) And it was NOT full. So at 5am, the trucks in the Alley began. First the trash men. Then the Food trucks, then Supply trucks. Each one BEEP BEEP BEEP...That was lovely at 5-8AM. This went on for hours until we finally gave up on sleep. Apparently, all the suites over look the square. With a lovely view of the church. NOW, I know better. Pay the extra $$ and DONT stay in the back of the Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by MetteH., Hotel Management
Dear Grace. Thank you very much for your review after your stay at First Hotel Grand, our guests' feedback is very important to us I am pleased to read that you liked our location, breakfast and rooms. Of course I'm sorry to read that you were disturbed early by noise from the outside traffic in the centre of town. I hope to see you at our beautiful hotel again. Best regards, Mette K.-Hafstrøm
4 out of 5
by Caroline

Great convenient hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great central location, spacious room and comfortable bed. Cooling/heating system did not seem to work so room warm especially at night. Some street noise and lights from adjacent worksite left on overnight shining partially through curtains. Clean room. Christian at reception was very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017
Dear Caroline. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Grand. I am pleased to read that you liked our location, rooms and the service of our receptionist. Our responsible manager have fixed and adjusted the heating in the room, thank you for informing us. We look forward to wishing you welcome back at First Hotel Grand. Best regards Mette Hafstrøm Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Machiel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great location, hotel feels satisfyingly grand

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Sense of longstanding quality
Location: Wide range of shops, galleries, museums and eateries in easy walking distance, along with transport options.
Large room with separate areas, lovely high ceilings and wide corridors throughout make the whole hotel feel spacious and relaxed. Good breakfast with plenty of variety. Free bike hire opposite the entrance and the town centre on the doorstep makes all amenities easily accessible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by MetteH, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine. Thank you so much for your visit and kind review. Happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us in our lovely town. We hope to see you at our beautiful hotel again. Best regards MetteHafstrøm